These indexing databases are recommended for Fine Arts, Art History & Theory - see also: Databases for Art.
"The Art Bulletin publishes leading scholarship in the English language in all aspects of art history as practiced in the academy, museums, and other institutions. From its founding in 1913, the journal has published, through rigorous peer review, scholarly articles and critical reviews of the highest quality in all areas and periods of the history of art. Articles take a variety of methodological approaches, from the historical to the theoretical...."
The Central Library currently subscribes to this journal, published four times each year, in print format. Volumes and issues from 2006 to the present are located on Level 6 at N 1 .A784 b. The online version is also available via Art Full Text from February 2010 to the present, with selective coverage back to 1981. All earlier issues of The Art Bulletin, originally titled The Bulletin of the College Art Association, are available via JSTOR. You can search for specific articles within the journal using Multisearch (Advanced), Art Full Text, or JSTOR.
Last updated: May 24. For other recently-received titles, see Books tab (above)
Art journals and magazines are less rigidly divided between peer-reviewed academic journals, on the one hand, and general, popular or trade magazines, on the other. (For more information, see: What are journals?). Some art journals may be important for art research despite not being peer-reviewed.
On this page are examples of both types of art journals: The Art Bulletin (peer-reviewed) and Aperture (not peer-reviewed). Each is currently subscribed in print format as well as currently available online. For a list of other currently-subscribed art journals, see Current Journals.
Undergraduates can borrow up to 25 items at the same time, for 28 days, including five journals (issues or volumes). Research students can borrow up to 50 items at the same time, for 60 days, including 50 journals. Borrowed items are renewable and subject to recall. See more information on borrowing and printing, photocopying and scanning.
Aperture publishes "photographic essays, without compromise, of the most significant work in photography". The journal began publication in 1952 and is published every four months.
The Central Library currently subscribes to Aperture in print format, and volumes and issues from 1989 to the present are located on Level 4 at TR 1 .A641. The online version is also available via Art Full Text from 2011 to the present, with selective coverage back to 1984. You can search for specific articles within the journal using Art Full Text or Multisearch (Advanced).