Guide overview
This guide is a pathfinder to Fine Arts and Art History resources at UC. To navigate, use the tabs above. Scroll down to browse new titles.
Comments (0)
Recommended databases
Databases are used to search for articles in journals. Those below are recommended for this subject - for more choices, see: annotated list of databases

New book
Tuhituhi : William Hodges, Cook's painter in the South Pacific - Laurence Simmons
Call Number: ND 497 .H65 .S592 2011
Publication Date: Otago University Press, 2011
This study of the art of William Hodges opens fresh theoretical perspectives on the representational problems raised by these early paintings produced in the South Pacific. Following Pacific Island historians of the 1960s, it argues that it is possible to read the texts and visual material produced from early South Seas encounters against the grain, as moments of cross-cultural exchange that challenge postcolonial complacencies.
Tuhituhi is presented in sections that follow the geographical and chronological progression of Cook’s voyage on the Resolution, for which William Hodges was hired as official artist, Cook’s ‘landskip painter’. Painters like Hodges found themselves staring again and again in disbelief at landscapes and seascapes that stretched 18th-century conventions of painting, such as the ‘picturesque’, the ‘sublime’ and the ‘beautiful’. Each chapter of Tuhituhi focuses on the close reading of a significant painting of a South Pacific location by Hodges. The last chapter considers the important influence of Hodges’ work on a series of paintings by the major twentieth-century New Zealand painter Colin McCahon.
Tuhituhi is presented in sections that follow the geographical and chronological progression of Cook’s voyage on the Resolution, for which William Hodges was hired as official artist, Cook’s ‘landskip painter’. Painters like Hodges found themselves staring again and again in disbelief at landscapes and seascapes that stretched 18th-century conventions of painting, such as the ‘picturesque’, the ‘sublime’ and the ‘beautiful’. Each chapter of Tuhituhi focuses on the close reading of a significant painting of a South Pacific location by Hodges. The last chapter considers the important influence of Hodges’ work on a series of paintings by the major twentieth-century New Zealand painter Colin McCahon.
Featured new title
Kitagawa Utamaro : woodblock prints from the British Museum - text by Julie Nelson Davis
Call Number: NE 1325 .K5 .A4 2010
Publication Date: Ikon Gallery, 2010
This catalogue accompanies a survey exhibition of woodblock prints by Japanese artist Kitagawa Utamaro (c.1753–1806) from the collection of the British Museum.
Born in the mid-1750s in Edo, Utamaro was taught by Toriyama Sekien, a painter of the academic Kano school, and subsequently formed a professional partnership with master publisher Tsutaya Jūzaburō. This collaboration was key to the rise of Utamaro’s reputation as a chronicler of the Yoshiwara district and, more generally, as a leading exponent of ukiyo-e (‘pictures of the floating world’).
Images of bijinga (beautiful people), Kabuki actors, landscapes and city life were typical of ukiyo-e, espousing a life lived only for the moment. They informed, amused and distracted their audience by depicting available pleasures. Utamaro’s images of the women of Yoshiwara, often conceived in series, functioned as sophisticated advertisements or guides to a sensuous world, untroubled by overt references to the difficulties of work and politics.
Gestures, demeanour, clothing, accessories and the décor of the womens’ accommodation, rather than their personal features, are scrutinised and described in accompanying calligraphy. The exhibition includes a number of Utamaro’s explicitly erotic works, called ‘spring pictures’ or shunga. Issued as albums of sheet prints and as illustrated books, they are unambiguous in their intention to titillate.
Born in the mid-1750s in Edo, Utamaro was taught by Toriyama Sekien, a painter of the academic Kano school, and subsequently formed a professional partnership with master publisher Tsutaya Jūzaburō. This collaboration was key to the rise of Utamaro’s reputation as a chronicler of the Yoshiwara district and, more generally, as a leading exponent of ukiyo-e (‘pictures of the floating world’).
Images of bijinga (beautiful people), Kabuki actors, landscapes and city life were typical of ukiyo-e, espousing a life lived only for the moment. They informed, amused and distracted their audience by depicting available pleasures. Utamaro’s images of the women of Yoshiwara, often conceived in series, functioned as sophisticated advertisements or guides to a sensuous world, untroubled by overt references to the difficulties of work and politics.
Gestures, demeanour, clothing, accessories and the décor of the womens’ accommodation, rather than their personal features, are scrutinised and described in accompanying calligraphy. The exhibition includes a number of Utamaro’s explicitly erotic works, called ‘spring pictures’ or shunga. Issued as albums of sheet prints and as illustrated books, they are unambiguous in their intention to titillate.
New titles (11 May)
| Received in the last 7 days | RSS feed for all Art titles |
Central Library |
|||
| Call# | N 6447 .E46 2012 | ||
| Title | Degas to Dal� : from the National Galleries of Scotland | ||
| Authors | Elliott, Patrick.; Fowie, Frances.; Auckland Art Gallery. | ||
| Publication | Auckland, N.Z. : Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tamaki, 2012. | ||
| Call# | N 7260 .C737 2011 | ||
| Title | A companion to Asian art and architecture | ||
| Authors | Brown, Rebecca M.; Hutton, Deborah S. | ||
| Publication | Chichester, West Sussex, UK ;Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2011. | ||
| Call# | NA 997 .P9 .F535 g 2012 | ||
| Title | 'Gothic for ever' : A.W.N. Pugin, Lord Shrewsbury, and the rebuilding of catholic England | ||
| Authors | Fisher, Michael J. | ||
| Publication | Reading : Spire Books, c2012. | ||
| Call# | NA 5543 .B821 1965 | ||
| Title | St. Louis and the court style in Gothic architecture | ||
| Authors | Branner, Robert. | ||
| Publication | London : A. Zwemmer, 1965. | ||
| Call# | ND 497 .H65 .S592 2011 | ||
| Title | Tuhituhi : William Hodges, Cook's painter in the South Pacific | ||
| Authors | Simmons, Laurence. | ||
| Publication | Dunedin, N.Z. : Otago University Press, 2011. | ||
| Call# | ND 553 .W3 .G562 2011 | ||
| Title | Watteau | ||
| Authors | Glorieux, Guillaume.; Watteau, Antoine | ||
| Publication | Paris : Citadelles & Mazenod, c2011. | ||
| Call# | ND 623 .G364 .A786 2005 | ||
| Title | The Artemisia files : Artemisia Gentileschi for feminists and other thinking people | ||
| Authors | Bal, Mieke | ||
| Publication | Chicago : University of Chicago Press, c2005. | ||
| Call# | ND 1053 .S761 2011 | ||
| Title | Splendid impressions : Japanese secular painting 1400-1900 in the Museum of East Asian Art, Cologne | ||
| Authors | Croissant, Doris.; Lippit, Yukio; Museum f�r Ostasiatische Kunst der Stadt K�ln. | ||
| Publication | Leiden : Hotei, c2011. | ||
| Call# | ND 1108 .M131 .A4 2011 | ||
| Title | Ten years in Wellington | ||
| Authors | McCormack, Michael | ||
| Publication | Wellington, N.Z. : McCormack Studio Gallery, c2011. | ||
| Call# | NE 1325 .K5 .A4 2010 | ||
| Title | Kitagawa Utamaro : woodblock prints from the British Museum | ||
| Authors | Davis, Julie Nelson | ||
| Publication | Birmingham : Ikon Gallery Ltd, 2010. | ||
| Call# | SB 454.3 .P45 .I61 2012 | ||
| Title | Interlacing words and things : bridging the nature-culture opposition in gardens and landscape | ||
| Authors | Dumbarton Oaks Colloquium on the History of Landscape Architecture; Bann, Stephen.; Dumbarton Oaks. | ||
| Publication | Washington, D.C. : Dumbarton Oaks Research Library and Collection, c2012. | ||
| Call# | Z 107 .M489 2011 | ||
| Title | Medieval manuscripts, their makers and users : a special issue of Viator in honor of Richard and Mary Rouse | ||
| Authors | Rouse, Richard H.; Rouse, Mary A.; Baswell, Christopher.; University of California, Los Angeles. | ||
| Publication | Turnhout, Belgium : Brepols, c2011. | ||
Macmillan Brown Library |
|||
| Call# | N 7406.7 .M966 2010 | ||
| Title | The hand of man. | ||
| Authors | Munn, Daniel.; Huffer.; Miss Crabb. | ||
| Publication | [Melbourne : Y3K, 2010] | ||
Web Resources |
|||
| Title | Vincent van Gogh [electronic resource]. | ||
| Authors | Charles, Victoria. | ||
| Publication | New York : Parkstone International, 2011. | ||
URL to recreate or bookmark this page.
http://webapps.libr.canterbury.ac.nz/webdb/newtitles.php?type=subject&days=7&subjects_out=Art&order=location
Liaison Librarian |
Try enabling Javascript to view this chat, or email me if it's still not working. Contact Info Normal hours: Mon-Thurs 8am-4pm, Fri 8am-11.45am. Ext. 8750 Central Library (Rm 519, Level 5) Send Email |
New book
A companion to Asian art and architecture - edited by Rebecca M. Brown and Deborah S. Hutton
Call Number: N 7260 .C737 2011
Publication Date: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011
Presents a collection of 26 original essays from top scholars in the field that explore and critically examine various aspects of Asian art and architectural history.
* Brings together top international scholars of Asian art and architecture
* Represents the current state of the field while highlighting the wide range of scholarly approaches to Asian Art
* Features work on Korea and Southeast Asia, two regions often overlooked in a field that is often defined as India-China-Japan
* Explores the influences on Asian art of global and colonial interactions and of the diasporic communities in the US and UK
* Showcases a wide range of topics including imperial commissions, ancient tombs, gardens, monastic spaces, performances, and pilgrimages.
* Brings together top international scholars of Asian art and architecture
* Represents the current state of the field while highlighting the wide range of scholarly approaches to Asian Art
* Features work on Korea and Southeast Asia, two regions often overlooked in a field that is often defined as India-China-Japan
* Explores the influences on Asian art of global and colonial interactions and of the diasporic communities in the US and UK
* Showcases a wide range of topics including imperial commissions, ancient tombs, gardens, monastic spaces, performances, and pilgrimages.






Loading...
