Subject Guides: Health Sciences: Home

Key Databases

CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window Provides full text for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. In addition to full text, offers indexing and abstracts for nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and allied health disciplines. Also offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
APA PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new window Psychology and related disciplines.

Medline Contains journal article references and abstracts for biomedical literature from around the world.

The Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Consists of a collection of seven evidence-based medicine databases. Includes systematic reviews from the Cochrane Collaboration, which present research on the effects of healthcare.
EMBASE Classic + EMBASE (1974 to present) This link opens in a new window Embase is a biomedical and pharmaceutical database covering the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
PubMed This link opens in a new window Medicine and related disciplines
SAGE Research Methods Core This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary, especially Life, Health and Physical Sciences.
Lippincott Advisor This link opens in a new window Evidence-based information for health professionals to support clinical decision-making
Lippincott Procedures This link opens in a new window detailed descriptions of over 1,700 procedures and skills in nursing, complete instructions to perform procedures, video clips and images to clarify complex procedures, and quick lists provide a quick, less-detailed version of procedures

Other databases

- TRiP Database Medical search engine for evidence based medicine

- MedlinePlus Database of consumer health information

- COVID-19 Global literature on coronavirus disease A comprehensive database of health literature related to the COVID-19 pandemic compiled by WHO and Global Health

DigitalNZ Access to over 30 million digital items from NZ libraries, museums, govt depts, publicly funded organisations, media and community groups

This guide is a pathfinder to Health Science resources at UC. Navigate by using the tabs above. Quick links:

Help with literature searching (either quick or comprehensive searches)

Preliminary scoping search

Conducting a literature search

Documenting your searches

Locating full text

Referencing (including use of EndNote)

Email Me

Contact:

Central Library

tel:3693921 (internal 93921)

Subjects: Health, Science