Skip to main content

Library Subject Guides

Japanese Studies: Internet Resources

Guide to Japanese Studies

Web Resources for Japanese Studies

Meta Sites

PAIR: Guide to Asian Internet Resources
PAIR offers scholars, students more than six thousand professionally selected, catalogued and annotated online resources within 25 different subtopic areas. Produced by the University of Wisconsin, the University of Minnesota and the Ohio State University.

Japan Information Network
A huge meta site that provides general, statistical, news, regional, cultural information on Japan and links to related sources of information. From the Japan Center for Intercultural Communications.

Japanese Studies Resources
The Duke University East Asian Collection. This is a huge store of information resources on Japan. It includes bibliographies on specific subjects, and includes related WWW sites. It also has links for japanese online magazines, newspapers and dictionaries.

Directories

East & Southeast Asia: An Annotated Directory of Internet Resources
An annotated directory of sites related to East Asia,Southeast Asia, general sites on Asia, and Asian Americans. Browsable by country and region. Includes Current Hot Topics.

Japan Information
Extensive information about all aspects of Japanese art, culture, travel, education, media and much more

General Information directory Japanese language information, books 

University and Research Institute / Centre Web Sites

International Research Center for Japanese Studies
This center offers assistance to scholars and supports academic research on Japan.

Edwin O. Reshauer Institute of Japanese Studies
Harvard University

Architectural Instsitute of Japan in Japanese

Jim Breen's Japanese Page

Society for East Asian Archaeology

Language and Literature resources

Languages and Literature, Japanese
From the Human-Languages Site. It contains 22 additional links.

Yamada Web Guide to Japanese
Scroll down to see the further resources available.

Japanese Online
Includes introductory language lessons with dialogues, vocabulary, grammar, and culture modules.

Japanese Literature

Japanese Characters on the Web

Japanese Text Iniative
A collaborative effort from the University of Virginia Library Electronic Text Center and the University of Pittsburgh East Asian to make texts of classical Japanese literature available on the World Wide Web.

Accessing Japanese Character Texts on the Web

Monash University ACCESS-J Japanese WWW Page Viewer

Foreign Affairs

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Regional Affairs: Asia Pacific

Student-centred resources

Mining Company Guide for Japanese
This is a student oriented guide. It includes links to jobs in Japan and free Japanese lessons.

The Japan FAQ: Know Before You Go
A major source of information for anyone visiting Japan.

Price Check Tokyo

Online Book Sites 

Book Wire

The Online Books Page
online books for every country

Kinokuniya bookweb (title search database)

Liaison Librarian

Brian McElwaine's picture
Brian McElwaine
Chat requires JavaScript.
Subjects:Engineering, Science

University Library
University of Canterbury
Private Bag 4800
Christchurch 8140

Phone: +64 3 369 4888 (ext 94888)
Email
library@canterbury.ac.nz

Follow us
Facebook Twitter Youtube