Library Subject Guides

Criminal Justice: Archival collections

Archival collections

Archives are freely available for use by students and staff of the University of Canterbury.  Archives are available through the Macmillan Brown Library for more information about the below archives [more information about accessing archives].

The University Library provides access to the following archival collections which may be of relevance to the study of criminal justice:

MB 959 Prisoners Aid and Rehabilitation Society [PARS] records
This organisation is concerned with the welfare and support of prisoners and their families. The documents in this collection mainly relate to the Canterbury branch of the organisation although there are some from the Timaru, Greymouth and Westport branches. The series titles used in describing this accession reflect the range of documentation produced by the society: Personnel, Meeting Minutes, Financial, Correspondence, Statistics, Funding, Programmes, Report, Fieldwork and Miscellaneous.  Much of the information contained makes reference to both staff working in the Society together with their clients and other personnel. Date range 1978-1997.

Restricted Access: No access is permitted without the written permission of the PARS Council.  Individuals shall not be identified in any researh or published work 


MB 408 Catholic Commission for Justice and Development records.
Contains minutes, correspondence and administrative papers. Date range 1980s-1990s.  No restrictions


MB 931 Catholic Commission for Justice and Development records.
Contains minutes, conference papers, project papers, correspondence and essays. Date range 1982-1985. No restrictions
 

MB 2625 Restorative Justice papers
Unsorted 15 boxes. No restrictions


MB 132 New Zealand Howard League for Penal Reform records
|
Contains correspondence, newspaper cuttings, minutes, miscellaneous administrative material, submissions to Parliament, personal accounts of prisioners in Great Britain (conscientious objectors). Date range 1944-1980
 

MB 142 Sir Geoffrey Palmer Papers
Some of the topics covered include prisons, justice, legislation, administratvie law, securities commission, young persons etc. Date range 1979-1984

Restricted Access: Written permission from the cabinet office is required, along with written permission from Sir Geoffrey Palmer.
 

MB 267 Sir Geoffrey Palmer Papers
The collection contains papers from the Christchurch Central Branch of the New Zealand Labour Party, Geoffrey Palmer's files as MP for Christchurch Central, Geoffrey Palmers Cabinet papers and  Prime Minister's papers. Date range 1946-1990.

Restricted Access: cabinet office approval required, along with written permission from Sir Geoffrey Palmer

MB 77, 78 David Caygill Papers
Caygill served as M.P. for St Albans beginning 1978. The correspondence (which occupies two boxes) comprises mainly letters from his constituents, organised into subject groups such as Christchurch City Council, Education, Electoral, Health, etc. The parliamentary papers include notes and drafts of Mr. Caygill's speeches in Parliament, but consist chiefly of copies of bills, together with background papers, reports, submissions, etc. There are two boxes of such papers relating to the Local Government Amendment Bill. Date range 1979-1989

Restricted Access: Written permission from the Cabinet Office  is required, along with written permission from David Caygill himself. Caygill gives permission for any bonafide student to have access to his papers in a letter received 29/4/02
 

MB 2147 David Caygill Papers
This material mainly consists of research, notes, correspondence and parliamentary papers relating to the introduction, debate and proposal of an Act to amend the Police Offences Act 1927. The act was superseded by the Summary Offences Act 1981. Also included are miscellaneous correspondence and briefing notes on the topic of Regional development. Date range 1973-1987

Restricted Access: Written permission from the Cabinet Office  is required, along with written permission from David Caygill himself. Caygill gives permission for any bonafide student to have access to his papers in a letter received 29/4/02
 

MB 97 Michael A Connelly Jr. Papers
Political papers, contains speech notes, minutes, reports and correspondence. Date range 1970s-1980s

Restricted Access: Cabinet papers require permission from the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet before access is granted.


MB 130 New Zealand Association of Social Workers Records
The collection consists of general papers on policy, constitutions, publicity, and membership. Also included are National Executive and National Council minutes, correspondence, submissions, Interim Board of Study papers, Canterbury Branch minutes and Conference papers. Date range 1864-1981. No restrictions.


MB 149 Ruth Richardson Papers
These papers date from Richardson's time as an MP and Minister of Finance and include Cabinet papers. Date range 1991-1993.

Restricted Access: Written permission from the cabinet office is required, along with written permission from Ruth Richardson. Permission from Miss Richardson having first been obtained, researchers may then have access to any official publications, but subject always to the terms of the Official Information Act. Some papers of a confidential nature in the collection, as indicated by Miss Richardson once the collection has been fully arranged and described, may not be consulted until the year 2019, 25 years from the date of deposit.
 

MB 321 Lianne Dalziel Papers
Political papers, subject files, reference materials, correspondence, electorate papers, press clippings, parliamentary questions, memoranda etc.
Date range 1990s

Restrictions: Personal material may be embargoed on a case by case basis
 

MB 1202 Men for Non-violence Records
Contains manuals, literature, correspondence, minutes, resource kits, and published material. Date range 1980s-1990s. No restrictions


MB 92 Clements papers
This collection reflects the wide variety of organisations and issues with which Clements was involved including: immigration issues, the  Canterbury Council for Civil Liberties, Campaign Against SIS, Citizen for Rowling Campaign,  Society for Aid and Rehabilitation of Drug Addicts, Social Science Resources in New Zealand and the New Zealand Defence Committee Review. Clements was a lecturer in Sociology at the University of Canterbury. Date range 1965-1986. No restrictions.
 

MB 995 Salisbury Street Foundation Records
Contains minutes, reports and correspondence. Date range 1981-1990

Restricted Access: Any access to material must have formal SSF Board permission. Any research: written proposal must go to the Board before research is started. Any research must have been approved by the ethics committee of their University and written evidence provided to the SSF Board.


MB 2412 Riverside Community Papers
This collection is associated with 33 distinct record series and is comprised of nearly 1000 individual files and items.  Date range 1910-2006. No restrictions


MB 1825 Peter Maling Papers
Documents, maps, scrapbooks, sketches, photographs, newspaper clippings, publications and other materials focusing on New Zealand historical and cartographic subjects.  Date range 1849-2006. No restrictions


MB 2559 Jim Consedine Papers
Writings: Restorative justice and prisons