Skip to main content

Library Subject Guides

EndNote Guide: Reference Managers Compared

Reference Managers Compared: EndNote, Mendeley, Zotero

 

  EndNote Mendeley Zotero
Availability Installed on all workroom computers. Free for UC staff and students to download to office computer, laptops and home computer. Desktop and online version Download from https://www.mendeley.com 

Either get the Zotero for Firefox extension for use on the Firefox browser or download Zotero Standalone from https://www.zotero.org/ for use on Chrome or Safari.

Cost Free while at UC Free Free
Access Desktop and online. Desktop version offers more features and better integration with Library databases. Online version available for syncing and access from other devices. Desktop and online. Both are needed to take advantage of full functionality. Desktop and online. Primarily used as a desktop application. Online version available for syncing, sharing and access from other devices. 
Support at UC Yes. UC has an institutional subscription for EndNote No No
Training at UC Yes No No
Library Guide Yes: http://canterbury.libguides.com/endnote Yes: http://canterbury.libguides.com/Mendeley No
Import from databases Yes simple to import citations from most databases. Can also easily directly import lists of multiple marked items. Yes but for some databases (e.g. MultiSearch, EBSCO), the Mendeley browser plugin does not work well for multiple items. Can import .ris file for multiple citations. Yes but not as seamless for multiple citations.
Import citations from webpages No Yes Yes
Import pdfs Can import a file or folder of pdfs. Can drag and drop pdfs but need to create a record in EndNote first. Can import a file or folder of pdfs. Can also drag and drop pdfs and Mendeley will create a record based on data in the pdf. Also enables you to set up a watch folder to enable automatic importing of pdfs. Can drag and drop pdfs and import pdf files.
Sharing references Yes. Can create private groups for sharing references. Can share your Library with unlimited number of people. Yes. Can create public and private groups for sharing references. Free version limited to only 3 members for private groups, unlimited membership of public groups. Yes. Public and private groups for sharing references.
Social network No Yes. Can follow people and groups. Yes. Can follow people.
Citation styles Supports 6000+ citation styles. Styles can be downloaded and edited. 15 installed styles but option to import hundreds more. Styles can be edited.  Zotero style repository includes hundreds of styles. Styles can be edited.
Journal abbreviation lists Includes subject-based journal term lists that enable you to use referencing styles that use abbreviated journal titles or to convert abbreviated journal titles to full titles. Not included Not included.
Storage

Desktop: Your computer's storage capacity. No limit to size of library.

Online: Unlimited cloud storage.

Desktop: Your computer's storage capacity.

Online: 2 GB. Storage plans available for purchase. 

Desktop: Your computer's storage capacity.

Online: 300 MB of free online storage. Storage plans available for purchase.

Pros

Works well with Library databases.

Easy to import multiple references.

Supports many citation styles.

Good if you are using a citation style that abbreviates journal titles. 

Offers unlimited storage for no charge.

Can share Library with an unlimited number of people.

Can set up a watch folder for automatic importing of pdfs.

Will create a record in Mendeley when pdfs are imported via dragging and dropping although the amount of information populated into the Mendeley record will vary.

Good for extracting citation information from websites.

Free searchable online catalogue of papers and social network.

Available to you after you leave UC.

 

Good for extracting citation information from websites.

Available to you after you leave UC.

Cons

Primarily for desktop use. Can sync with EndNote online however EndNote online doesn't have all of the features of the desktop version. 

After you leave UC, you will need to purchase to access upgraded versions.

Importing multiple references from library databases not as simple as EndNote.

Free version limits the number of people you are able to share your Library with.

Need to pay for extra online storage.

Importing multiple references from library databases not as simple as EndNote.

Need to pay for extra online storage.

Not recommended for Internet Explorer users.

       

 

University Library
University of Canterbury
Private Bag 4800
Christchurch 8140

Phone: +64 3 369 4888 (ext 94888)
Email
library@canterbury.ac.nz

Follow us
Facebook Twitter Youtube