Subject Guides: Law: Encyclopedias

Resources

Legal Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias are good places to start whenever you are looking for information about a topic that is new to you. These summarise a topic, provide you with background information and can supply you with the key case law and legislation for the topic.

Halsbury's Laws of Australia This link opens in a new window A comprehensive legal encyclopaedia written in a clear, concise form covering all Australian law.

Halsbury's Laws of Canada

Canadian Encyclopedic Digest This link opens in a new window The CED database contains the full text of the Canadian Encyclopedia Digest (Western and Ontario), Third Editions, and provides a comprehensive statement of the law of Ontario and the four western provinces – provincial, federal and common law – as derived from the case law and legislation.
Halsbury's Laws of England This link opens in a new window A comprehensive legal encyclopaedia covering all English law.
Laws of New Zealand This link opens in a new window A comprehensive legal encyclopedia covering New Zealand legal topics.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Comparative Constitutional Law This link opens in a new window A comprehensive online resource containing analytical comparative articles offering a global overview of constitutional law.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law This link opens in a new window
Includes the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law and Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law.

Help

If you cannot find what you need, please contact the Law Subject Librarians – Theresa Buller and John Arnold.

You can:

email us at law@libr.canterbury.ac.nz
phone us at 3693852 or
chat with us on AskLIVE.

Library Subject Guides

Law: Encyclopedias

Resources

Legal Encyclopedias

Help