Skip to main content

Library Subject Guides

Classics: Journal Articles

Journal Indexes and Databases

Electronic Journals on the Internet

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


B

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

C

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

D / E

 

 

 

 

 

 

F / G

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

H

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I / J

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

K / L

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

M

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

P

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Q / R

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

S

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

T / U / V / W / X / Y / Z

Finding Journal Articles

Example reference: M. Beard, "Cicero and Divination: the Formation of a Latin Discourse" JRS 76 (1986), 33–46.

You can locate the article in one of three ways

  • Use L'Année Philologique and enter the title of the article within " " AND (optionally) the author's family name into the search boxes
    • Example search:  "cicero and divination the formation of a latin discourse" AND beard
      then click the "Search For Full Text" button to retrieve the full text
    • Sometimes the full text does not come up immediately
      • Click check for more sources at the top of the screen; or
      • You may need to click the link to the Library catalogue, and then you will need to
        • Check what years and volumes we have
          • Print: see the details in red under "Library holds"
          • Electronic: see the dates in the links under "Web access"
  • Use the Classics Journals A–Z
    • Electronic journal links indicate the date range included
    • For print journals, click the link to the Library catalogue record. Details about what years and volumes we have is shown under "Library holds"
    • Sometimes the titles of journals in Classics references are abbreviated. The list of abbreviations provides the full titles
    • Example: JRS is the abbreviation for the title of the journal → look up JRS on the list of abbreviations = The Journal of Roman Studies → click the "Holdings at UC Library" link → scroll down to this journal in Classics Journals A–Z  click the electronic journal link for JSTOR, as it includes the 1986 volume 
      Drill down to the volume in JSTOR  articles are listed in page number order in the table of contents, and the article is the fifth article
    • NB. Classics Journals A–Z does not list every Classics journal held by the Library. Some journals are only findable using the Library catalogue
       
  • Use the Library Catalogue, and choose the search option Journal title begins with from the drop-down. Enter the full title of the journal into the search box
    • You may get more than one result if we have both print and online versions
    • Sometimes the titles of journals in Classics references are abbreviated, making them hard to find on the Library Catalogue. The list of abbreviations provides the full titles that should be used in the Library Catalogue
    • Check what years and volumes we have
      • Print: see the details in red under "Library holds"
      • Electronic: see the dates in the links under "Web access"
    • Example: JRS is the abbreviation for the title of the journal → look up JRS on the list of abbreviations = The Journal of Roman Studies 
      In the Library catalogue choose "Journal title begins with" and enter search  journal of roman studies 

      Click the title to open the "[electronic resources]" catalogue record  click the JSTOR link (the 1986 volume is within the date range) 
      Drill down to the volume in JSTOR  articles are listed in page number order in the table of contents, and the article is the fifth article
  • Use citation chaining
  • Use one or more of the Journal Indexes and Databases
       see column at left
  • If a database search tells you about an article but the full article is not there, don't despair
    • Look for the “Search for Full Text” button or link
      1. If an article cited in one database is available in full text in another online source, there will be a direct link to the full article or, in a few cases, to the journal
      2. If the journal in which an article appeared is available in hard copy in the Library, there will be a link to the Library Catalogue. Click that link to see where in the Library you can find the specific issue
      3. If the article is not available electronically or in hard copy, there will be a link "Interloans request form". This will bring up a form by which you can request the Library to obtain the article for you from another library
    • No “Full Text” button? – use one of the techniques detailed under the tab Find a specific article

If you cannot find it at UC Library or online, request an Interloan and we will get it for you from another library. There is no charge for this service

Loading

Classics Journals A–Z

Printer-friendly version


A  |  B  |  C  |  D–E  |  F–G  |  H  |  I–J  |  K–L  |  M–O  |  P  |  Q–R  |  S  |  T–Z

A

University Library
University of Canterbury
Private Bag 4800
Christchurch 8140

Phone: +64 3 369 4888 (ext 94888)
Email
library@canterbury.ac.nz

Follow us
Facebook Twitter Youtube