Subject Guides: Speech and Hearing Disorders: Home

Key databases

Scopus This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary database, particularly useful for life, health and physical sciences. Date range: 1966 - present Updated daily
APA PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new window Psychology and related disciplines Date range: 1887 - present
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window Provides full text for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. In addition to full text, offers indexing and abstracts for nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and allied health disciplines. Also offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Date range: 1981 - present
MEDLINE (Online : OvidSP) This link opens in a new window Provides combined access to Medline and Medline In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations. Includes biomedicine, dentistry, nursing and related topics. Date range: 1948 - present
PubMed This link opens in a new window Date range: 1966 - present
The Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window A collection of evidence based medicine databases. The two most important are the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)

EMBASE Classic + EMBASE (1974 to present) This link opens in a new window Embase is a biomedical and pharmaceutical database covering the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
SAGE Research Methods Core This link opens in a new window

The Library has a number of Anatomy.tv. modules: Audiology, Speech Language Pathology, 3D Atlas - Head and Neck.

This excellent resource enables you to examine the anatomy of the speech, hearing and swallowing organs in 3D.

Dysphagia Following Stroke by Stephanie K. Daniels; Maggie-Lee Huckabee
Call Number: RC 815.2 .D186 2019
ISBN: 9781635500301
Publication Date: 2019

Help with literature searching (either quick or comprehensive searches)

Preliminary scoping search

Conducting a literature search

Documenting your searches

Locating full text

Referencing (including use of EndNote)

Neuroanatomy for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology by Matthew H. Rouse
Call Number: RC 423 .R68 2020
ISBN: 9781284151060
Publication Date: 2020
Introduction to Audiology by Frederick N. Martin (Contribution by); John Greer Clark (Contribution by)
Call Number: RF290 .M379 2019
ISBN: 9780134695044
Publication Date: 2018
Fundamentals of Audiology for the Speech-Language Pathologist by Deborah R. Welling; Carol A. Ukstins
Call Number: RF290 .W45 2019
ISBN: 9781284105988
Publication Date: 2019
Netter's Atlas of Anatomy for Speech, Swallowing, and Hearing by David H. McFarland
Call Number: QM251 .M143 2023
ISBN: 9780323830348
Publication Date: 2022