Digital media resourcesDVDsRadio NZ Sound ArchivesTheses
Current journals listJournal rankings
Harvard referencing for COMSWriting guidesCopyrightEndnote WikiThesis guide
Finding COMS bookse-booksResearch & writing guidesResources for COMS207Recently-received titles
Main NZ newspapersNewspapers at Macmillan Brown
This is the "Home" page of the "Media Communication Journalism" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Subject Guides

Media Communication Journalism   Tags: communication, coms, journalism, media  

Created for the students and staff of Media, Communication & Journalism
Last Updated: Mar 25, 2015 URL: http://canterbury.libguides.com/coms Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guide overview

This guide is a pathfinder to Media, Communication, and Journalism resources at UC. To navigate, use the tabs above. Scroll down to browse new titles.

Quick links:

Recommended databases

The International encyclopedia of communication is highly recommended for background reading on all aspects of media, communication, and journalism.

These indexing databases are recommended for COMS & JOUR - see also: Databases for Media, Communication, & Journalism.

Spacer
 

New ebook

Cover Art
Media literacy : keys to interpreting media messages. 4th ed. - Art Silverblatt [et al.]
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: Praeger, [2014]
Covering print, photography, film, radio, television, and new media, this textbook instructs readers on how to take a critical approach to media and interpret the information overload that is disseminated via mass communication.

This 4th ed. supplies a critical and qualitative approach to media literacy analysis. Now updated with conceptual changes, current examples, updated references, and coverage of new developments in media— particularly in digital, interactive forms—this book addresses all forms of information disseminated via mass communication.

Organized into three sections, the book first presents a theoretical framework for the critical analysis of media text that covers the definition of media literacy as well as fundamental principles and concepts.

Part II focuses on the application of this methodological framework to the analysis of advertising, journalism, American political communications, and interactive media.

Part III considers specific mass media issues, such as violence in the media, media and children, and global communications, and discusses outcomes of having a media-literate population.

 

Featured title

Cover Art
New wars, new media and new war journalism : professional and legal challenges in conflict reporting - Stig A. Nohrstedt & Rune Ottosen
Call Number: P 96 .W35 .N64 2014
Publication Date: Nordicom, [2014]
In this book, the authors discuss media coverage of major conflicts, from the Gulf War in 1990/91 to the NATO military operations in Libya in 2011 and the now ongoing civil war in Syria. Through in-depth analysis of Norwegian and Swedish media coverage of the Kosovo conflict in 1999, the Afghanistan War from 2001, the Iraq War from 2003 as well as more recent conflicts, the authors claim that legal issues are poorly covered in the running news coverage of major conflicts.

Underreporting of legal issues is especially problematic in relation to new forms of warfare involving extra-judicial killing by drones of targets in Pakistan, Afghanistan, Yemen and Somalia. While historically Sweden and Norway have had different security policy orientations, the tendency is toward the two countries becoming more closely oriented through Nordic defense co-operation and participation in the wars in Afghanistan and Libya. The authors criticize mainstream media for under-communicating what security risks this support for the regime change strategies pursued by the US/NATO in the so-called ‘global war on terror’ implies for the Nordic countries.

The book further discusses the challenges war and conflict reporting face when confronted with major security leaks through WikiLeaks and the classified information revealed by Edward Snowden. Theoretically, the findings are related to the theories of threat society, new wars and risk-transfer warfare as well as to Johan Galtung’s theory of war and peace journalism. Analyses are inspired by critical discourse analysis as elaborated in Norman Fairclough’s and Ruth Wodak’s works.

 

Media Culture & Society

Current issue contents:

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

New Media & Society

Current issue contents:

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Liaison Librarian

Profile Image
Max Podstolski
Contact Info
Library Research & Information Services, Central Library, Level 5 ext. 8750
Normal hours: 8am-4pm Mon-Thurs, 8am-11.45am Fri.
Send Email
 

Journal of Communication

Current issue contents:

Loading Loading...
blank padding
© University of Canterbury - Christchurch, New Zealand
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip