Citation styleEndnoteWriting guide
BooksDVDsJournal articles (Databases)JournalsMusic CDsReference
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Subject Guides
Admin Sign In 

Pacific Studies  Tags: pacific_islands oceania pacs  

This guide is to assist study of the people and societies of the Pacific Islands
Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://canterbury.libguides.com/pacs  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Useful websites             Print Page
  
 

Web Directories

These sites all contain links to lots of different websites about the Pacific by subject or region

Te Puna: Directory to New Zealand and Pacific Island Web Sites
National Library of New Zealand

Pacific Internet Sites
National Library of Australia

Pacific Internet Resources
Australian National University

 

Pacific People in New Zealand

The sites listed below contain information for/about Pacific people living in NZ

New Zealand Ministry of Pacific Island Affairs

Statistics New Zealand - Pacific Peoples
Information for the seven largest Pacific ethnic groups in New Zealand.

NZ Minsitry of Health - Pacific Health

Centre for Pacific Health and Development Research
Auckland University of Technology

Pacific Research Online
A database of all Pacific research expertise mainly based within New Zealand universities.

PACIFICA Women

 
 

Selected websites for Pacific Studies

Pacific Islands Report
Pacific News

Pacific Beat
Pacific news from Radio Australia

Asian Development Bank
Useful for economic and social development information about the Pacific.

United Nations ESCAP
Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific. Includes information on poverty, trade, tourism, environment, social development and statistics

PRISM (Pacific Regional Information System), SPC
Includes extensive statistical information about Pacific island countries and territories.

East-West Center
An education and research organization for the Asia Pacific community established by the U.S.

Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat
The Pacific region’s premier political and economic policy organisation.

Pacific Islands Trade & Investment Commission
An agency of the Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat

Secretariat of the Pacific Community - SPC
SPC is an international organisation that provides technical assistance, policy advice, training and research services to 22 Pacific Island countries and territories in areas such as health, human development, agriculture, forestry and fisheries.

Pacific Manuscripts Bureau
The Pacific Manuscripts Bureau, Pambu, copies archives, manuscripts and rare printed material relating to the Pacific Islands. The aim of the Bureau is to help with long- term preservation of the documentary heritage of the Pacific Islands and to make it accessible.

Newspapers and Media of the Pacific Islands

Pacific Media Centre
AUT

Pacific Arts Association

Macmillan Brown Lectures
Link to hear them online through Radio NZ

Pacific Business Online
A searchable database which provides an 'information gateway' to Pacific Islands' businesses and commercial contacts.

Pacific Cooperation Foundation
An independent public/private partnership with the mission of benefiting the peoples of the Pacific Islands and New Zealand by increasing cooperation and understanding among them.

 

Information Librarian

Profile ImageJenny Owens
Contact Info:
You can find me in the Macmillan Brown Library on Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday.
Phone 3642987 x8661
Send Email

Subjects:
Pacific Studies

 

Fiji Blog

This blog aims to present a balanced and helpful representation of events in Fiji as they relate to the post-2006 military coup or takeover.

 
© University of Canterbury - Christchurch, New Zealand
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait