Citation styleEndnoteWriting guide
BooksDVDsJournal articles (Databases)JournalsMusic CDsReference
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Subject Guides
Admin Sign In 

Pacific Studies  Tags: pacific_islands oceania pacs  

This guide is to assist study of the people and societies of the Pacific Islands
Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://canterbury.libguides.com/pacs  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Journal articles (Databases)             Print Page
  
 

How can I search for journal articles?

If you know the journal title: first try a "journal title" search in the Library catalogue. You may get more than one result, depending on whether we have the print version, the online version, or both. Check what years/volumes we have:

  • Print: see the details in red under "Library holds".
  • Electronic: see the dates in the links under "Web access".

If you want to find articles on a specific topic, or by a specific author:  search in one or more of the databases listed on the right.

 

What are Databases?

Library databases provide access to the content of material published in journals, newspapers, magazines and other specialist collections. Many contain links to the full-text article or may just provide a citation and abstract.

 

Choosing a Database

The databases listed on the right are a selection from which to choose. The one which is best for your search will depend on the subject focus of your research. The coverage notes of each should help you decide. It is best to search several databases for a comprehensive result.

Some contain full-text articles, others don't.  Generally those with index or abstract in the title are not full-text.

Please contact Jenny if you are having trouble finding what you need.

 

Databases for Pacific Studies

 

Information Librarian

Profile ImageJenny Owens
Contact Info:
You can find me in the Macmillan Brown Library on Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday.
Phone 3642987 x8661
Send Email

Subjects:
Pacific Studies

Key Databases

 
© University of Canterbury - Christchurch, New Zealand
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait