Finding ArticlesIndexing Databases
EndNote Wiki Harvard Citation StyleWriting Guides
Country Information and Statistics via UC Library N.Z. Statistics via UC Library New Zealand Government Information via UC Library New Zealand News via UC Library web site 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Subject Guides
Admin Sign In 

Sociology  Tags: sociology soci  

Last update: Nov 05th, 2009 URL: http://canterbury.libguides.com/soci  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Indexing Databases             Print Page
  

Quick links

Databases in Related Subjects

 

Find an Article

Teach Yourself tutorial.

Contact the Sociology Librarian if you would like help with your search strategy.

 

The Googles

Google

Search this to find government and organisational publications, such as reports, policy documents, research and conference papers. The Advanced search enables you to limit your search to particular domains e.g. .govt, .org

Google search tips

Google Scholar

Enables you to search simply and broadly across the scholarly literature. You will need to use the Library's databases for a systematic and comprehensive search of your topic. Note that search results are displayed by relevance, not date. The Cited Reference feature is particularly useful.

More information about Advanced searching and linking to the Library's holdings.

 

Databases for Sociology

 

British and American spellings

To do effective searches on international databases you need to be aware of the different spellings authors may use in their work so that you can cover both possibilities in your search terms.  

AskOxford provides a summary of the main differences to be aware of.

 
 

Tips for Selecting a Database

Selecting the best database(s) for your search is the first step to a successful result. 

To help you decide which database(s) to choose for your search, ask yourself the following questions:-

What subjects are covered by the database?

Some databases focus on a particular subject, such as Sociological Abstracts (Sociology) or PsycINFO (Psychology).

Others are multidisciplinary, covering a broad range of subjects, such as ProQuest and Web of Science which cover all academic disciplines.

What is the regional coverage of the database?

Some databases, such as the academic subject-specific ones, index journals published around the world.

Other databases focus on one geographical area. For New Zealand information you would use Index New Zealand.

What types of publications are covered by the database?

Most databases index journal articles. The subject –specific databases index scholarly journals and the multidisciplinary ones usually include general interest, trade and professional magazines as well.

Other publications indexed may include chapters from books, book reviews, conference papers, reports, dissertations, newspaper articles and audiovisual material.

Some databases cover newspapers only and provide the full text of the articles, e.g. Factiva

What years does the database cover?

Most databases cover material published from the 1960's or 1970's onwards.

Currency is also a consideration. 

 
© University of Canterbury - Christchurch, New Zealand
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait