Searching for books, CDs etc on the Library Catalogue
To find teaching resources, add the words study teaching to your keywords.
To limit your search to music recordings, printed music, a particular library etc, do an advanced search.
You can find sound recordings of New Zealand children's music by using the words juvenile sound recordings.
The Library also has kits which contain CDs/DVDs or videos and sheet music or handbooks etc.
Databases Multisearch
Search for articles in several databases at once using Multisearch:
To do more detailed searches, use on of these specific databases below:
Key Education and Arts Databases
Featured Journals
Here are a couple of excellent online NZ performing arts journals:
- New Zealand Journal of Performing Arts and Education: Nga Mahi a Rehia
From Drama New Zealand: Mahi Whakaari o Aotearoa, and the School of Literacies and Arts in Education, University of Canterbury - Research in New Zealand Performing Arts: Nga Mahi a Rehia no Aotearoa
Nau Mai Haere Mai Welcome *** Ngā Toi/The Arts

Rottmayr: WikimediaCommons: Alberto Fernandez Fernandez
Te toi whakairo, ka ihiihi, ka wehiwehi, ka aweawe te ao katoa
Artistic excellence makes the world sit up in wonder
This is a guide to some of the resources on education and the arts available through the library. Contact a librarian for assistance. We're always happy to hear from you!
Curriculum Documents
- The New Zealand Curriculum 2007
- The Arts from the "New Zealand Curriculum" 2007
- The Arts Curriculum Achievement Objectives 2007
- Nga Toi i roto i Te Marautanga o Aotearoa 2000 This is not available online- you can borrow copies from the Library.
- The Arts in the New Zealand Curriculum 2000
Web Resources
The Arts
- The Arts:Nga Toi from TKI
- Arts Online: Te Hapori o Nga Toi
- The Art of Teaching the Arts. Online video workshops for high school teachers.
Music
- Music from Arts Online
- Music resources from TKI
- Music from Discover: Te Kohanga Taonga. Online resources to support the NZ curriculum.
- National Centre for Research in Music Education Sound Arts- at the University of Canterbury. Includes a Music Education Research Database.
- Music Education New Zealand Aotearoa The national subject association representing all involved in professional music education.
- Music09: Music Education Conference 2009 (in Christchurch)
- SOUNZ: Centre for New Zealand music
- Sibelius Music Site : A site where users of the Sibelius music software can post their own compositions and educational worksheets -some available for free, others with a charge.
Dance
Drama
- Drama from Arts Online
- Drama resources from TKI
- Drama New Zealand : A New Zealand association for teachers, youth theatre and theatre in education practitioners.
Visual Arts
- Visual Arts from Arts Online
- Visual Arts resources from TKI
- Visual Arts from Discover: Te Kohanga Taonga. Online resources to support the New Zealand curriculum, from the National Library.
- Art Resources from the Auckland Museum. Includes whakairo, kowhaiwhai, tukutuku and raranga and an excellent introduction to Māori and Pacific art (Art in the Museum)
Education Library |
Information LibrariansCaroline Syddall: ph 343 7739
Kathryn Andrews: ph 345 8205
Margaret Paterson: ph 364 3320
Ariana Tikao: ph 345 8821
Email: firstname.lastname@canterbury.ac.nz
Email the Education Library
Send Email
Subjects:
Education, Sport coaching
Ae marika: Education news

Loading RSS Feed...
Tell us your favourite arts sites
- Plays for the Stage by John SummonsStage plays suitable for adults, children and young people written by playwright John Summons. Scripts are suitable for performance in theatres and drama workshops. Many scripts are also suitable for study and performance by drama students in theatre stud
Description
Loading content... please wait




Submit a Link
Loading content... please wait