Distance ServicesHow to get helpHow to request items
Citing with APACopyright & plagiarismEndnote
MaoriMaori cultural topicsMaori Curriculum linksMaori Image DatabasesMatarikiPasifikaTe Huarahi Whakahaere : EDHP 703Te Whakaora Reo : EDHP702Whakapiki i te Reo
Art, Drama and MusicChild developmentEarly Childhood EducationEd. Psyc. and CounsellingEducation for SustainabilityEducation: researchHealthICT and e-LearningInclusive education
Literacy & LanguagesMathematicsPE/Outdoor Ed & Sports CoachingScienceSocial SciencesTeaching: theory & practiceTechnology
BooksChildren's literatureEducation LegislationFind an articleGrad Dip & Undergrad InfoNew Zealand informationSchool Journals and Graded ReadersStatisticsTest information
Assignment HelpCentres of innovationCultures and CustomsEarly childhood environmentsEarly childhood transitionsEDMI144EDMI361EDUC384Educational TheoristsHistory of curriculum
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Subject Guides
Admin Sign In 

Education  Tags: education educ teaching teach curriculum  

Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://canterbury.libguides.com/educ  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Science             Print Page
  
 

Searching for books, CDs etc on the Library Catalogue

Finding Journal Articles

A note about ERIC and Education Research Complete:

For a comprehensive search of education literature, search both databases. Education Research Complete gives better coverage of education journals and ERIC better coverage of non-journal publications such as policy documents and reports from research centres.

Use these databases to find journal articles on science education:

 

Classroom Activities

BioEd Online lots of biology activities for school pupils - cells, human organism, diversity of life, the science of sleep and more. 

EMAP - teacher resources for hydrology, atmosphere, soil, land cover, and phenology

Science Is activities From TKI, activites for various curriculum levels and topic areas.

Science snacks popular exhibits from the Exploratorium museum that can be recreated in the classroom.

 
 

Welcome to the subject guide for science in education

The Education Library has a comprehensive range of print and online resources with specialist staff to help you to locate the information you need. Visit, email, or phone the library for assistance. We're always happy to hear from you!

 

Curriculum documents

Science curriculum achievement objectives (2007)

Science in the New Zealand Curriculum (1993)

The New Zealand Curriculum get a copy from the Library

 

Web Resources

Resources to help teachers use the Science in New Zealand Curriculum document

Science is a resource to help primary and secondary school teachers understand and integrate the Making sense of the nature of science (NoS) and Developing scientific skills and attitudes (DSSA) strands of Science in the New Zealand Curriculum (SiNZC).

Science Community News TKI website contains regularly updated information and materials relevant to the teaching and learning of science. There are links to over 600 quality-assured materials in this community.

Other web resources

BioEd Online (US) Resource for biology teachers students and parents. Includes a wide range of teacher resources, classroom activities, slide sets and lots more.

Department of Conserviation (DoC) Informaiton and resources to support conservation education programmes in schools.

Dino Directory From London's Natural History Museum, lots of information on well-known dinosaurs. Includes a kids only area with games , pictures, and activities as well as a teachers' resource area with classroom activities.

Environment Monitoring and Action Project (EMAP) Funded by the Ministry of Education, EMAP combines the delivery of the National Waterways Project and the GLOBE programme. Resources to support five areas of the science curriculum: hydrology, atmosphere, soil, land cover, and phenology.

Exploratorium - the museum of science art and human perception, San Francisco. A virtual museum for children aged 4-18. Find tools and activities to support your teaching.

Geological and Nuclear Sciences (GNS) New Zealand. Resources for children to learn about volcanoes and earthquakes. Find out about the latest quake and view webcams on New Zealand volcanoes.

The Habitable Planet A multimedia course for high school teachers and adult learners interested in studying environmental science. Provides access to course content and activities developed by leading international scientists.

Landcare Research Education information on plants and animals in New Zealand. Some sections contain teacher resources and classroom activities.

National Science Teachers Association (US). Lots of publications for science teachers as well as teacher resources. Some sections of the website are member only areas.

Natural Heritage Collection Images and videos of New Zealand's natural heritage. You'll find extinct and endangered animals and plants, and introduced pests.

New Zealand disasters information about floods, fires, epidemics, earthquakes and other disasters in NZ. Created by staff at the Christchurch City Library.

 

Education Library

Profile ImageInformation Librarians
Contact Info:
Caroline Syddall: ph 343 7739
Kathryn Andrews: ph 345 8205
Margaret Paterson: ph 364 3320
Ariana Tikao: ph 345 8821
Email: firstname.lastname@canterbury.ac.nz
Email the Education Library
Send Email

Subjects:
Education, Sport coaching

 

Instant message a librarian

Ask a Librarian for help online in real time.

Ask a librarian for help online in real time

 
© University of Canterbury - Christchurch, New Zealand
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait