Distance ServicesHow to get helpHow to request items
Citing with APACopyright & plagiarismEndnote
MaoriMaori cultural topicsMaori Curriculum linksMaori Image DatabasesMatarikiPasifikaTe Huarahi Whakahaere : EDHP 703Te Whakaora Reo : EDHP702Whakapiki i te Reo
Art, Drama and MusicChild developmentEarly Childhood EducationEd. Psyc. and CounsellingEducation for SustainabilityEducation: researchHealthICT and e-LearningInclusive education
Literacy & LanguagesMathematicsPE/Outdoor Ed & Sports CoachingScienceSocial SciencesTeaching: theory & practiceTechnology
BooksChildren's literatureEducation LegislationFind an articleGrad Dip & Undergrad InfoNew Zealand informationSchool Journals and Graded ReadersStatisticsTest information
Assignment HelpCentres of innovationCultures and CustomsEarly childhood environmentsEarly childhood transitionsEDMI144EDMI361EDUC384Educational TheoristsHistory of curriculum
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Subject Guides
Admin Sign In 

Education  Tags: education educ teaching teach curriculum  

Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://canterbury.libguides.com/educ  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Maori             Print Page
  
 

Library Catalogue

To find teaching resources, add the words study teaching to your keywords.

To limit your search to picture book, Māori language item, kit, or a particular library etc, do an advanced search.

To find resources for children add the word juvenile to your search.

 

Finding Māori articles

For Māori articles we recommend starting with Index New Zealand or Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre, but you may also want to look in the international databases, such as ERIC, PsychInfo, or Education Research Complete.

If you are doing a keyword search to find articles on a topic, pop in Zealand as a keyword along with your topic keywords. Other relevant keywords are Māori, indigenous, or native. Remember that some of the international databases, such as ERIC may need the American spelling or term to understand your search. You can use truncation to cover both spelling options, ie. labo*r, will get you results for labour and labor. If you need help, just ask a librarian.

Tutorial (online) on finding articles. We also hold regular classes on database searching, contact us, or book yourself in (via library homepage, tutorials (on right-hand side).

 

Classroom Activities

Maori cutout dolls from Mana Kids online website

Maori Education kits from Auckland Museum

 

Tikanga/Maori Culture

Māori Music from Christchurch City Libraries

Weaving includes an online resource on how to make a putiputi flower from Christchurch City Libraries

Kai (Food)

Matariki (Maori New Year) page from Christchurch City Libraries, including a downloadable teacher resource

Rokoa/Rongoa (Maori medicine) a resource from Te Papa

Ta Moko a resource from Te Papa

Treaty2U a teacher resource which accompanied the exhibition, includes teaching activities

Māori education kits from the Auckland Museum

Powhiri This site is an interactive resource which introduces the concepts and practices which take place in a powhiri. This resource was developed by Nga Puhi, but many of the elements apply in other tribal areas.

Weather lesson plans and activities: Weather activity and vocabulary from Mana kids online. Senior lesson plan and Junior lesson plan (both from TKI website)

 
 

Nau mai, haere mai

Nau mai, haere mai! This is the Māori education guide. Here you will find links to resources on Māori culture, language and educational issues for Māori. 

 

Web links

Kaupapa Māori Research

Ministry of Education

Other Government Sites

Universities – Māori Education

Wānanga

Other

Maori web links

Kaupapa Māori research

Kaupapa Māori dot com

Mai Review A forum for research and information on capability and capacity building for Māori and Indigenous people.

Tirohanga Maori (Maori Perspectives) link on the University of Auckland website

Rangahau This website aims to assist Māori researchers through the kaupapa Māori research process.

 

Ministry of Education

 

Ministry of Education Māori Education

Ka Hikitia the Māori Education Strategy 2008-2012.

Te Mana is a programme run by the Ministry of Education designed to help rangatahi (Māori youth) to get the most out of school.

Te Kete Ipurangi Information and resources relevant to the teaching and learning of Māori education.

Special Education - Māori

Ngā Haeata Mātauranga Annual reports on Māori Education from Education Counts, Ministry of Education.

Te Reo Matatini Māori Language Strategy from the Ministry of Education

Other Government sites

 

Māori Resources in the National Library of New Zealand

Te Puni Kōkiri- Māori education statistics

Te Taura Whiri the Māori Language Commission. One of the features of the site is Maori in the Classroom.

About Maori Qualifications New Zealand Qualifications Authority, Māori qualifications, providers, assessment resources and more.

Universities - Māori Education

 

Aotahi: School of Māori and Indigenous Studies at University of Canterbury

School of Māori, Social and Cultural Studies at UC College of Education

University of Waikato - Māori Education Research Unit

Wānanga

 

Te Wānanga o Raukawa

Te Wānanga o Aotearoa

Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi

 

Other

 

Kia Ata Mai Educational Trust "Aims are to develop and promote Maori literacy programmes for readers in Kura Kaupapa and Maori medium schools."

Māori Education Trust The aim of the trust is “to facilitate Māori authority over Māori education and promote mātauranga Māori”.

New Zealand Educational Institute - Miro Māori the Māori strand of New Zealand’s largest education union.

NZARE - Māori Caucus New Zealand Association for Research in Education Māori Caucus

Māori Parents and Education. A report from NZCER.

 

Education Library

Profile ImageInformation Librarians
Contact Info:
Caroline Syddall: ph 343 7739
Kathryn Andrews: ph 345 8205
Margaret Paterson: ph 364 3320
Ariana Tikao: ph 345 8821
Email: firstname.lastname@canterbury.ac.nz
Email the Education Library
Send Email

Subjects:
Education, Sport coaching

 

Maori Dictionaries

(links to electronic versions)

Te Reo Tupu
Encyclopaedic Maori language dictionary. Available in Library and on Campus

Ngata Dictionary
A concise Maori-English English-Maori dictionary, which is explicitly, but not exclusively, based on Ngati Porou and East Coast dialect and idiom.

A Dictionary of the Maori Language  Herbert William Williams. 1957 ed.
Provided by New Zealand Electronic Text Centre.

He Pataka Kupu An online version of the monolingual (Maori) dictionary produced by Te Taura Whiri in 2008. Also available as a paper copy in the Macmillan Brown Library, and will soon be available at the Education Library.

Te Aka online version of the Te Whanake series dictionary.

 

Māori Television

Native Affairs 18-05-2009: Rangitane ki Wairau; Anne Tolley on NCEA and Māori Achievement; reviving traditional Māori ball games.

 
© University of Canterbury - Christchurch, New Zealand
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait