Curriculum Documents
Social Studies has its own curriculum document it can be accessed online or through the library catalogue.
The achievement objectives for History, Geography, Economics can be found in the NZ Curriculum Document. This can be accessed online or through the library catalogue.
Featured Title
- Social Studies That Sticks: How to Bring Content and Concepts to Life - Laurel Schmidt
Call Number: LB 1584 .S353 2007
In Social Studies That Sticks Laurel Schmidt introduces a brain-compatible approach to integrated, standards-based instruction, using the four elements of the human learning cycle: awareness, exploration, inquiry, and action. This dynamic approach brings content and concepts to life, while sharpening skills in questioning, thinking, reading, writing, and the visual and performing arts. It promotes academic achievement, models the habits of active citizenship, tunes students’ ethical antennae to social problems, and teaches tools students can use to advocate for change.
Whats going on in 2009?
Welcome to the Social Sciences Subject Guide
Unuhia te rito o te harakeke kei whea te kōmako e kō?
Whakatairangitia - rere ki uta, rere ki tai;
Ui mai koe ki ahau he aha te mea nui o te ao,
Māku e kī atu he tangata, he tangata, he tangata!
Remove the heart of the flax bush and where will the kōmako sing?
Proclaim it to the land, proclaim it to the sea;
Ask me, "What is the greatest thing in the world?"
I will reply, "It is people, people, people!"
Social Sciences
Web Resources
OnlineTeaching Resources
Social Studies
- TKI-Social Studies-provides teachers with social studies units and resources.
- Global Education Centre-range of resources for teachers and students on global issues.
- Teaching Online-Social Sciences Library-provides a number of unit plans for the social sciences.
- Teaching websites reviewed-if you are looking for some online resources, these websites have been reviewed by other teachers.
- LEARNZ-Online Field Trip-teachers can take their classes on a virtual field trip.
- Monumental Stories-provides activities for level 5 Social Studies classes.
- Te Ara-the online Encyclopedia of New Zealand.
History
- NZ history online-provides NZ history information and activities for each NCEA level, as well as for Social Studies levels 4 and 5.
- NZ history teachers association-includes teaching resources as well as curriculum developments and updates.
- NCEA internal assessment resources-Ministry of Education NCEA internal assessment resources for History.
- History-NZ-brief overview of NZ history, including prehistoric, colonial and modern day.
- NZQA-History-includes standards and exemplars.
- Best of History Websites - ranked by Google as the best 1200 history-related websites for history teachers and their students.
Geography
- NCEA Resources MOE-TKI
- NZ Geographical society-provides some teacher resources.
- NZQA-Geography-includes standards and exemplars.
Economics
- NZQA-Economics-includes standards and exemplars.
- Enterprise New Zealand
Education Library |
Information LibrariansCaroline Syddall: ph 343 7739
Kathryn Andrews: ph 345 8205
Margaret Paterson: ph 364 3320
Ariana Tikao: ph 345 8821
Email: firstname.lastname@canterbury.ac.nz
Email the Education Library
Send Email
Subjects:
Education, Sport coaching
Finding journal articles using databases
Use these database to find articles (for New Zealand information, use the Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre):

Classroom Activities
Sorted-interactive online games, some of these are linked to Social Studies curriculum.
Elections NZ-classroom activities relating to decision making.
Explore Parliament-interactive site that looks at the democratic process.
NZ History-activities and material for use when teaching NCEA History and Social Studies levels 4-5.
Interactive History Games-a bit of fun! UK website with some interactive history games.
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait