Distance ServicesHow to get helpHow to request items
Citing with APACopyright & plagiarismEndnote
MaoriMaori cultural topicsMaori Curriculum linksMaori Image DatabasesMatarikiPasifikaTe Huarahi Whakahaere : EDHP 703Te Whakaora Reo : EDHP702Whakapiki i te Reo
Art, Drama and MusicChild developmentEarly Childhood EducationEd. Psyc. and CounsellingEducation for SustainabilityEducation: researchHealthICT and e-LearningInclusive education
Literacy & LanguagesMathematicsPE/Outdoor Ed & Sports CoachingScienceSocial SciencesTeaching: theory & practiceTechnology
BooksChildren's literatureEducation LegislationFind an articleGrad Dip & Undergrad InfoNew Zealand informationSchool Journals and Graded ReadersStatisticsTest information
Assignment HelpCentres of innovationCultures and CustomsEarly childhood environmentsEarly childhood transitionsEDMI144EDMI361EDUC384Educational TheoristsHistory of curriculum
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Subject Guides
Admin Sign In 

Education  Tags: education educ teaching teach curriculum  

Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://canterbury.libguides.com/educ  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Books             Print Page
  
 

Finding Education Books, DVDs, Kits etc

Use the library catalogue to find books for your study and research, and books, DVDs and more to support your classroom teaching.
Education material is held in the Education Library but the other UC Library branches are jammed full of useful stuff too- just request material to get it brought to the Education Library for you to collect.

 

 

Call Numbers for Academic Education Books

This is a very general list of call numbers for education books.
There are also education books at M, N, P and T (music, art, reading and technology).
Sports coaching books are in the GVs.

L Education (general)
LA History of Education
LB Theory of practice of education
51-1050 Teaching systems
1051-1091 Educational psychology
1101-1139 Child development
1140-1489 Preschool education
1501-1602 Primary/elementary education
1603-1695 Secondary education
1705-2296 Teacher education
2300-2430 Higher education
2801-3499 School administration

3523-3640

School/student life

LC Special aspects of education
8-63 Forms of education
65-245 Social education
251-951 Moral & religious education
1101-1091 Types of education
1390-5158 Special education

5201-6691

Adult education

LD United States
LF Europe
LG Asia, Africa, Oceania
715-720 Australia
741-745 New Zealand
961 Pacific Islands
LT Textbooks covering several subjects
 

Call Numbers for Classroom Material

Resources for teaching planning and practice are in the classroom collection on Level 1 of the Education Library. This collection uses the Dewey Decimal classification system which is also used in school and public libraries.

How the Classroom Collection is Organised

Books in the Classroom Collection are organised using the Dewey Decimal Classification System. 

This is the broad Dewey layout:

  • 000  Computer science, information, and general works
  • 100  Philosophy and psychology
  • 200  Religion
  • 300  Social sciences
  • 400  Languages
  • 500  Science and Mathematics
  • 600  Technology and applied science
  • 700  Arts and recreation
  • 800  Literature
  • 900  History and geography and biography

The Classroom Collection also contains picture books and fiction for children and young adults.  These items are classified as follows:

JPB or PB - Picture books, including graphic novels

JFIC - Short stories and novels for an interest level uo to 13 years

YFIC - Short stories and novels for an interest level of 14-18 years

Searching the Classroom Collection

You can locate items in the Classroom Collection by using the Library Catalogue. For information about using the catalogue to search for items, you may wish to visit our tutorial.

When you search the catalogue, you may find it useful to limit your search to items in the Education Library.  To do this, go to the Library Catalogue and click on the ‘Advanced’ Tab.  Below the four search boxes you will see three options for limiting your search: Location, Language and Other Limits.  Under ‘Location’, simply click on ‘Location: Education’ – your search will be limited to items in the Education Library when this limiter is highlighted.

For a full description of the other options an ‘Advanced’ Search gives you, please click here.

Classroom Materials Online Resources

Various sources of information and materials are available onlinw to help you prepare classroom activities.  To access a list of useful websites, go to the LibGuides Homepage and then select your subject from the ‘Topic A-M’ or ‘Topic N-Z’drop down menus.

 

Education Library

Profile ImageInformation Librarians
Contact Info:
Caroline Syddall: ph 343 7739
Kathryn Andrews: ph 345 8205
Margaret Paterson: ph 364 3320
Ariana Tikao: ph 345 8821
Email: firstname.lastname@canterbury.ac.nz
Email the Education Library
Send Email

Subjects:
Education, Sport coaching

 

What's a call number?

Call numbers on book spines

Read more about call numbers.

 
© University of Canterbury - Christchurch, New Zealand
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait