Distance ServicesHow to get helpHow to request items
Citing with APACopyright & plagiarismEndnote
MaoriMaori cultural topicsMaori Curriculum linksMaori Image DatabasesMatarikiPasifikaTe Huarahi Whakahaere : EDHP 703Te Whakaora Reo : EDHP702Whakapiki i te Reo
Art, Drama and MusicChild developmentEarly Childhood EducationEd. Psyc. and CounsellingEducation for SustainabilityEducation: researchHealthICT and e-LearningInclusive education
Literacy & LanguagesMathematicsPE/Outdoor Ed & Sports CoachingScienceSocial SciencesTeaching: theory & practiceTechnology
BooksChildren's literatureEducation LegislationFind an articleGrad Dip & Undergrad InfoNew Zealand informationSchool Journals and Graded ReadersStatisticsTest information
Assignment HelpCentres of innovationCultures and CustomsEarly childhood environmentsEarly childhood transitionsEDMI144EDMI361EDUC384Educational TheoristsHistory of curriculum
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Subject Guides
Admin Sign In 

Education  Tags: education educ teaching teach curriculum  

Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://canterbury.libguides.com/educ  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Children's literature             Print Page
  
 

Library Catalogue

For fiction, search for juvenile fiction, eg frogs - juvenile fiction

For non-fiction, search juvenile literature, eg frogs - juvenile literature

You can also limit this to books in the Education library only by using the Advanced search tab at the top of the catalogue results page.

 

Databases Multisearch

Search for journal articles in several databases at once by typing your keywords in the box below:


Search results open in a new window

 

 

Key Databases for Childrens' Literature

 
 

Children's Literature

Welcome to the Children's LiteratureJubilee sculpture Subject Guide.

 

The Education Library has a large collection of literature to support teacher education programmes and the Children's Literature courses.

Resources include:

  • picture books, fiction, drama and poetry for children and young adults
  • myths, legends and folklore from New Zealand and around the world 
  • nursery rhymes, alphabet and counting books
  • audio visual materials (videos, CDs, cassettes, kits, posters)
  • secondary resources about childrens literature and library science
  • encyclopedias of authors and illustrators in childrens literature, and folktales and myths

 

 

 

Look at this!

 

Maurice Gee's classic novel coming to the big screen soon:

http://www.flicks.co.nz/movie/under-the-mountain/

 

Reference Sources - books and journals in the Library

 

The Oxford companion to children's literature / Humphrey Carpenter. 1984. 

International companion encyclopedia of children's literature / Peter Hunt. 2004.

A critical handbook of children's literature / Rebecca J. Lukens. 1999. 

Who's who in children's books : a treasury of the familiar characters of childhood / Margery Fisher. 1975.

'Children's Literature' in vol. 1 of The Greenwood guide to American popular culture / ed. by M. Thomas Inge and Dennis Hall. 2002.

The Oxford companion to Australian children's literature / Stella Lees and Pam Macintyre. Melbourne : Oxford University Press, 1993.

Oxford Reference Online Offers simultaneous searching of a number of literature reference books.

Talespinner

Twentieth-Century Children's Writers /ed. D. L. Kirkpatrick. London : Macmillan, 1978. Biographical information, list of books published and a short critical article on each author.

The ALAN review /National Council of Teachers of English.  Assembly on Literature for Adolescents

Poetics of Children's Literature / Zohar Shavit

 

Useful Links - New Zealand

 

Storylines Supporting Children's Books and Literature in New Zealand

Create Readers A blog about Children's and YA literature written by National Library staff.

The Margaret Mahy Collection of New Zealand Children's books, Christchurch City Libraries

Story-go-Round  Lorraine Orman's guide to children's books in New Zealand. Includes advice for aspiring writers and the top 100 NZ Children's books of the 20th century.

New Zealand Childrens Book Awards

National Library Children's Literature Collection The National Library has "the most extensive collection of children's literature in the southern hemisphere." 

HarperCollins Children's Publisher's website with teaching and reading guides for books.

The International Children's Digital Library.  Digital copies of books from around the world, New Zealand books included.

 

Useful Links - Rest of the World

 

Eclipse Exemplary Children's Literature Interface Project for Scholarly Education 

The Children's Literature Web Guide Links to authors and stories on the web, childrens book awards and best sellers, teaching resources and organisations.

The current Children's Laureate is Anthony Browne.  The previous one was Michael Rosen.

Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts compiled by D. L. Ashliman, University of Pittsburgh. Organised by subject and type. Includes fairy tales.

Kidlitosphere Central  A portal for blogs and resources associated with children's literature.

Bibliography of Children's Literature Criticism 
To accompany Perry Nodelman and Mavis Reimer's
Pleasures of Children's Literature. Extensive list of books and journal article references arranged under such headings as: How to read childrens literature, Theories of reader response, Childrens as readers, Children as implied readers.

BUBL directory of Internet resources: Children's Literature links to a wide range of internet resources, including bibliographies, reviews and sites focusing on series such as Oz, Narnia and Harry Potter.

Australian Authors and Illustrators for Young People

Boy's reading choices Includes book suggestions and articles.

HarperCollins Children's Publisher's website with teaching and reading guides for books.

Children's Books Online: the Rosetta Project
Antique childrens books to view page by page or download the book as zipped file. Click on the 'Library' link to view titles. Excellent quality reproductions of the illustrations.

Classic Reader: childrens titles
'Where you can read, search, and annotate great works of literature '-children's section includes authors such as Frank Baum, Lewis Carroll, Edgar Darlington, Hugh Lofting.

Lewis Carroll section of the Victorian Web
A rich site offering short critical articles on a variety of themes and aspects of Lewis Carroll's work. The articles are written by independent researchers, students and faculty members of Brown University. Includes social history information and the complete Alice illustrations.

Gaslight's G.A. Henty page
Full text of The Young Colonists: a story of the Zulu and Boer Wars, plus a bibliography of Henty's books.

 

Education Library

Profile ImageInformation Librarians
Contact Info:
Caroline Syddall: ph 343 7739
Kathryn Andrews: ph 345 8205
Margaret Paterson: ph 364 3320
Ariana Tikao: ph 345 8821
Email: firstname.lastname@canterbury.ac.nz
Email the Education Library
Send Email

Subjects:
Education, Sport coaching

Ae Marika: Education news

News and information for the Education Library community. View more news.

 
© University of Canterbury - Christchurch, New Zealand
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait