Distance ServicesHow to get helpHow to request items
Citing with APACopyright & plagiarismEndnote
MaoriMaori cultural topicsMaori Curriculum linksMaori Image DatabasesMatarikiPasifikaTe Huarahi Whakahaere : EDHP 703Te Whakaora Reo : EDHP702Whakapiki i te Reo
Art, Drama and MusicChild developmentEarly Childhood EducationEd. Psyc. and CounsellingEducation for SustainabilityEducation: researchHealthICT and e-LearningInclusive education
Literacy & LanguagesMathematicsPE/Outdoor Ed & Sports CoachingScienceSocial SciencesTeaching: theory & practiceTechnology
BooksChildren's literatureEducation LegislationFind an articleGrad Dip & Undergrad InfoNew Zealand informationSchool Journals and Graded ReadersStatisticsTest information
Assignment HelpCentres of innovationCultures and CustomsEarly childhood environmentsEarly childhood transitionsEDMI144EDMI361EDUC384Educational TheoristsHistory of curriculum
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Subject Guides
Admin Sign In 

Education  Tags: education educ teaching teach curriculum  

Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://canterbury.libguides.com/educ  Print Guide  RSS Updates

ICT and e-Learning             Print Page
  
 

Library Catalogue

To find books on ICT and e-learning, type a keword in the box. Think of alternative keywords if you don't immediately get the results you want.

 

Databases Multisearch


Search results open in a new window

Individual Databases

 
 

How to search for journal articles on ICT and e-Learning

Databases are the best source of recent and scholarly articles.

ICT and e-Learning is a wide field with many different issues and topics within it and even more ways of describing these topics.We've included some links to sources of definitions at the bottom of the page but these will keep changing. To find the best information you will need to try several different terms.

Here are some useful broad terms and search strings:

  • information technology
  • e-learning
  • computer-assisted instruction
  • educational technology
    Add education or school to your search if the results don't relate to education

If you have a particular topic in mind, search using specific terms for that topic. You will need to try different terms because they change quickly and people use different words for the same concepts. Try out several and don't assume there's nothing on your topic just because you don't find much from your first couple of searches. Here are some to try, but have a go with your own terms too:

  • web-based instruction
  • internet in educaction
  • blended learning
  • wikis
  • vle (virtual learning environment)
  • ple (personal learning environment)
  • web 2.0
  • information & computer technologies and gender

Check out some of the links to recent articles in the boxes below then try your own searches on the databases on the left hand side. Databases Multisearch is a great way to search several databases at once.

For a guide to successful database searching, check out our "Find an Article" guide.

Contact one of us if you need any help. Happy Searching!

 

Recent ICT/Educational Technology articles from ERIC

These are some recent full-text articles from ERIC. For more sources, search our databases (in the left hand column).


Loading RSS Feed...
 

ICT and e-Learning Web Resources

ICT in Schools from the Ministry of Education

ICT on TKI

Becta: The UK govt. agency for the use of technology throughout learning.

 

Who's researching and publishing what in ICT and Education? Browse some sources in NZ and beyond:

University of Canterbury Read ICT and e-learning research articles from the Research Repository

London Knowledge Lab from the University of London

Digital theses from Australia and New Zealand

International Society for Technology in Education

Institute of Educational Technology, Open University. Browse their published articles.

ICT in Education Online books from Unesco

Commonwealth Educational and Media Centre for Asia

For a broad search, use our databases (see the box to the left)

 

ICT terminology

There are many different terms within ICT/IT and Education, with, as yet, little consistency in their use. Within this range of terms, ICT, IT and E-learning all refer to the application of Information Technology to enhance education. In contrast, ICT literacy, 21C skills, Computer driving licence (ICDL) are all about the skills needed to use ICT.

One important thing to note is that in the US the term Technology is used where Information Technology is used in New Zealand.

Try the sources below for definitions:

Kovalchick A. & Dawson, K. (Eds.) (2004). Education and Technology. An encyclopedia. Two volumes. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO Inc. Held in the Education Library at LB 1028.3 .E242 2004

A Dictionary of Computing (an online dictionary from Oxford Reference Online)

Wikipedia

 

Education Library

Profile ImageInformation Librarians
Contact Info:
Caroline Syddall: ph 343 7739
Kathryn Andrews: ph 345 8205
Margaret Paterson: ph 364 3320
Ariana Tikao: ph 345 8821
Email: firstname.lastname@canterbury.ac.nz
Email the Education Library
Send Email

Subjects:
Education, Sport coaching

 

Need to improve your own ICT skills?

There are a variety of ways you can develop your ICT skills. Pick those that best suit your learning style:

Workshops with the University's ICT team. An excellent introduction to all the stuff you'll most need to know about.

Online courses in Microsoft programmes from Microsoft

Software guides from the Institute of Education, University of London.  Nice and clear.

Computing for Free. Attend classes at the Polytech.

Read a book! Search the library catalogue or browse the shelves at 005 in the Classroom Collection on Level 1 of the Education Library.

 
© University of Canterbury - Christchurch, New Zealand
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait