Distance ServicesHow to get helpHow to request items
Citing with APACopyright & plagiarismEndnote
MaoriMaori cultural topicsMaori Curriculum linksMaori Image DatabasesMatarikiPasifikaTe Huarahi Whakahaere : EDHP 703Te Whakaora Reo : EDHP702Whakapiki i te Reo
Art, Drama and MusicChild developmentEarly Childhood EducationEd. Psyc. and CounsellingEducation for SustainabilityEducation: researchHealthICT and e-LearningInclusive education
Literacy & LanguagesMathematicsPE/Outdoor Ed & Sports CoachingScienceSocial SciencesTeaching: theory & practiceTechnology
BooksChildren's literatureEducation LegislationFind an articleGrad Dip & Undergrad InfoNew Zealand informationSchool Journals and Graded ReadersStatisticsTest information
Assignment HelpCentres of innovationCultures and CustomsEarly childhood environmentsEarly childhood transitionsEDMI144EDMI361EDUC384Educational TheoristsHistory of curriculum
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Subject Guides
Admin Sign In 

Education  Tags: education educ teaching teach curriculum  

Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://canterbury.libguides.com/educ  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Whakapiki i te Reo             Print Page
  
 

Te Reo Maori Online

Te Whanake online Te Reo Resources

Kotahi Mano Kaika Ngāi Tahu Te Reo Māori website

Korero Maori website to support learners of Te Reo (all levels)

Online Dictionaries

He Pātaka Kupu A comprehensive Te Reo Māori-only dictionary from the Māori Language Commission.

Ngata Dictionary This online edition contains Māori-English as well as English-Māori translations.

Te Aka Online dictionary from the Te Whanake series.

A Dictionary of the Māori Language/ Williams. Provided by the New Zealand Electronic Text Centre.

Other Online Reo Resources

He Pātaka Kupu Ture : The Legal Māori Archive Documents describing, debating, using and critiquing Western legal ideas in te reo Māori. Includes petitions, letters, deeds, Acts, tribunal documents, Kōtahitanga Parliamentary proceedings and more

Te Hapori Mātauranga Māori (TKI) Not a dictionary, but a good resource for Māori Education on Te Kete Ipurangi

 

Library Catalogue

To limit your search to picture book, Māori language item, kit, or a particular library etc, do an advanced search.

To find resources for children add the word juvenile to your search.

 
 

Nau mai, haere mai

Nau mai, haere mai ki te ropu o Whakapiki i te Reo Maori i te tau o 2009!

Haere ki konei mo te wharangi kainga o te Wharepukapuka o UC.

 

He Rauemi Hou - Matariki

Matariki interview - Christchurch City Libraries have added a new resource about Matariki. It is based on an interview with local elder, Rakiihia Tau.

Matariki teaching resource - Christchurch City Libraries created a new teaching resource about Matariki in 2008. It has ideas for lessons and a lot of great information.

 

Maori/Ngāi Tahu Resources

In the Education Library we have a Kohikohika Māori, or Māori Collection. This includes some resources on Ngāi Tahu history and culture. The Macmillan Brown has an extensive range of Ngāi Tahu books also, some are lending copies, and others are only to be used in the library.

When searching the catalogue for Ngai Tahu history resources, use the subject keywords Ngai Tahu (Maori People) and History

Waka Huia programmes on Ngāi Tahu From TVNZ on Demand.
(you see an advert before the actual programme)

Te Aitarakihi Marae a Iwi  i te rohe o Te Tihi-o-Maru/Timaru Episode 44, 14 February 2009

Arowhenua Marae Episode 4, 5 April 2009

Araiteuru Marae  i Ōtepoti. 21 October 2007

 

Ngāi Tahu Web Links

Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu official website

Ngai Tahu on Te Ara website

Ti Kouka Whenua an excellent website about local Ngai Tahu history and sites of significance, including oral history interviews. Produced by Christchurch City Libraries.

South Island Maori Myths and Legends page on Christchurch City Libraries website

Mana Whenua concepts relating to Ngai Tahu (from Ngai Tahu's website) explains the traditional practice of topuni, significance of placenames etc.

Kai Tahu waiata on the Kotai Mano Kaika website

 

He kōrero nō Ngāi Tahu

PEPEHA
These pepeha were published on "Pepeha across the city" postcards during a Christchurch Arts Festival.

E, ko te Hau Kaitakata e aumou te whai, te mutu ai e.
Oh, the Nor`'Wester persistent in its pursuit, will not relent.

Kāi Tahu's persistence in pursuing their rights is likened to the NorWester that devours those in its path.
(na Hana O'Regan)


E rite ana mātou ki te Kauwau e noho ana i runga i te toka
Ka pari te tai, ka ngaro te kōhatu, ka rere te manu.
We are the same as a shag perched on an ocean rock; the tide encroaches, the stone disappears and the bird must fly away.

1860 Haoani Paratene to Gov Gore Browne. " Please listen carefully to our words, to our grievances and illnesses as you are the doctor that must remedy them. We have no houses, no land, no market to sell our wares."


Ka Pākihi Whakatekateka a Waitaha
The plains where Waitaha strutted proudly.

This is used to link Kāi Tahu with their earlier Waitaha ancestors.

 

Ko Kuratawhiti te mauka kākāpō. Ko ahau te takata.
Kuratawhiti is the mountain home of the kākāpō. I am the man who lays claim to it.

Moki and a party of relatives were searching the inland areas and claiming hills and resources as their own. In this, Moki was claiming the peaks and resources of Kuratawhiti, which included Kākāpō hunting grounds to make a kilt for his daughter.

 

Other South Island Maori

The Prow is a new website which aims to celebrate, preserve and makes accessible the history, culture and stories of the top of the South Island of New Zealand - Nelson, Marlborough and Tasman.  The name has been chosen because the region from Farewell Spit to Marlborough’s East Coast, has long been known by local iwi as “te tau ihu o te waka a Maui”, or the prow of Maui’s waka, from which he ‘fished’ up the North Island.

 

Education Library

Profile ImageInformation Librarians
Contact Info:
Caroline Syddall: ph 343 7739
Kathryn Andrews: ph 345 8205
Margaret Paterson: ph 364 3320
Ariana Tikao: ph 345 8821
Email: firstname.lastname@canterbury.ac.nz
Email the Education Library
Send Email

Subjects:
Education, Sport coaching

 

Te tohutoro o ngā rautaki/How to reference stuff

 
© University of Canterbury - Christchurch, New Zealand
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait