Distance ServicesHow to get helpHow to request items
Citing with APACopyright & plagiarismEndnote
MaoriMaori cultural topicsMaori Curriculum linksMaori Image DatabasesMatarikiPasifikaTe Huarahi Whakahaere : EDHP 703Te Whakaora Reo : EDHP702Whakapiki i te Reo
Art, Drama and MusicChild developmentEarly Childhood EducationEd. Psyc. and CounsellingEducation for SustainabilityEducation: researchHealthICT and e-LearningInclusive education
Literacy & LanguagesMathematicsPE/Outdoor Ed & Sports CoachingScienceSocial SciencesTeaching: theory & practiceTechnology
BooksChildren's literatureEducation LegislationFind an articleGrad Dip & Undergrad InfoNew Zealand informationSchool Journals and Graded ReadersStatisticsTest information
Assignment HelpCentres of innovationCultures and CustomsEarly childhood environmentsEarly childhood transitionsEDMI144EDMI361EDUC384Educational TheoristsHistory of curriculum
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Subject Guides
Admin Sign In 

Education  Tags: education educ teaching teach curriculum  

Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://canterbury.libguides.com/educ  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find an article             Print Page
  

Education databases

The following are the most used Education databases:

 

 
 

Finding articles

Below on this page you will find boxes with information that will help you to find articles.

To print the information on this page, download the PDF document.

Another option is to try our online tutorial.

How can I tell if the article is a research article? Download a PDF that will help you decide.

Please get in touch with us if you want any help. Our contact details are in the box to the right.

 

Find the databases

The library databases are big of collections of articles. Some are research articles, others more general. Some articles are fulltext on the databases, others are not.

If you do not  know which database to use, try Databases MultiSearch on the UC Library homepage. Databases MultiSearch groups databases together by subject. Use the drop-down menu to choose the Education MultiSearch option. MultiSearch lets you search several key Education databases at one time.

 

If you want to search a specific Education database:

http://library.canterbury.ac.nz/  >  Databases (Top left)  > Education

 

 

Plan your search

Before you start, spend five minutes making a mind-map or list to nut out all of the words and concepts around your chosen topic, including synonyms and related concepts. This process will help you:
1. Clarify your topic
2. Break it into component parts or themes (and allow you to focus your topic and discard elements)
3. Identify key words to use in your searches.


Rule of thumb: Start with a general search and narrow it down. Add one element of your search in at a time so you can see what effect each change has on the results.

Spelling: Correct spelling is vital. Capitalization doesn’t matter.  Remember that U.S. spellings are sometimes different, e.g. behaviour, behavior.

Different Terminology: Other countries may use different terminology. You will need to search on all variations, e.g., search for “elementary” as well as “primary”.

Truncation: Use an asterisk * in most databases for truncation, e.g. educat* will search for:
Educate, educator, educated, education, educational, educators, educationalist…etc.

 

 

Combining search terms

Build your search using AND and OR:

Apples AND Pears find all articles that have BOTH words.

Apples OR Pears find articles that have EITHER the word Apples OR the word Pears OR both.

If you are including both the AND operator and the OR  in your search statement, put brackets around the part of the statement being Ored: 

 (Apples or Bananas) and pears.

This ensures that the OR statement is processed first. You will get a vastly different and unintended result if you do not use brackets.

 

Limiting your search

As a rule of thumb: get your results down to about 100. This is a comfortable number to look through. You will strike many useless articles – this is the peril of keyword searching.

• You can build as big a search stream as you like. Using ‘and’ will decrease the results. Using ‘or’ will increase the results.
Keep adding on terms as you refine the search:
1. Behav*
2. Behav* and manag*
3. Behav* and (manag* or modif*)
4. Behav* and (manag* or modif*) and educat*

• Most databases have “Limit” functions on the first search page. These enable you to cut down large results by screening out information by date, language, document type, or level of the information. Have a look and see what is there.

 

Broaden your search

 If you initially find only one or two items that look interesting, do not despair!
• Look at the records and at the subject headings / descriptors that are listed. See what terms they have used to describe the content, and add these to your list of keywords to search
• Check other articles written by the same author(s)
• When you find a good article, see if the database has a “find more like this” link to click
• When you find a good article, check the bibliography for other articles that may be relevant. Keep in mind that the articles in the bibliography will be older than the article you have found.

 

Education Library

Profile ImageInformation Librarians
Contact Info:
Caroline Syddall: ph 343 7739
Kathryn Andrews: ph 345 8205
Margaret Paterson: ph 364 3320
Ariana Tikao: ph 345 8821
Email: firstname.lastname@canterbury.ac.nz
Email the Education Library
Send Email

Subjects:
Education, Sport coaching

 
© University of Canterbury - Christchurch, New Zealand
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait