Distance ServicesHow to get helpHow to request items
Citing with APACopyright & plagiarismEndnote
MaoriMaori cultural topicsMaori Curriculum linksMaori Image DatabasesMatarikiPasifikaTe Huarahi Whakahaere : EDHP 703Te Whakaora Reo : EDHP702Whakapiki i te Reo
Art, Drama and MusicChild developmentEarly Childhood EducationEd. Psyc. and CounsellingEducation for SustainabilityEducation: researchHealthICT and e-LearningInclusive education
Literacy & LanguagesMathematicsPE/Outdoor Ed & Sports CoachingScienceSocial SciencesTeaching: theory & practiceTechnology
BooksChildren's literatureEducation LegislationFind an articleGrad Dip & Undergrad InfoNew Zealand informationSchool Journals and Graded ReadersStatisticsTest information
Assignment HelpCentres of innovationCultures and CustomsEarly childhood environmentsEarly childhood transitionsEDMI144EDMI361EDUC384Educational TheoristsHistory of curriculum
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Subject Guides
Admin Sign In 

Education  Tags: education educ teaching teach curriculum  

Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://canterbury.libguides.com/educ  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Centres of innovation             Print Page
  
 

Library Catalogue

Databases

 Read the search tips on this page for hints on searching these databases for articles.

 

"The waves" series

There are four titles in this series about Centres of Innovations. 

Distance students can contact the library and request one chapter per book to be scanned and emailed to them. 

  • Catching the waves

     Chapters

  1. A’oga Fa’a Samoa;
  2. New Beginnings Pre-school;
  3. Roskill South Kindergarten;
  4. Te Kōhanga Reo o Pūau Te Moananui a Kiwa;
  5. Wilton Playcentre;
  6. Wycliffe Nga Tamariki Kindergarten
  •  Riding the waves

   Chapters

  1. Massey Child Care Centre;
  2. Te Kōhanga Reo o Pūau Te Moananui a Kiwa; A’oga Fa’a Samoa;
  3. Roskill South Kindergarten; Wycliffe Nga Tamariki Kindergarten;
  4. New Beginnings Pre-school;
  5. Citizens Nursery and Preschool;
  6. Wilton Playcentre.
  •  Cresting the waves

   Chapters

  1. A’oga Fa’a Samoa;
  2. New Beginnings Pre-school;
  3. Roskill South Kindergarten;
  4. Te Kōhanga Reo o Pūau Te Moananui a Kiwa;
  5. Wilton Playcentre;
  6. Wycliffe Nga Tamariki Kindergarten.
  •  Generating waves

   Chapters

  1. Introduction: Giving back
  2. Weaving dissemination actions into the research. Kidsfirst Kindergarten Bush Street COI, 2006-8 / Botany Downs Kindergarten COI, 2006-8 
  3. Paying it forward : COI dissemination Massey Child Care Centre/ Gisborne Community Early Education Centre
  4. What counts as support for families? Citizens Preschool and Nursery 
  5. The critical involvement of fathers Te Kopae Piripono Maori
  6. Supporting parents alongside children's education at Te Mārua/Mangaroa Playcentre : relationships, environment and collaboration.
 
 

Introduction

This assignment asks students to review:

  • one Centre of Innovation report;
  • two publications about the same Centre of Innovation; and
  • two research articles on the same topic as the research of the chosen Centre of Innovation report, but by other writers.

Appropriate texts can be found by looking at the

  • library catalogue
  • Ministry of Education websites
  • Index New Zealand and library databases.

Don't forget to look at the bibliography of publications you are reading as they may lead you to suitable research articles. 

 

Search library catalogue

Try a keyword search of the library catalogue using the following terms:

 centre* innovation early childhood

 

See the Library Catalogue box on this page for a quicklink to the Library Catalogue.

 

 

Ministry of Education websites

Education Counts

Reports on a number of COI research programmes

Educate

Numerous reports and articles

 

Index New Zealand

Further articles on Centres of Innovations can be located on Index New Zealand.

This database has limited full text articles.  Most likely you will need to note the publication details and then search the library catalogue again to determine if the library holds it, either in print or electronically.

Try a keyword search for:

centre innovation early childhood

 

See the Databases box on this page for a quicklink to Index New Zealand

 

Library databases

Tips:

  • Peer review / scholarly articles - Peer review means that experts in a subject area have read and approved publication of the article.  This helps ensure that the article is of a high standard.  A newspaper or magazine article or press release will not be a peer review or scholarly article.
  • Research article - you are looking for lengthy articles (maybe 10 or more pages) that describe a piece of research.  It should include an introduction, literature review, methodology, results, discussion and conclusion. 
  • You are looking for articles on the topic of your chosen Centre of Innovation report.  This means that you will need to think about useful keywords before you start to search .

 Download a PDF of search tips and hints.

How can I tell if my article is a research article? Download a PDF that will help you decide.

Useful databases:

ERIC

Topic keyword eg. ICT

AND

(early childhood or kindergarten or pre*school)

 

Education Research Complete

Topic keyword eg   Bilingual education

AND 

(early childhood or kindergarten or pre*school)

 

See the Databases box on this page for a quicklink to ERIC and Education Research Complete.

 

 

Education Library

Profile ImageInformation Librarians
Contact Info:
Caroline Syddall: ph 343 7739
Kathryn Andrews: ph 345 8205
Margaret Paterson: ph 364 3320
Ariana Tikao: ph 345 8821
Email: firstname.lastname@canterbury.ac.nz
Email the Education Library
Send Email

Subjects:
Education, Sport coaching

 
© University of Canterbury - Christchurch, New Zealand
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait