Pukapuka
Kia kite i ētahi pukapuka e pā ana ki te whakaora reo:
Whakauru te kīanga language revival i roto i te pouaka "subject keywords". Ko language attrition tētahi atu kīanga pai.
Ki te pirangi koe ki te panui i ētahi pukapuka e pā ana ki te te whakora reo i roto i te akomanga, whakauru ngā kīanga native language and education , linguistic minorities education, rānei.
Kei konei te whakarārangi.
Te Whakarārangi : Catalogue
Ngā Tuhi Pānui : Articles
Ko Education Research Complete te pātaka rakahau (database) pai mo tēnei wahanga. Pāwhiri i a Education Research Complete ki raro, ā, whakauru tētahi o ēnei kīanga:
language maintenance
language revival
"language revitalization or language revitalisation"

He Reo Taketake me te Reo Māori : Assignment 1 : Websites
UNESCO has a database of languages in danger. You can search by country, language or number of speakers and see how endangered the langauge is. There is also a register of good practices, a methodogy for assessing language vitality and endangerment, a bibliography and links to other websites.
AUSTRALIA - The National Indigenous Languages Survey report from 2005, can be found full-text here.
Assignment 1 : Finding Articles
To find articles on a particular language, search in Education Research Complete and ERIC and Sociological Abstracts (see below) , using the following terms:
"language planning or language policy" and the name of the language or country
e.g. "language planning or language policy" and catalan
If you have chosen a language on which little has been written, search on the name of the language or country and the word language, e.g.:
Namibia and language
or
nama and language
Note: You can search both ERIC and Education Research Complete at once by clicking on 'choose databases' once you're in one database.

Assignment 1 : Books
Try a subject begins with search using:
- Language planning
- Language policy
then you can scroll down and find the region you've chosen.
A couple of useful looking books are:
- Langauge planning and policy in Asia covers Japan, Nepal, Taiwan and Chinese characters
- Language planning and policy in the Pacific includes Fiji, the Philippines and Vanuatu
He Whakatewhatewha Hapori me te Mahere Reo : Assignment 2
Not sure how to design your questionnaire? The Library has books to help.
Search using questionnaires social surveys methodology in the catalogue:
This book looks good: Constructing Effective Questionnaires
Remember to 'pre-test' your questionnaire - try it out on a friend or family member before you start with your language community.
Education Library |
Information LibrariansCaroline Syddall: ph 343 7739
Kathryn Andrews: ph 345 8205
Margaret Paterson: ph 364 3320
Ariana Tikao: ph 345 8821
Email: firstname.lastname@canterbury.ac.nz
Email the Education Library
Send Email
Subjects:
Education, Sport coaching
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait