Te Whakarārangi : Catalogue
Databases Multisearch
Search for journal articles in several databases at once by typing your keywords in the box below:
You can search individual Education databases. We have 3 lists:
Academic databases
New Zealand databases
School databases
He pukapuka hei awhina
Can schools save indigenous languages? - Nancy Hornberger
Call Number: P 53.464 .C212 2008
ISBN/ISSN: 0230013325
Request this book via the catalogue, just click on 'request first available copy'
Assignment 1 :
Here are some resources on possible topics:
KA HIKITIA: MĀORI EDUCATION STRATEGY
The introduction to Ka Hikitia says "The Treaty of Waitangi is central to, and symbolic of, our national heritage, identity, and future. Ka Hikitia – Managing for Success acknowledges the Treaty of Waitangi as a document that protects Māori learners’ rights to achieve true citizenship through gaining a range of vital skills and knowledge, as well as protecting te reo Māori as a taonga".
- The Ministry of Education has a webpage for Ka Hikitia.
- NZEI : Te Riu Roa has concerns about adequate funding to implement Ka Hikitia.
- The Education Gazette has run a series of articles on Ka Hikitia. Check them out from 21 April 2008, 28 July 2008 and a more recent one on 15 June 2009.
Almost all the newspaper comment has been on the badges used as part of the promotional package. If you're interested in that, search "Ka Hikitia" in the Databases Multisearch box on the left.
NCEA ACHIEVEMENT RATES FOR MĀORI AND ACCESS TO TERTIARY EDUCATION
In June, Dr Pita Sharples commented on the low NCEA achievement rates for Māori boys and suggested open access to University as a partial step to make up for this. Read a New Zealand Herald article on the topic or search under his name on Stuff to see some of the discussion.
Some government documents on the issue include:
- The Tertiary Education Commission's Maori Strategy
- Education Counts' document that looks at the link between NCEA results and Māori success at University
- the Ministry of Education's report on trends in Māori in Tertiary Education .
- Also check out Ngā Haeata Mātauranga, the Annual Reports on Māori Education from Education Counts. This covers ECE to tertiary.
MĀORI AND E-LEARNING
- The 2002 report of the E-Learning Advisory Group has a section on Māori and E-learning (there are copies of this in the Library if you'd rather read a paper copy).
- Ako Aotearoa's project Critical Success Factors for Effective Use of E-LEarning with Māori Learners has produced several useful-looking documents on the topic.
- Key elements for a Māori e-learning framework/ Sheryl Lee Ferguson. From MAI Review, 2008, 3
KOTAHI MANO KAIKA
- Kotahi Mano Kaika's webpage
- Te reo on the brink : an article from Te Karaka
- Harry Evison's book "The long dispute: Maori land rights and the European colonisation in southern New Zealand", particularly chapters 18-20, gives a clear summary of Ngāi Tahu's losses. This is at 993.702 EVI in the Education Library's Māori Collection.
- The History of te Reo Māori from Te Taura Whiri gives a concise history of te Reo Māori, it's repression and revitalisation.
- Māori Language Act 1987
- Struggles for the Māori language: he whawhai mo te Reo Māori / Joseph Selwyn Te Rito. From MAI Review
- Archives New Zealand has a brief history of Māori language in state education
TE AHO MATUA
- ERO's Good practice in Te Aho Matua Kura Kaupapa Māori report.
- Education Act 1989 sections 155 and 155A and 155B
Radio NZ interview with Pita Sharples
Education Library |
Information LibrariansCaroline Syddall: ph 343 7739
Kathryn Andrews: ph 345 8205
Margaret Paterson: ph 364 3320
Ariana Tikao: ph 345 8821
Email: firstname.lastname@canterbury.ac.nz
Email the Education Library
Send Email
Subjects:
Education, Sport coaching
Other topics? Let us know any other topics you're interested in researching
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait