BooksJournal ArticlesReference Resources
Citation StyleEndnote Wiki Writing Guides
Linguistcs Web SitesPhonetics web sites
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Subject Guides
Admin Sign In 

Linguistics  Tags: phonetics language ling  

Resources from Canterbury University library relating to the scientific study of language.
Last update: Sep 23rd, 2009 URL: http://canterbury.libguides.com/ling  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Linguistcs Web Sites            Print Page
  
 
 

Sites Selected by Library and Academic Staff

General

Cascadilla Proceedings
A
n imprint of Cascadilla Press. For proceedings of linguistics conferences and workshops.

British Dialects
Extracts taken from recordings made between 1950 and 1961, representing a survey of the vernacular speech of England.

The Domain of Linguistics
From the Linguistic Society of America. Short introductory essays each with suggestions for further reading.

IDEA (International Dialects of English Archive)
Recordings are downloadable and playable for both PC and Macintosh computers.

iLoveLanguages: Linguistics
An extensive catalogue of language-related internet resources. Gives access to over 2000 hand-reviewed links. You can search or browse by subject or category.

LingBuzz
LingBuzz is an openly accessible repository of scholarly papers, discussions and other documents for "generative" linguistics

Linguist List
The electronic network for professional linguists. Hosts searchable archives of many linguistics mailing lists. Monthly announcements of new books, with abstracts.

Ask a Linguist
A service provided by The Linguist List (above). Anyone interested in language or linguistics can ask a question and get the response of a panel of professional linguists. Browsable FAQs.

Lexicon of Linguistics -search for terms

Linguistics and Language Glossary -browse terms

Rutgers Optimality Archive

Sounds Familiar? Accents and Dialects of the United Kingdom
This British Library site captures and celebrates the diversity of spoken English in the second half of the 20th century.

Languages

Ethnologue - languages of the world
A catalogue of more than 6,700 languages spoken in 228 countries.

Your Dictionary.com
Well-maintained list of dictionaries, grammars, thesauri of all kinds. Includes endangered languages. See the Research section for articles reflecting current linguistic research and more specialised applications.

Linguistic Discovery
Free peer-reviewed online journal from Dartmouth College, UK. Dedicated to the description and analysis of primary linguistic data.

Omniglot: a guide to writing systems

ESOL web sites

Semantics

The Semantics Archive
For exchanging papers of interest to natural language semanticists
and philosophers of language.

New Zealand

The Linguistic Society of New Zealand

Applied Linguistics Association of New Zealand

New Zealand Dictionary Centre
Includes full-text of NZWords

Linguistic Departments and Associations

University Linguistics departments, programs and centers

Scholarly Societies Project: language and linguistics
Extensive list of scholarly groups and societies.

Institute of Linguists (UK)

SIL International

 

 
 
© University of Canterbury - Christchurch, New Zealand
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait