Endnote Wiki MLA Citation StyleWriting Guides
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Subject Guides

Music  Tags: music music_scores musi  

Resource guide for UC students and staff
Last update: Oct 11th, 2009 URL: http://canterbury.libguides.com/musi  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias             Print Page
  
 

Why Use Reference Sources?

Specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks are excellent sources for gathering background material. You can find information on composers, musical works, instruments, genres of music, and find definitions of musical terms.

Use them to

  • check out something your lecturer said
  • refine an essay topic
  • compile a list of search terms for further research

 

 
 

Music Reference Sources

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

The Reference Collection is on Level 2 of the Central Library. Music is in the section M - MT. Some titles are also avaiable online -see links below.

Oxford Reference Online

Performing Arts

General

The Harvard dictionary of music
Central Library Reference ML 100 .R1912 2003

The new Grove dictionary of music and musicians
Connect to electronic resource
Central Library Reference ML 100 .G883 2001

Oxford music online : the world's premier authority on all aspects of music
Connect to electronic resource

Classical

A dictionary of music titles : the origins of the names and titles of 3,500 musical compositions
Central Library Reference ML 102 .T58 .R777 2000

The encyclopedia of classical music
Education Library 780.3 ULT

The literature of chamber music
Central Library Reference ML 128 .C4 .C678 1997

Music titles in translation : a checklist of musical compositions
Central Library ML 111 .H691

Opera

The new Grove dictionary of opera
Connect to electronic resource
Central Library Reference ML 102 .O6 .N3

Opera : composers, works, performers
Central Library Reference ML 102 .O6 .O61 2000

Jazz & Blues

The big book of blues : a biographical encyclopedia
Central Library Reference ML 102 .B6 .S232 2001

The biographical encyclopedia of jazz
Central Library Reference ML 102 .J3 .F288 b 1999

The new Grove dictionary of jazz
Connect to electronic resource
Central Library Reference ML 102 .J3 .N532 2002

Popular Music

The encyclopedia of popular music
Central Library Reference ML 102 .P66 .E56 1998

MusicWeb encyclopedia of popular music
Connect to electronic resource

The Virgin illustrated encyclopedia of pop & rock.
Central Library Reference ML 102 .R6 .V817 2002

World Music and instruments

The Garland encyclopedia of world music
Central Library Reference ML 100 .G233

Musical instruments : history, technology, and performance of instruments of western music
Central Library Reference ML 460 .C189 2004

The Oxford companion to musical instruments
Central Library Reference ML 102 .I5 .B162

Music Analysis Guides

Music analyses : an annotated guide to the literature
Central Library Reference ML 128 .A7 .D537 1991

The musician's guide to theory and analysis
Central Library MT 6 .C627 .M9 2005

Music Bibliography

The Penguin guide to compact discs & DVDs
Central Library Reference ML 156.9 .M315 2003

Sourcebook for research in music
Central Library ML 113 .C883 2005

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageBronwyn Matthews
Contact Info:
03 3642987 ext 4945
Special Collections Reading Room
Send Email

 
© University of Canterbury - Christchurch, New Zealand
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait