Library Catalogue
This box is the quick version of the Library catalogue. For more search options, especially subject keyword searching, use the Library Catalogue full version
Miniature Scores
The miniature scores are shelved on Level 6 before the sequence of Music Scores at M begins.
They are arranged alphabetically by composer and then alphabetically by title within each composer group.
Borrowing Scores
Scores located on Level 6 may be borrowed for standard loan periods, just like books. Please make sure you return all the parts.
Digital Scores
The follwing sites offer free, printable scores
- Arcadia Early Music
Archive
- CCARH Publications: scores and parts
includes Bach, Handel, Mozart, Vivaldi. (pdfs)
- Chopin Early Editions
- Choral Public Domain
Library
- Harvard
College Library Digital Scores Collection
selected works of Bach family, Mozart, Verdi.
- IMSLP /Petrucci Music Library
Rapidly growing library of public domain scores. Over 200 composers. Browse or search.
- Variations Online
Musical Scores
from Indiana University School of Music. Numerous composers: includes orchestral, chamber, piano, song and opera repertoire.
- Beethoven-Haus
Bonn Digital Archives
Tips for finding music scores
Search by Composer
Select the Author begins with search, and begin typing the composers full name eg Bach, Johann Sebastian. Then you can browse easily by type of composition eg Concertos.
Search by type of composition
Select the Subject Keyword search, and type the plural form of the composition type (eg quintets) plus one of more instruments eg quintets oboe
Composer and title together
To find well-known pieces, use a simple Keyword search and type both the composer's name and the title eg 'beethoven moonlight sonata'.
Search non-English keywords
If you cannot find the score you want using English, try the language of the composer eg for Schumann, 'klavier konzert' instead of 'piano concerto'.
Guide to call numbers
Music Scores
The music scores are shelved on Level 6 according to this outline:
| M 1-2 | Collections |
| M 3 | Collected Works |
| M 5-1490 | Instrumental Music |
| M 6-19 | Organ |
| M 20-39 | Piano |
| M 40-59 | String Instruments |
| M 60-79 | Woodwind Instruments |
| M 80-109 | Brass Instruments |
| M 115-142 | Plectoral Instruments |
| M 177-990 | Music for 2 or more solo instruments |
| M 180-298 | Duets |
| M 300-386 | Trios |
| M 400-486 | Quartets |
| M 500-596 | Quintets |
| M 600-686 | Sextets |
| M 700-786 | Septets |
| M 800-886 | Octets |
| M 1000-1075 | Music for orchestra |
| M 1100-1160 | Music for string orchestra |
| M 1495-2199 | Vocal Music M 1497 - 1998 Secular vocal music |
| M 1500-1508 | Operas |
| M 1530-1609 | Choruses |
| M 1611-1626 | Songs (including lieder) |
| M 1627-1853 | National Music |
| M 1740 | England |
| M 1742 | Wales |
| M 1744 | Ireland |
| M 1746 | Scotland |
| M 1842-1843 | New Zealand |
| M 1999-2199 | Sacred vocal music |
| M 2000-2007 | Oratorios |
| M 2010-2017 | Services |
| M 2010-2014 | Masses |
| M 2016-2017 | Anglican |
| M 2020-2101 | Choruses, cantatas, partsongs etc. |
| M 2115-2146 | Hymnals |
| M 2147-2188 | Liturgy and ritual |
| M 2147-2154 | Roman Catholic |
| M 2167-2171 | Anglican Communion |
| M 2186-2188 | Jewish |
Collected Works
These are the multi-volume collected works of the major composers held by the Library.
The Table of Contents on the Library catalogue record summarises the works in each volume; Oxford Music Online under 'Works' of the particular composer gives the exact volume and page number location of every piece.
Other collections of scores
The UC Library has several Special Collections of music from which items can be copied, but not borrowed
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait