UC Digital Library
The Digital Library contains theses (pdf files) and archives. Search for 'Music' and select the Collection required.
Special Collections Reading Room
- Members of the Library can make an online request via the Library Catalogue
- Visitors wishing to use items from this collection should contact Bronwyn Matthews, Information Librarian (Special Collections), by email, or phone (03) 3642987 ext 4945.
- Items which may not be borrowed must be consulted in the Special Collections Reading Room on Level 3 of the Central Library.
Brian Douglas Collection
The Brian Douglas Collection contains many special and unique music scores. The following request procedures are designed to protect and care for these items.
Requesting Items from the Brian Douglas Collection
If you would like to view an item from the Brian Douglas Collection please contact the Music Information Librarian or place a request on the item through Library Catalogue.
- Items may not be borrowed
- Items will be held for 5 working days for you to view in the Special Collections Reading Room (Level 3 of the Central Library) before they are reshelved
- Any copying required will be done by staff, and copies will usually be available the same day. Copies can be picked up from the Copy Centre at a charge of 20c per page (A4 black & white).
- You can request a pdf version of shorter pieces.
19th Century Printed Music
This collection holds many examples of fine music printing in a variety of genres from the nineteenth century. Items are not available for loan, but copying is available.
Rare Books Collection: Music
Eighteenth-century printed music
The only known holdings of eighteenth-century printed music in Christchurch are held at the University of Canterbury Library.
The earliest work which contains examples using engraved lines of music is Grassineau's A Musical Dictionary (London : J. Wilcox, 1740).
Other volumes of pre-1801 engraved music at the University of Canterbury include:
The piano part only of three trios by Muzio Clementi, Op. XXI, Op. XXII (both 1788) and Op. XXXII (1793)
Two groups of sonatas with violin obligato by Valentino Nicolai, Op. VII
Three Sonatas and Three Duets for the Harpsichord or Piano Forte and Op. XI Six Sonatas for the Piano Forte or Harpsichord (both 179?)
One sonata by Johann Schobert, from Op. II Two Sonatas for Harpsichord or Piano Forte with an Accompaniment for Violin;
A piano vocal score of The Beggar's Opera for voice, harpsichord and violin (London: Harrison & Co. 1785?)
Grounds of Vocal Music by John Wesley (London: J. Mason , [n.d.]).
From the first two decades of the nineteenth century there are twenty volumes of sacred music and a similar number of volumes of piano music.
Also of interest is the three-volume set of Specimens of various styles of music referred to in a course of lectures ... by William Crotch, published in 1808 by Robert Birchall.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait