What are journals?
Journals are regular publications containing articles about research in a particular field. The articles have been reviewed by experts in that field to ensure that they are of high quality. Such journals are referred to as:
- peer-reviewed journals
- refereed journals
- research journals
- scholarly journals
Featured Journal
Journals
Linked list of all literature journals in the Library, print and electronic.
How can I search for journal articles?
If you know the journal title: first try a "journal title" search in the Library catalogue. You may get more than one result, depending on whether we have the print version, the online version, or both. Check what years/volumes we have:
- Print: see the details in red under "Library holds".
- Electronic: see the dates in the links under "Web access".
If you want to find articles on a specific topic, or by a specific author: you can search in one or more of the specialised databases to which we subscribe. See below...
Specialized Literature databases
- LION (Literature Online) A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 236 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference works.
- Literature Resource Center Comprises full-text journal articles from literary journals, critical essays, work overviews, plot summaries and explications.
Multidisciplinary databases
These databases cover many other subjects as well as literature and are useful for cross-disciplinary topics.
- JSTOR All the journals on JSTOR are searchable full-text. Does not contain articles from the last 3-4 years.
- Web of Science
The Arts and Humanities Citation Index is part of Web of Science. It is a good way to locate older articles, and discover who has cited key articles since they were written. - Index New Zealand Essential database for locating articles published in New Zealand. Indexes 'Landfall', other NZ literary journals and a large number of general magazines which may contain reviews.
- Proquest
General database with wide coverage including popular magazines as well as academic journlas. Useful for book reviews.
Keeping Up-to-Date
Here are some convenient ways of keeping up-to-date with journal articles being published on your subject:-
LION (LiteratureOnline) and Web of Science enable you to set up automatic search alerts. Save your search on the database and when new records matching your search are added they will be emailed to you.
For key journals, go to the publisher's web site and see whether there is an option set up a table-of-contents alert. If so, each time a new issue is published the table of contents will be emailed to you.
Please contact the English Literature Librarian if you would like help with creating effective search strategies.
Google Scholar
(search results open in a new window)
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait