Highly recommended Books
Suggestions for introductory reading
- Cambridge companions to Shakespeare (3 titles)
- An introduction to Shakespeare : the dramatist in his context / Peter Hyland.
- Shakespeare : the basics / Sean McEvoy.
Reference Sources
A dictionary of Shakespeare / Stanley Wells
Reference PR
2892 .W456 .D3 1998 and online: A
Dictionary of Shakespeare
The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare / Michael Dobson
Reference PR 2982 .O98 2001 and online:
The
Oxford Companion to Shakespeare
The Shakespeare name dictionary / J. Madison Davis
Reference PR 2892 .D262
Shakeseare's words: a glossary and language companion /
David Crystal (2002)
Reference PR 2892 .C957
A Dictionary of sexual language and imagery in Shakespearean and
Stuart literature / Gordon Williams
Reference PR 428 .S48 .W723
A dictionary of stage directions in English drama, 1580-1642
/ Allen C. Dessem.,
Explanations of stage
directions with examples, including many from Shakepeare's plays.
Oxford
Reference Online
Offers simultaneous searching of a number of
reference books, including :
A Dictionary of Shakespeare, Oxford Companion to
Shakespeare, Oxford Companion to English Literature and Oxford Companion to
British History.
All
Shakespeare dictionaries and encyclopedias in the Library
This
list includes both reference-only and borrowable books.
Encyclopedia
Britannica's Guide to Shakepeare
Includes plot summaries, theatre and
theatre companies, filmography, glossary and much useful background information.
Over 50 audio and video recording extracts.
Links
The Oxford Shakespeare
Complete
text of the 1914 Oxford edition of the Complete Works of William Shakespeare ed.
W. J Craig. Searchable, and includes line numbers.
Complete works of
William Shakespeare
Created by Created by Jeremy Hylton at MIT.
Luminariam : Renaissance 'Mr Shakespeare and the Internet' includes a timeline, some First Folio material, and some critical articles.
Shakespeare's Life and
Times
Well-organised site from The Internet Shakespeare Editions and the
University of Victoria, Canada.
Shakespeare and the
Globe: then and now
By Encyclopedia Britannica. Over 500 articles and
essays, illustrated with photographs, drawings, maps, and some video recordings.
The
Elizabethan Theatre
A lecture by Hilda D. Spear, with slides.
Illustrated
Shakespeare electronic facsimile collection
'This online collection of
12 works, originally published in venues as distant as Philadelphia and Leipzig,
includes images produced by an array of technologies available in the 19th and
early 20th century.'
The Illustrated
Shakespeare
A collection of paintings and photographs from various
periods illustrating Shakepeare's life and work.
Shakespeare's
Globe Theatre
Site of the Globe Theatre, London: some exhibition images
and the current performance programme.
Furness Image
Collection
University of Pennsylvania Library
"The Furness Image
Collection comprises more than 2,000 prints and photographs. The majority date
from the nineteenth century, but the Collection also holds earlier and later
images. These images illustrate and interpret Shakespeare's works and also
document theatrical performers and performances of Shakespeare and other
dramatists".
Come hither...
The Library has a large selection of printed and electronic works available for the study of Shakespeare. This page offers a variety of ways to search and browse. Please ask the English Literature Information Librarian if you would like assistance.
Best Database to start with
LION (Literature Online) contains the full-text of Shakespeare's play and poetry, and the works of contemporary authors. Search the Criticism section to find journal articles on any topic or work.
Subject Headings from the Catalogue
The following are links into the Library Catalogue using Subject Keywords.
Most of these can also be typed into the Catalogue as Subject Alphabetical Searches, which may give a more accurate result.
To find books about a particular play choose the Subject Keyword search and type: 'shakespeare' and the title of the play eg shakespeare hamlet
- Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Comedies
- shakespeare William, 1564-1616 -- Histories
- Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Tragedies.
- Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 --Technique
- Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Political and social views
- Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616-- Characters -- Women.
- Women -- England -- History -- 16th century.
- Women -- England -- History -- 17th century.
- Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Criticism and interpretation -- History -- 20th century.
Shakespeare on stage
- Shakespeare William, 1564-1616 -- Stage history
- Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Dramatic production.
- Globe Theatre (London)
Shakespeare's language:
- Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Language
- Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Style
- Shakespeare--Concordances
- Concordances - article from Oxford Reference Online
Shakepeare's sources:
Shakespeare on film
Shakespeare Journals
Browsers' Guide to Shakespeare in the Lbrary

PR |
Texts |
| 2752-54 | Collected works |
| 2761 | Comedies |
| 2762 | Histories |
| 2763 | Tragedies |
| 2841 | Poems |
| 2843 | Songs |
| 2848 | Sonnets |
| 2849 | Doubtful works |
| 2892 | Concordances, Dictionaries, Quotations |
Biography; The Globe; Sources |
|
| 2894 | Shakespeare's life |
| 2920 | The Globe theatre |
| 2937 | Authorship |
| 2953-55 | Shakespeare's sources |
| 2957-9 | Shakespeare's relationship to contemporaries |
Criticism |
|
| 2965-79 | History of Shakespearean criticism |
| 2981 | Comedies |
| 2982 | Histories |
| 2983 | Tragedies |
| 2989-92 | Characters |
| 2991 | Women |
| 2992 | Other types of character eg heroes |
| 2994 | Wit and humour |
| 2995-7 | Technique |
| 3000-3070 | eg staging, performance, narrative, plot. Shakespeare's treatment of particular subjects eg law, madness, music, death, love |
| 3071-3088 | Textual criticism |
| 3072 - 81 | Language, pronunciation |
| 3091 | Performance |
| 3093 | Shakespeare on film |
| 3100 | Stage history |
| 3109 | Shakespeare performance in countries other than England. |
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait