Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Subject Guides
Admin Sign In 

English Literature  Tags: english literature engl literary culture criticism american_literature new zealand_literature  

A guide for UC students and staff
Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://canterbury.libguides.com/engl  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Australian Literature             Print Page
  
 

Featured book

 

Best databases

Databases for finding journal articles on and reveiws of Australian literature:

MLA

Literature Resource Center

General Onefile

 

Bibliographies

Bibliographies list the all the known books, chapters in books and journal articles about a writer and his /her works. There are also bibliographies which cover particular topics. For multi-author bibliographies, use australian -- literature -- bibliography.

Bibliographies for individual authors also appear in Literature Resource Center
(UC login and password required)

 
 

Biographical Information

Books about an author

Use the author's name as a Subject Keyword search, eg

 

Reference sources

The Oxford companion to Australian literature / William H. Wilde, Joy Hooton, Barry Andrews. Melbourne : Oxford University Press, 1994.
Reference PR 9402 .W672 1994

The Oxford Literary history of Australia /ed. Bruce Bennett and Jennifer Strauss. Melbourne : Oxford University Press, 1998.
PR 9401 . O985
Places literary texts in the context of Australian history and culture. Five major parts are: to 1850, 1851-1914, 1914-1939, 1940-1965, and 1965 onwards. Includes a guide to reference material, chronology, and index.

Companion to theatre in Australia / ed. Philip Parsons. Sydney : Currency Press in association with Cambridge University Press, c1995.
Reference PN 3011 .C737

Oxford Reference Online
Offers simultaneous searching of a number of reference books, including:

Biographical and critical material on authors

These books give biographical information on the author, list all his/her works, provide excepts of criticism and suggest books for further study.

A reader's guide to Australian fiction: a bibliography 1963-1995 / Laurie Clancy.
Ref PR 9402 .C587
Article on each author descirbing and discussing his/her works. Date range is Henry Savery (b.1791) to Tim Winton (b.1960).

Literature Resource Center
Biographical information, bibliography and selected journal articles.
(UC login and password required)

 
 

Need help?

Please ask the English Literature Information Librarian if you would like help finding or using resources.

Journals in the Library

Read journal articles online via the Library

 

Journals on the web

Some electronic journals for Australian writing and performing arts:

 

DVDs and Videos

 

Links

Austlit
Resource for Australian Literature. Useful for identifying authors and titles.

Australian Literature on the Internet
Gateway site by the National Library of Australia

National Library of Australia

Australian Literary and Historical Texts
A collection of 300 texts provided by the University of Sydney Library. Search keyword, or browse alphabetically by author's name ,or by category.

 
© University of Canterbury - Christchurch, New Zealand
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait