Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Subject Guides
Admin Sign In 

English Literature  Tags: english literature engl literary culture criticism american_literature new zealand_literature  

A guide for UC students and staff
Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://canterbury.libguides.com/engl  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Cultural Studies             Print Page
  
 

Featured Book

 

Cultural Studies Books

Browse by call numbers

GV Recreation & Leisure (level 4)
706.5 Sport in Society
HM Sociology (Level 10)
500 - 511 Culture and society
621 - 623 Culture and theory, cultural studies
631-636 The body
646 Subcultures
661 - 691 Social control, ethics
831 - 886 Social change
1206 Media and society, mass communication
HQ Social relationships (Level 10)
12 - 472 Sexuality
503 - 1064 Family life, marriage
1088 - 2080 Gender and women's studies
HT Community (Level 10)
119 Urban life, cities
P Language, media (Level 4)
87 Communications
96 Media, audiences
PN Comparative literature, theatre, film (Level 4)
851-884 Comparative literature
905-1008 Folk literature
1560-1590 Performing arts, show business
1993-1999 Film. Cinema
2000- 3307 Theatre
3311 -3503 Prose
3427-3448 Fiction genres
6700-6790 Comic books
PR - PS Literature (Level 3)
see PR English Literature
see PS American Literature
 
 

General Books on Cultural Studies

Browse the shelves as indicated in the call number guide (see left) or browse the Library catalogue online

 

Reference Books: General and Popular

The Blackwell dictionary of twentieth-century social thought
Central Library H 41 .B632 1993

Cassell's queer companion : a dictionary of lesbian and gay life and culture
Central Library Reference HQ 76.25 .S852

Encyclopedia of European social history : from 1350 to 2000
Full text available from History Resource Center
Central Library Reference HN 373 .E56 2001

Encyclopedia of world cultures
Central Library Reference GN 307 .E56

The nonverbal dictionary of gestures, signs & body language cues : from Adam's-apple-jump to zygomatic smile
Connect to electronic resource

Oxford illustrated encyclopedia of peoples and cultures
Central Library Reference GN 11 .O98 1992

Post-colonial studies : the essential glossary
Central Library Reference JV 22 .T433 2003

St. James encyclopedia of popular culture
Central Library Reference E 169.1 .S143 2000

 

Cultural Theory

The A-Z guide to modern literary & cultural theorists
Central Library Reference PN 74 .A111

A dictionary of cultural and critical theory
Central Library Reference HM 621 .D554 1996

Dictionary of cultural theorists
Central Library Reference HM 621 .D5545 1999

Encyclopedia of postmodernism
Central Library Reference B 831.2 .E56 2001

A glossary of cultural theory
Central Library Reference HM 621 .B8723 2002

The Icon critical dictionary of postmodern thought
Central Library B 831.2 .I17

 

Literary Theory

The Bedford glossary of critical and literary terms
Central Library Reference PN 44.5 .M975 1997

Encyclopedia of contemporary literary theory : approaches, scholars, terms
Central Library Reference PN 81 .E558

Encyclopedia of post-colonial literatures in English
Central Library Reference PR 9080 .A52 .E56 2005

A glossary of contemporary literary theory
Central Library Reference PN 44.5 .H399 2000

The Johns Hopkins guide to literary theory and criticism
Central Library Reference PN 81 .J65

 

Media: Film and Television

Critical dictionary of film and television theory
Central Library Reference PN 1993.45 .C934 2001

Encyclopedia of television
Central Library PN 1992.18 .E56

 

Music

The Guinness encyclopedia of popular music
Central Library ML 102 .P66 .G964 1995

MusicWeb encyclopedia of popular music
Connect to electronic resource

 
 

Need help?

Please ask the English Literature Information Librarian if you would like help finding or using resources.

Recommended Databases

 

E-journals (free access)

Arts & Letters Daily
"Philosophy, aesthetics, literature, language, ideas, criticism, culture, history, music, arts, trends, breakthroughs, disputes, gossip."

Culture Machine
International e-journal in cultural theory. Thematic issues.

Journal of Mundane Behavior
Hosted by the Department of Sociology and the College of Humanities and Social Sciences at California State University, Fullerton, is a peer-reviewed journal that is devoted to the study of the "unmarked" -- 'those aspects of our everyday lives that typically go unnoticed by us, both as academics and as everyday individuals'.

Life Magazine 1935-1970
Browse, search and view photos of people and events in the magazine that was the photographic chronicle of the 20th Century

M/C Media and Culture

Pop Matters

 

Links

Popular Culture: Resources for Critical Analysis
American popular culture in various forms: film, music, sports, comics, fashion, television, advertising, cyberculture. Lists resources by theme: race, class, gender, imperialism, sexuality, censorship. See also Key Sites, Journals, and Bibliography.

Cultural Studies and Critical theory
Online articles and websites 'from the fields of anthropology, sociology, gender studies, feminism, literary criticism, history and psychoanalysis in order to discuss contemporary texts and cultural practices'.

Cognitive Cultural Studies

Voice of the Shuttle: Postmodernism
General resources; links for individual post-modernists

Situation Analysis
Supported by the Postgraduate School of Critical Theory and Cultural Studies, University of Nottingham.

Spark online

 
© University of Canterbury - Christchurch, New Zealand
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait