Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Subject Guides
Admin Sign In 

English Literature  Tags: english literature engl literary culture criticism american_literature new zealand_literature  

A guide for UC students and staff
Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://canterbury.libguides.com/engl  Print Guide  RSS Updates

American literature             Print Page
  
 

Featured book

 

Reference Sources in Print

American short-story writers since World War II
Central Library Reference PS 374 .S5 .A512

Contemporary women poets
Central Library Reference PS 21 .C7618

Encyclopedia of American literature
Central Library Reference PS 21 .E56

Encyclopedia of American poetry. The nineteenth century
Central Library Reference PS 316 .E56

Encyclopedia of frontier literature
Central Library Reference PS 169 .F7 .S673 1999

The Greenwood encyclopedia of African American literature
Central Library Reference PS 153 .N5 .G816 2005

The Oxford companion to African American literature
Central Library Reference PS 153 .N5 .O98

The Oxford companion to women's writing in the United States
Central Library Reference PS 147 .O98

 

Bibliographies

A Bibliography lists all the known books, book chapters and journal articles about a writer and his/her works.

Use a Subject Keyword in the Library Catalogue search to find bibliographies of major authors:

[name of author] bibliography  
eg F.Scott Fitzgerald bibliography

 
 

Books about an Author

To find books about an author and his/her work, use the author's name as a Subject Keyword search in the Library Catalogue, eg

Literary criticism: journal articles

Use these databases to locate journal articles on your topic

Journals

Over 50 American Literature journals are available to read online...

New Journal Issues

Read the latest articles in these journals

 

Newspapers

A Search the New York Times 1851-2003 online for book and poetry reviews

Links

 
 

Need help?

Please ask the English Literature Information Librarian if you would like help finding or using resources. Send Email

Quick link to ENGL 109

Guide to Call numbers at PS: American Literature

PS
Level 3
1 Journals
126-138 Biography, memoirs
147-152 Women authors
185-228 By period
185-195 17th-18th centuries
201-217 19th century
221-228 20th century
241-286 Particular regions, states
301-325 Poetry
330-352 Drama
360-379 Prose
400-408 Oratory
410-418 Letters
420-428 Essays
430-438 Wit and humour, satire
490 Children's literature
501-688 Collections of American literature
530-536 By period
537-574 By region
580-619 Poetry
593 by Form
601-615 by Period
623-635 Drama
642-659 Prose
651-659 by Period
660-668 Oratory
669 Diaries
670-678 Letters
680-688 Essays
700-3576 Individual authors
700-893 Colonial period
991-3390 19th century
3500-3549 1900-1960
3550-3576 1961-1999
3603- 2000-
8001-8599 Canadian Literature
      
     
    © University of Canterbury - Christchurch, New Zealand
     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait