Citation StyleEndnote WikiThesis guideWriting GuidesCopyright
Spanish booksFilm/cinemaHistory & philosophyLiteratureMusic & arteBooksRecently-received titles
This is the "Home" page of the "Spanish" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Subject Guides
Created for the students and staff of Spanish
Last Updated: Apr 12, 2015 URL: http://canterbury.libguides.com/span Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Guide overview

This guide is a pathfinder to Spanish and Latin American resources at UC. To navigate, use the tabs above. Scroll down to browse new titles.

Quick links:

      

    Recommended databases

    These indexing databases are recommended for this subject - see also: Databases for Spanish.

    Spacer
     

    Bulletin of Spanish Studies

    Current issue contents:

    Loading Loading...
    blank padding
     

    Featured title

    Cover Art
    Roberto Bolaño's fiction : an expanding universe - Chris Andrews
    Call Number: PQ 8098.12 .O38 .Z55 2014
    Publication Date: Columbia University Press, [2014]
    Since the publication of The Savage Detectives in 2007, the work of Roberto Bolaño (1953-2003) has achieved an acclaim rarely enjoyed by literature in translation. Chris Andrews, a leading translator of Bolaño's work into English, explores the singular achievements of the author's oeuvre, engaging with its distinct style and key thematic concerns, incorporating his novels and stories into the larger history of Latin American and global literary fiction.

    Andrews provides new readings and interpretations of Bolaño's novels, including 2666, The Savage Detectives, and By Night in Chile, while at the same time examining the ideas and narrative strategies that unify his work. He begins with a consideration of the reception of Bolaño's fiction in English translation, examining the reasons behind its popularity. Subsequent chapters explore aspects of Bolaño's fictional universe and the political, ethical, and aesthetic values that shape it. Bolaño emerges as the inventor of a prodigiously effective "fiction-making system," a subtle handler of suspense, a chronicler of aimlessness, a celebrator of courage, an anatomist of evil, and a proponent of youthful openness. Written in a clear and engaging style, Roberto Bolano's Fiction offers an invaluable understanding of one of the most important authors of the last thirty years.

    Spanish translations of popular English titles

    These titles are classified with the original language of publication (i.e., not Spanish).

    Liaison Librarian

    Profile Image
    Max Podstolski
    Contact Info
    Library Research & Information Services, Central Library, Level 5 ext. 8750
    Normal hours: 8am-4pm Mon-Thurs, 8am-11.45am Fri.
    Send Email
     

    Bibliography of Hispanic literature at UC

    This bibliography lists Spanish and Latin American literature books (print and online) available at the University of Canterbury Library. They are listed following the Library of Congress (LC) classification scheme for Hispanic literature - PQ 6001-8897. Primary and secondary works are treated in the same way.

    The bibliography functions as a browse tool only, with geographical and chronological subject divisions. To search by author, work, subject, etc., use the Library catalogue or Multisearch.

    The bibliography may be used to browse Hispanic authors and their works in the UC Library by nationality and period. The links allow browsing from an individual country, eg., Mexico, to a literary author of that country, eg. Carlos Fuentes, to the catalogue records for the author's books held, eg. La cabeza de la hidra.

    Print books at other LC classifications apart from PQ 6001-8897 are not included in the bibliography. However greater leeway is accorded ebooks - eg., Luis Buñuel : the red years, 1929-1939 is included though mainly about Buñuel's filmmaking.

    NB: The PDF file is large so it might take a few minutes to download.

    © University of Canterbury - Christchurch, New Zealand
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip