BooksImagesJournal ArticlesNewspapersVideos/DVDsWebsites
All about EndnoteCitation StyleWriting Guides
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Subject Guides
Admin Sign In 

New Zealand History  Tags: new_zealand_history new_zealand hist archives history  

Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://canterbury.libguides.com/nzhist  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Biographical Information             Print Page
  
 

Biographical Dictionaries

Cyclopedia of New Zealand

The Cyclopedia of New Zealand was published in six volumes between 1897 and 1908 by the Cyclopedia Company Ltd. Each volume covers a particular region, and features biographical entries, and information on busineses, clubs, societies and other organisations. Members of the public paid to be included in the Cyclopedia, so the entries are somewhat biased. Also those who could not, or would not, pay to be included are absent. There is very little information on Maori, women, or non-European settlers.

Dictionary of New Zealand Biography

This site includes the collected biographies originally published in the printed Dictionary of New Zealand Biography series between 1990 and 2000, and in the parallel Maori-language series, Nga Tangata Taumata Rau.The dictionary does not feature people who are alive.

Honoured by the Queen: New Zealand Recipients of Honours, 1953–1993

A biographical dictionary of people who have been honoured in some way by Queen Elizabeth II.

The New Zealand roll of honour : New Zealanders who have served their country in peace and war, 150 years, 1845 - 1995

Includes biographical information on Governors and Governors-General, Premiers and Prime Ministers, Officers of Parliament,  and those who have received New Zealand decorations and medals.

Southern People - A Dictionary of Otago-Southland Biography

Southern People collects together stories of the multitude of over 3000 interesting people who have lived in Otago and Southland.

Who's Who in New Zealand

 

 

 

Biographical Indexes

Index to the G.R. Macdonald dictionary of Canterbury biographies. The G.R. Macdonald dictionary of Canterbury biographies omnibus cards

An index to the manuscript card compilation held at the Canterbury Museum. The cards feature short biographies of over 12 000 early Canterbury settlers.

New Zealand biographical clippings, 1890-1988

The microfiche edition of more than 230 volumes of clippings compiled between the early 1920s and 1990 and held in the Alexander Turnbull Library. All articles are indexed into the Alexander Turnbull Library biographies index.

Witnesses who gave evidence to commissions and committees 1858-1935 : an index : reported in the Appendices to the Journals of the House of Representatives (AJHR)

Petitions to Parliament, 1854-1975 : an index

Compiled from New Zealand's parliamentary journals, this index focuses on petitions of a personal nature, and is not completely comprehensive.

 

Other Sources

Burke's Manuscript

A digitised copy of the manuscript held at Christchurch City Libraries. A lively account of Christchurch events and personalities during the 1850s and 1860s.

Local History Resources

An annotated bibliography of published sources on the history of Christchurch and Banks Peninsula. The bibliography includes many personal names.

 

Archives and Manuscripts

Archives held in Macmillan Brown Library

National Register of Archives and Manuscripts

A searchable register of archives held in museums, local government bodies, clubs, associations and libraries throughout New Zealand.

Archway

Search Archives New Zealand's holdings.

Tapuhi

A catalogue of unpublished material held in the Alexander Turnbull Library.

 

Information Librarian

Profile ImageErin Kimber
Contact Info:
Macmillan Brown Library
Te Puna Rakahau o Macmillan Brown
Ext 8176
Send Email

Subjects:
History, New Zealand History

 
© University of Canterbury - Christchurch, New Zealand
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait