DVDs/VideosTheses
Endnote Wiki MLA Referencing Thesis guide Writing Guides
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Subject Guides
Admin Sign In 

Philosophy  Tags: phil ethics aesthetics logic epistemology metaphysics  

Created for the students and staff of Philosophy
Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://canterbury.libguides.com/phil  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference             Print Page
  
 

Philosophy companions

Below are some of the Library's many philosophy 'companions': reference works which give excellent introductions or overviews to a philosopher or branch of philosophy, and which typically include specially commissioned essays by renowned scholars in the field. They are mainly borrowable, and shelved on Level 9 or at classifications on other levels.

  • The Cambridge companion to Greek and Roman philosophy
    Call Number: B 111 .C178 2003
    ISBN/ISSN: 0521772850
    This wide-ranging introduction to the study of philosophy in the ancient world surveys the period's developments and evaluates a comprehensive series of major thinkers, ranging from Pythagoras to Epicurus. Tables, illustrations, and extensive advice on further reading contribute to an ideal book for survey courses on the history of ancient philosophy.
  • A companion to Socrates
    Call Number: B 317 .C737 2006
    ISBN/ISSN: 1405192607
    "This is a stimulating collection that succeeds admirably in conveying the enormous range of responses that the ever puzzling Socrates has inspired through the ages, and continues to inspire. The essays on Plato's Socrates are fresh and vigorous, and the attention paid to later perspectives (from antiquity to the present, and especially recent centuries) helps make this volume a distinctive and unusually illuminating addition to Socratic studies. It should be a welcome companion to a figure who attracted devoted companions in his lifetime, and legions more ever since." Stephen White
  • A companion to Aristotle
    Call Number: B 485 .C737 2009
    ISBN/ISSN: 1405122234
    "This is a superb collection of state of the art essays by many of the leading ancient philosophers working today. Its high quality and impressive comprehensiveness make it an invaluable resource for specialists and non-specialists alike." Chris Bobonich
  • The Cambridge companion to medieval philosophy
    Call Number: B 721 .C1781 2003
    ISBN/ISSN: 0521806038
    Spanning a millennium of thought extending from Augustine to Thomas Aquinas and beyond, this volume takes its readers into one of the most exciting periods in the history of philosophy. It includes not only the thinkers of the Latin West but also the profound contributions of Islamic and Jewish philosophers such as Avicenna and Maimonides. Leading specialists examine what it was like to study philosophy in the cultures and institutions of the Middle Ages. Supplementary material includes chronological charts and biographies of the major thinkers.
  • The Cambridge companion to Abelard
    Call Number: B 765 .A24 .C178 2004
    ISBN/ISSN: 0521775965
    Although best known for his views about universals and his dramatic love affair with Heloise, Peter Abelard (1079-1142) also made important contributions in metaphysics, logic, philosophy of language, mind and cognition, philosophical theology, ethics, and literature. The essays in this volume survey the complete range of Abelard's thought by examining his overall achievement in its intellectual and historical context. They also trace Abelard's influence on later thought and his relevance to contemporary philosophical debate.
  • The Cambridge companion to Renaissance philosophy
    Call Number: B 775 .C1782 2007
    ISBN/ISSN: 0521608937
    An introduction to a complex period of change in the subject matter and practice of philosophy. The philosophy of the fourteenth through sixteenth centuries is often seen as transitional between the scholastic philosophy of the Middle Ages and modern philosophy, but the essays collected here, by a distinguished international team of contributors, call these assumptions into question, emphasizing both the continuity with scholastic philosophy and the role of Renaissance philosophy in the emergence of modernity. They explore the ways in which the science, religion and politics of the period reflect and are reflected in its philosophical life, and they emphasize the dynamism and pluralism of a period which saw both new perspectives and enduring contributions to the history of philosophy.
  • A companion to early modern philosophy
    Call Number: B 801 .C737 2002
    ISBN/ISSN: 0521822424
    A comprehensive introduction to the central topics and changing shape of philosophical inquiry in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. It explores one of the most innovative periods in the history of Western philosophy, extending from Montaigne, Bacon and Descartes through Hume and Kant. During this period, philosophers initiated and responded to major intellectual developments in natural science, religion, and politics, transforming in the process concepts and doctrines inherited from ancient and medieval philosophy. In this Companion, leading specialists examine early modern treatments of the methodological and conceptual foundations of natural science, metaphysics, philosophy of mind, logic and language, moral and political philosophy, and theology. A final chapter looks forward to the philosophy of the Enlightenment.
  • A companion to Descartes
    Call Number: B 1873 .C737 2008
    ISBN/ISSN: 1405121548
    A collection of more than 30 newly commissioned essays, this volume surveys the work of the 17th-century philosopher-scientist commonly regarded as the founder of modern philosophy, while integrating unique essays detailing the context and impact of his work.
  • The Cambridge companion to the Scottish Enlightenment
    Call Number: B 1402 .E55 .C178 2003
    ISBN/ISSN: 0521003237
    A distinguished team of contributors examines the writings of David Hume, Adam Smith, Thomas Reid, Adam Ferguson, Colin Maclaurin and other Scottish thinkers, in philosophy, natural theology, economics, anthropology, natural science and law. The contributors also relate the Scottish Enlightenment to its historical context and assess its impact and legacy in Europe, America and beyond. The volume is of interest to a wide range of readers in philosophy, theology, literature and the history of ideas.
  • The Cambridge companion to Hume
    Call Number: B 1498 .C178 2009
    ISBN/ISSN: 0521859867
    David Hume's mother reportedly lamented, "Our Davie is a fine good-natured critter, but uncommon weak-minded." Perhaps she would have been comforted to know that today her son is widely considered to be the most important philosopher ever to have written in the English language. The Companion's 11 essays take the reader from Hume's precocious Treatise of Human Nature--published in 1739, when he was only 28--to the posthumously published Dialogues Concerning Natural Religion, and cover not only the subjects central to Hume's philosophy but also his views on politics, economics, literary and aesthetic theory, and even history. As David Wootton's essay observes, the British Library catalog identifies Hume as "the historian"--"to the puzzlement," Wootton quips, "of generations of philosophers."
  • The Cambridge companion to Kant and modern philosophy
    Call Number: B 2798 .C178 c 2006
    ISBN/ISSN: 052182303X
    The philosophy of Immanuel Kant is the watershed of modern thought, which irrevocably changed the landscape of the field and prepared the way for all the significant philosophical movements of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. This volume, which complements The Cambridge Companion to Kant, covers every aspect of Kant's philosophy, with a particular focus on his moral and political philosophy. It also provides detailed coverage of Kant's historical context and of the enormous impact and influence that his work has had on the subsequent history of philosophy. The bibliography also offers extensive and organized coverage of both classical and recent books on Kant. This volume thus provides the broadest and deepest introduction currently available on Kant and his place in modern philosophy, making accessible the philosophical enterprise of Kant to those coming to his work for the first time.
  • A companion to Nietzsche
    Call Number: B 3317 .C737 2006
    ISBN/ISSN: 1405116226
    The volume opens with an introduction to Nietzsche’s life and thought and an essay on his art of the aphorism. This is followed by major sections on Art, Nature, and Individuation; Nietzsche's Philosophy of the Future; Philosophy of Mind; Philosophy and Genealogy; Ethics; Politics; Aesthetics; and Evolution and Life. In addition, there are fresh treatments of Nietzsche’s core and enigmatic doctrines such as eternal recurrence, the will to power, and the overhuman. The volume profiles the latest research into Nietzsche’s texts (published and unpublished) and reflects trends in recent scholarship, such as the renewed focus on Nietzsche’s naturalism and interest in his philosophy of time, of nature, and of life.
  • The Routledge companion to twentieth century philosophy
    Call Number: B 804 .R869 2008
    ISBN/ISSN: 0415299365
    "It is hard to imagine a more useful, comprehensive or distinguished collection of essays on Western philosophy in the twentieth century. For anyone looking for an authoritative overview of the current state of the subject and its recent history this is where to find it." - Quassim Cassam
  • A companion to Heidegger
    Call Number: B 3279 .H49 .C737 2005
    ISBN/ISSN: 1405163666
    A complete guide to the work and thought of Martin Heidegger, one of the most influential philosophers of the twentieth century - considers the most important elements of Heidegger’s intellectual biography, including his notorious involvement with National Socialism; provides a systematic and comprehensive exploration of Heidegger’s work; is one of the few books on Heidegger to cover his later work as well as Being and Time; and includes key critical responses to Heidegger’s philosophy.
  • The Cambridge companion to Bertrand Russell
    Call Number: B 1649 .R9 .C178 2003
    ISBN/ISSN: 0521636345
    Bertrand Russell ranks as one of the giants of 20th century philosophy. This Companion focuses on Russell's contributions to modern philosophy and, therefore, concentrates on the early part of his career. Through his books, journalism, correspondence and political activity he exerted a profound influence on modern thought. New readers will find this the most convenient and accessible guide to Russell available.
  • The Cambridge companion to Sartre
    Call Number: B 2430 .S2 .C178
    ISBN/ISSN: 0521388120
    This is one of the most comprehensive and up-to-date surveys of the philosophy of Sartre, by some of the foremost interpreters in the United States and Europe. The essays are both expository and original, and cover Sartre's writings on ontology, phenomenology, psychology, ethics, and aesthetics, as well as his work on history, commitment, and progress; a final section considers Sartre's relationship to structuralism and deconstruction. Providing a balanced view of Sartre's philosophy and situating it in relation to contemporary trends in Continental philosophy, the volume shows that many of the topics associated with Lacan, Foucault, Lévi-Strauss, and Derrida are to be found in the work of Sartre, in some cases as early as 1936. A special feature of the volume is the treatment of the recently published and hitherto little studied posthumous works.
  • The Cambridge companion to Wittgenstein
    Call Number: B 3376 .W5 .C178
    ISBN/ISSN: 0521465915
    Visiting his student Ludwig Wittgenstein one night only to find him in the throes of despair, Bertrand Russell facetiously asked whether it was logic or his sins that was troubling him. "Both," Wittgenstein gravely replied. Is it any wonder that Wittgenstein the man, as well as his elusive but profound philosophical work, continue to fascinate? "Any attempt at a definitive exposition of his ideas would be doomed to failure," according to editor Hans Sluga; therefore, the Cambridge Companion to Wittgenstein is intended mainly "to alert readers to some of the most important and most interesting issues raised in Wittgenstein's philosophical writings." For the most part, the 14 essays succeed.
  • The Routledge companion to postmodernism. 2nd ed.
    Call Number: B 831.2 .R869 2005
    ISBN/ISSN: 0415333598
    What does "postmodernism" mean? Why is it so important? Now in its second edition, The Routledge Companion to Postmodernism combines a series of in-depth background chapters with a body of A-Z entries to create an authoritative, yet readable guide to the complex world of postmodernism. Following full-length articles on postmodernism and philosophy, politics, feminism, religion, post-colonialis, lifestyles television, and other postmodern essentials, readers will find a wide range of alphabetically-organized entries on the people, terms and theories connected with postmodernism, including: Peter Ackroyd; Jean Baudrillard; Chaos Theory; Death of the Author; Desire; Fractals; Michel Foucault; Frankfurt School; Generation X; Minimalism; Poststructuralism; Retro; Gayatri Chakravorty Spivak ; and Trans-avant-garde.
  • A companion to phenomenology and existentialism
    Call Number: B 829.5 .C737 2006
    ISBN/ISSN: 1405191139
    A complete guide to two of the dominant movements of philosophy in the twentieth century. Comprising a series of original essays written by leading scholars, it highlights the approaches, styles, and problems common to the broad range of philosophers included under the banners of phenomenology and existentialism. The volume features three types of entry: longer essays discussing each of the main schools of thought; shorter essays introducing prominent themes and concepts, such as temporality, death, and nihilism; and problem-oriented chapters discussing important phenomenological and existential approaches to the central questions that have preoccupied each of these traditions. The essays cover both mainstream and less usual topics, such as medicine, the emotions, artificial intelligence, and environmental philosophy.
  • A companion to rationalism
    Call Number: B 833 .C737 2005
    ISBN/ISSN: 1405109092
    A wide-ranging examination of rationalist thought in philosophy from ancient times to the present day - written by a superbly qualified cast of philosophers; critically analyses the concept of rationalism; focuses principally on the golden age of rationalism in the seventeenth and early eighteenth centuries; also covers ancient rationalism, nineteenth-century rationalism, and rationalist themes in recent thought.
  • A companion to epistemology
    Call Number: BD 161 .C737 1992
    ISBN/ISSN: 0631192581
    Epistemology - the theory of knowledge and of justified belief - has always been of central importance in philosophy. Progress in other areas of philosophical research has often depended crucially on epistemological presuppositions. This Companion, with well over 250 articles ranging from summary discussions to major essays on topics of current controversy, is the first complete reference work devoted to the subject. All the main theoretical positions in epistemology are discussed and analysed, together with the different categories of knowledge itself - scientific, historical, mathematical, a priori, moral, and so on - and the special problems associated with these. There are also many entries covering individual concepts, arguments and problems, short definitions of technical terms, and biographical articles.
  • A Companion to ethics
    Call Number: BJ 1012 .C737
    ISBN/ISSN: 0631187855
    In this volume, some of today's most distinguished philosophers survey the whole field of ethics, from its origins, through the great ethical traditions, to theories of how we ought to live, arguments about specific ethical issues, and the nature of ethics itself. The book can be read straight through from beginning to end; yet the inclusion of a multi-layered index, coupled with a descriptive outline of contents and bibliographies of relevant literature, means that the volume also serves as a work of reference, both for those coming afresh to the study of ethics and for readers already familiar with the subject.
  • A companion to applied ethics
    Call Number: BJ 1031 .C737 2003
    ISBN/ISSN: 1405133457
    Applied or practical ethics is perhaps the largest growth area in philosophy today, and many issues in moral, social, and political life have come under philosophical scrutiny in recent years. Taken together, the essays in this volume – including two overview essays on theories of ethics and the nature of applied ethics – provide a state-of-the-art account of the most pressing moral questions facing us today.
  • A companion to genethics
    Call Number: QH 438.7 .C737 2002
    ISBN/ISSN: 1405120282
    The completion of the human genome project in 2000 dramatically emphasized the imminent success of the genetic revolution. The ethical and social consequences of this scientific development are immense. From human reproduction to life-extending therapies, from the impact on gender and race to public health and public safety, there is scarcely a part of our lives left unaffected by the impact of the new genetics. A Companion to Genethics is the first substantial study of the multifaceted dimensions of the genetic revolution and its philosophical, ethical, social, and political significance. It brings together the best and most influential contemporary writing about genethics. Newly commissioned essays from prominent figures in the current debate provide a wide-ranging and fascinating scholarly analysis of all the issues that arise from this explosive science.
  • The Cambridge companion to feminism in philosophy
    Call Number: HQ 1154 .C178 2000
    ISBN/ISSN: 0521624517
    The thirteen specially-commissioned essays in this volume are designed to provide an accessible and stimulating guide through an area of philosophical thought and literature that has seen massive expansion in recent years. They encompass all the core subject areas commonly taught in anglophone undergraduate and graduate philosophy courses, offering both an overview of and a contribution to the relevant debates. This volume will be essential reading for any student or teacher of philosophy who is curious about the place of feminism in their subject.
  • A companion to metaphysics. 2nd ed.
    Call Number: BD 111 .C737 2009
    ISBN/ISSN: 1405152982
    "The Companion has a number of virtues that make it a useful resource for both students and professional philosophers. I must single out those {entries} on the continental philosophers and concepts as especially clearly written, non-jargony introductions. Many of the entries provided charming little arguments, or twists, on behalf of the author's already known positions. Indeed, this feature of the 'Companion' makes it of value even to the most advanced philosopher, already quite familiar with the topic." Alan Sidelle
  • A companion to the philosophy of language
    Call Number: P 106 .C737
    ISBN/ISSN: 0631167579
    Written by an international assembly of leading philosophers, this volume provides a survey of contemporary philosophy of language. As well as providing a synoptic view of the key issues, figures, concepts and debates, each essay makes new and original contributions to ongoing debate. Topics covered include: rule following, modality, realism, indeterminacy of translation, inscrutability of reference, names and rigid destination, Davidson's program, meaning and verification, intention and convention, radical interpretation, tacit knowledge, metaphor, causal theories of semantics, objects and criteria of identity, theories of truth, force and pragmatics, essentialism, demonstratives, reference and necessity, identity, meaning and privacy of language, vagueness and the sorites paradox, holisms, propositional attitudes, analyticity.
  • The Routledge companion to philosophy of psychology
    Call Number: BF 38 .R869 2009
    ISBN/ISSN: 0415396328
    Organised into six clear parts:
    I. Historical background to the philosophy of psychology;
    II. Psychological explanation;
    III. Cognition and representation;
    IV. The biological basis of psychology;
    V. Perceptual experience;
    VI. Personhood,
    it covers key topics such as the origins of experimental psychology; folk psychology; behaviorism and functionalism; philosophy, psychology and neuroscience; the language of thought, modularity, nativism and representational theories of mind; consciousness and the senses; personal identity; the philosophy of psychopathology and dreams, emotion and temporality.

 

Reference Resources for Philosophy

Go straight to the Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online or Oxford Reference Online

 

Subject categories

 

Why use Reference sources?

The encyclopedias, dictionaries, companions and handbooks listed (amongst others) are good sources for background material on philosophy. Use the categories above to navigate the list, and click any title to check its location.

Use reference resources to:

  • check out something your lecturer said
  • refine an essay topic
  • compile a list of search terms for further research, etc.

 

 

Philosophy companions

  • A companion to analytic philosophy
    Call Number: B 808.5 .C737 2001
    ISBN/ISSN: 1405133465
    A comprehensive guide to many significant analytic philosophers and concepts of the last hundred years. It offers clear and extensive analysis of profound concepts such as truth, goodness, knowledge, and beauty, and is written by some of the most distinguished philosophers alive, some of whom have entries in the book devoted to them.
  • The Cambridge companion to logical empiricism
    Call Number: B 824.6 .C178 2007
    ISBN/ISSN: 0521796288
    If there is a movement or school that epitomizes analytic philosophy in the middle of the twentieth century, it is logical empiricism. Logical empiricists created a scientifically and technically informed philosophy of science, established mathematical logic as a topic in and tool for philosophy, and initiated the project of formal semantics. Accounts of analytic philosophy written in the middle of the twentieth century gave logical empiricism a central place in the project. The second wave of interpretative accounts was constructed to show how philosophy should progress, or had progressed, beyond logical empiricism. The essays survey the formative stages of logical empiricism in central Europe and its acculturation in North America, discussing its main topics, and achievements and failures, in different areas of philosophy of science, and assessing its influence on philosophy, past, present, and future.
  • A companion to philosophical logic
    Call Number: BC 71 .C737 2002
    ISBN/ISSN: 1405145757
    "Here is a first–class collection of articles by a first–class collection of authors. It covers the full range of philosophical logic from its history through its philosophy to its applications, with a lot of good, solid logic all along the way. Of particular value is the way it presents multiple voices on common topics. This is the way philosophy should be done." Lou Goble
  • A companion to Greek and Roman political thought
    Call Number: E-book
    ISBN/ISSN: 1405151439
    Justice, virtue, and citizenship were at the center of political life in ancient Greece and Rome and were frequently discussed by classical poets, historians, and philosophers. This Companionilluminates Greek and Roman political thought in all its range, diversity, and depth. Thirty-four essays from leading scholars in history, classics, philosophy, and political science provide stimulating discussions of classical political thought, ranging from the Archaic Greek epics to the final days of the Roman Empire and beyond. These essays strike a judicious yet thought-provoking balance between theoretical and historical perspectives.
  • The Cambridge companion to Plato's Republic
    Call Number: JC 71 .P6 .C178 2007
    ISBN/ISSN: 052154842X
    Provides a fresh and comprehensive account of this outstanding work, which remains among the most frequently read works of Greek philosophy, indeed of Classical antiquity in general. The sixteen essays, by authors who represent various academic disciplines, bring a spectrum of interpretive approaches to bear in order to aid the understanding of a wide-ranging audience, from first-time readers of the Republic who require guidance, to more experienced readers who wish to explore contemporary currents in the work’s interpretation.
  • The Cambridge companion to Hobbes's Leviathan
    Call Number: JC 153 .H682 .C178 2007
    ISBN/ISSN: 0521836670
    Makes a new departure in Hobbes scholarship, addressing a philosopher whose impact was as great on Continental European theories of state and legal systems as it was at home. This volume is a systematic attempt to incorporate work from both the Anglophone and Continental traditions, bringing together newly commissioned work by scholars from ten different countries in a topic-by-topic sequence of essays that follows the structure of Leviathan, re-examining the relationship among Hobbes's physics, metaphysics, politics, psychology, and religion. Collectively they showcase important revisionist scholarship that re-examines both the context for Leviathan and its reception, demonstrating the degree to which Hobbes was indebted to the long tradition of European humanist thought. This Cambridge Companion shows that Hobbes's legacy was never lost and that he belongs to a tradition of reflection on political theory and governance that is still alive, both in Europe and in the diaspora.
  • The Cambridge companion to Adam Smith
    Call Number: B 1545 .Z7 .C447 2006
    ISBN/ISSN: 0521779243
    Although Adam Smith is best known as the founder of scientific economics and an early proponent of the modern market economy, political economy is only one part of his comprehensive intellectual system. Consisting of a theory of mind and its functions in language, arts, science and social intercourse, Smith's system was a towering contribution to the Scottish Enlightenment. This Companion provides an up-to-date examination of all aspects of Smith's thought. Collectively, the essays take into account his multiple contexts--Scottish, British, European, Atlantic, biographical, institutional, political and philosophical.
  • The Cambridge companion to Hegel and nineteenth-century philosophy
    Call Number: B 2948 .C178 hn 2008
    ISBN/ISSN: 0521831679
    Examines Hegel within his broader historical and philosophical contexts. Covering all major aspects of Hegel's philosophy, the volume provides an introduction to his logic, epistemology, philosophy of mind, social and political philosophy, philosophy of nature and aesthetics. It includes essays by an internationally recognized team of Hegel scholars. The volume begins with Terry Pinkard's article on Hegel's life, a conspectus of his biography on Hegel. It also explores some new topics much neglected in Hegel scholarship: such as Hegel's hermeneutics and relationship to mysticism. Aimed at students and scholars of Hegel, this volume will be essential reading for anyone interested in nineteenth-century philosophy. The up-to-date bibliography includes the most important English-language literature on Hegel written in the last fifteen years.
  • A companion to contemporary political philosophy. 2nd ed.
    Call Number: JA 71 .C737 2007
    ISBN/ISSN: 1405136537
    Provides in-depth coverage of contemporary philosophical debate in all major related disciplines, such as economics, history, law, political science, international relations and sociology; presents analysis of key political ideologies, including new chapters on Cosmopolitanism and Fundamentalism; includes detailed discussions of major concepts in political philosophy, including virtue, power, human rights, and just war.
  • The Cambridge companion to Rawls
    Call Number: JC 251 .R32 .C178 2003
    ISBN/ISSN: 0521657067
    John Rawls is the most significant and influential philosopher and moral philosopher of the twentieth century. His work has profoundly shaped contemporary discussions of social, political and economic justice in philosophy, law, political science, economics and other social disciplines. In this exciting collection of new essays, many of the world’s leading political and moral theorists discuss the full range of Rawls’s contribution to the concepts of political and economic justice, democracy, liberalism, constitutionalism, and international justice. There are also assessments of Rawls’s controversial relationships with feminism, utilitarianism and communitarianism. New readers will find this the most accessible guide to Rawls currently available.
  • A companion to the philosophy of history and historiography
    Call Number: D 13 .C7372 2009
    ISBN/ISSN: 1405149086
    The philosophy of historiography examines our representations and knowledge of the past, the relation between evidence, inference, explanation and narrative. Do we possess knowledge of the past? Do we just have probable beliefs about the past, or is historiography a piece of convincing fiction? The philosophy of history is the direct philosophical examination of history, whether it is necessary or contingent, whether it has a direction or whether it is coincidental, and if it has a direction, what it is, and how and why it is unfolding? The fifty entries in this "Companion" cover the main issues in the philosophies of historiography and history, including natural history and the practices of historians. Written by an international and multi-disciplinary group of experts, these clearly written entries present a cutting-edge updated picture of current research in the philosophies of historiography and history.
  • The Routledge companion to philosophy of religion
    Call Number: BL 51 .R869 2007
    ISBN/ISSN: 0415380383
    Covering key world religions including Hinduism, Buddhism, and Islam, and key figures such as Augustine, Aquinas and Kierkegaard, the book explores the central topics in theism such as the ontological, cosmological and teleological arguments for God's existence. Three final parts consider Catholicism, Protestantism, Eastern orthodoxy and current debates including phenomenology, reformed epistemology, religious experience, and religion and science.
  • The Cambridge companion to Arabic philosophy
    Call Number: B 741 .C178 2005
    ISBN/ISSN: 052152069X
    Representing one of the great traditions of Western philosophy, philosophy written in Arabic and in the Islamic world was inspired by Greek philosophical works and the indigenous ideas of Islamic theology. This collection of essays, by some of the leading scholars in Arabic philosophy, provides an introduction to the field by way of chapters devoted to individual thinkers (such as al-Farabi, Avicenna and Averroes) or groups, especially during the 'classical' period from the ninth to the twelfth centuries.
  • A companion to African philosophy
    Call Number: B 5305 .C737 2006
    ISBN/ISSN: 1405145676
    This volume, comprised of 42 newly commissioned and 5 adapted essays, provides comprehensive coverage of African philosophy, ranging across disciplines and throughout the ages. The essays encompass all the main branches of philosophy – logic, epistemology, metaphysics, aesthetics, ethics, religion, and politics, among others – as these have occupied the African mind in both communal and individual conceptions. A special feature of the volume is its historical dimension, including a substantial treatment of ancient African philosophy as encountered in ancient Egypt, an extended study of medieval North African thinkers, an enlightening discussion of pre-colonial African philosophy, and a history of African political thought in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
  • A companion to world philosophies
    Call Number: B 121 .C7376 1999
    ISBN/ISSN: 0631213279
    Written by an international assembly of leading philosophers, this volume offers students, teachers and general readers a rich and sophisticated introduction to the major non–Western philosophical traditions – particularly Chinese, Indian, Buddhist and Islamic philosophies. African and Polynesian thinking are also covered by way of historical and contemporary survey articles. The text is organized around a series of central topics concerning conceptions of reality and divinity, of causality, of truth, of the nature of rationality, of selfhood, of humankind and nature, of the good, of aesthetic values, and of social and political ideals. Outstanding scholars present essays that articulate the distinctive ways in which these specific problems have been formulated and addressed in the non–Western traditions against the background of their varied historical and cultural presuppositions.
  • The Routledge companion to philosophy of science
    Call Number: Q 175 .R8695 2008
    ISBN/ISSN: 041535403X
    Organized into four parts it covers: historical and philosophical context; debates; concepts; the individual sciences. The Companion covers everything students of philosophy of science need to know - from empiricism, explanation and experiment to causation, observation, prediction and more - and contains many helpful features including: a section on the individual sciences, including chapters on the philosophy of biology, chemistry, physics and psychology, further reading and cross-referencing at the end of each chapter.
  • A companion to cognitive science
    Call Number: BF 311 .C737
    ISBN/ISSN: 1557865426
    Cognitive science is one of the most exciting intellectual and scientific developments of the second half of the 20th century, integrating insights from psychology, linguistics, artificial intelligence, neuroscience, philosophy, and other disciplines in an attempt to understand human cognition. It is also a rapidly transforming domain of inquiry. This Companion presents a deep and varied account of what one needs to know about cognitive science, what it has accomplished, and where it will be going at the start of the 21st century. Beginning with an introduction that maps the narrative history of cognitive science as a whole, the volume goes on to present sixty newly–commissioned essays that together provide an unparalleled survey of all the topical areas, major methods, and stances. There are explanatory overviews of key controversies, detailed discussions of the application of work in cognitive sciences to the real world, and anticipations of future developments.
  • The Cambridge companion to Darwin. 2nd ed.
    Call Number: QH 31 .D2 .C1781 2009
    ISBN/ISSN: 0521711843
    The naturalist and geologist Charles Darwin (1809-82) ranks as one of the most influential scientific thinkers of all time. In the nineteenth century his ideas about the history and diversity of life - including the evolutionary origin of humankind - contributed to major changes in the sciences, philosophy, social thought and religious belief. The Cambridge Companion to Darwin has established itself as an indispensable resource for anyone teaching or researching Darwin's theories and their historical and philosophical interpretations. Its distinguished team of contributors examines Darwin's main scientific ideas and their development; Darwin's science in the context of its times; the influence of Darwinian thought in recent philosophical, social and religious debate; and the importance of Darwinian thought for the future of naturalist philosophy. For this second edition, coverage has been expanded to include two new chapters: on Darwin, Hume and human nature, and on Darwin's theories in the intellectual long run, from the pre-Socratics to the present.
  • The Cambridge companion to the "Origin of species"
    Call Number: QH 365 .O8 .C178 2009
    ISBN/ISSN: 052169129X
    The Origin of Species by Charles Darwin is universally recognized as one of the most important science books ever written. Published in 1859, it was here that Darwin argued for both the fact of evolution and the mechanism of natural section. The Origin of Species is also a work of great cultural and religious significance, in that Darwin maintained that all organisms, including humans, are part of a natural process of growth from simple forms. This Companion commemorates the 150th anniversary of the publication of the Origin of Species and examines its main arguments. Drawing on the expertise of leading authorities in the field, it also provides the contexts - religious, social, political, literary, and philosophical - in which the Origin was composed. Written in a clear and friendly yet authoritative manner, this volume will be essential reading for both scholars and students More broadly, it will appeal to general readers who want to learn more about one of the most important and controversial books of modern times.
  • A companion to the philosophy of biology
    Call Number: QH 331 .C737 2008
    ISBN/ISSN: 1405125721
    Brings together a team of eminent scholars to explore the philosophical issues raised by biology; addresses traditional and emerging topics, spanning molecular biology and genetics, evolution, developmental biology, immunology, ecology, mind and behaviour, neuroscience, and experimentation; begins with a thorough introduction to the field; goes beyond previous treatments that focused only on evolution to give equal attention to other areas, such as molecular and developmental biology; represents both an authoritative guide to philosophy of biology, and an accessible reference work for anyone seeking to learn about this rapidly–changing field
  • A companion to environmental philosophy
    Call Number: GE 40 .C737 2001
    ISBN/ISSN: 140510659X
    A pioneering work in the burgeoning field of environmental philosophy, this ground-breaking volume contains thirty-six original articles exemplifying the rich diversity of scholarship in this field. It traces the roots of environmental philosophy through the exploration of cultural traditions from around the world; brings environmental philosophy into conversation with other fields and disciplines such as literature, economics, ecology, and law; and discusses environmental problems that stimulate current debates.
  • A companion to pragmatism
    Call Number: B 832 .C737 2006
    ISBN/ISSN: 1405188332
    “Unusually for an encyclopedic account, A Companion to Pragmatism is not afraid to adopt a particular interpretive approach. The introduction draws challenging conclusions about the relative importance of Peirce, James, and Dewey, but both the major figures covered and the themes developed in the book expand far beyond this original triumvirate and demonstrate the vitality and expansiveness of pragmatist philosophy.” - Charlene Haddock Seigfried
  • The Cambridge companion to Peirce
    Call Number: B 945 .P3 .C178 2004
    ISBN/ISSN: 0521579104
    Charles Sanders Peirce (1839-1914), the founder of pragmatism, is generally considered the most significant American philosopher. Popularized by William James and John Dewey, pragmatism advocates that our philosophical theories be linked to experience and practice. The essays in this volume reveal how Peirce developed this concept.
  • The Routledge companion to aesthetics
    Call Number: BH 21 .R869 2005
    ISBN/ISSN: 0415327970
    It opens with an historical overview of aesthetics including entries on Plato, Aristotle, Kant, Nietzsche, Heidegger, Sibley and Derrida. The second part covers the central concepts and theories needed for a comprehensive understanding of aesthetics including the definitions of art, taste, value of art, beauty, imagination, fiction, narrative, metaphor and pictorial representation. Part three is devoted to the topics that have attracted much contemporary interest in aesthetics including art, ethics, environmental aesthetics and feminist aesthetics. The final part addresses the individual arts of music, film, etc.
  • The Routledge companion to philosophy and film
    Call Number: PN 1994 .R869 2009
    ISBN/ISSN: 0415771668
    The first comprehensive volume to explore the main themes, topics, thinkers and issues in philosophy and film. The "Companion" features sixty specially commissioned chapters from international scholars and is divided into four clear parts: issues and concepts; authors and trends; genres; and, film as philosophy.Part one is a comprehensive section examining key concepts, including chapters on acting, censorship, character, depiction, ethics, genre, interpretation, narrative, reception and spectatorship and style. Part two covers authors and scholars of film and significant theories Part three examines genres such as documentary, experimental cinema, horror, comedy and tragedy. Part four includes chapters on key directors such as Tarkovsky, Bergman and Terrence Malick and on particular films including "Memento".
 
© University of Canterbury - Christchurch, New Zealand
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait