Current journals list
Most of the philosophy journals in this list are currently available in e-journal format; the remainder are print subscriptions. Titles listed twice link (1) to the online full-text, and (2) to the print holdings details, via their respective catalogue records.
- American philosophical quarterly
- Analysis
- Arabic sciences and philosophy : a historical journal
- Australasian journal of philosophy
- Bioethics
- Biology & philosophy
- The British journal for the history of science
- The British journal for the philosophy of science
- The British journal of aesthetics
- The Bulletin of symbolic logic
- The Bulletin of symbolic logic
- Canadian journal of philosophy
- Common knowledge
- Critical inquiry
- Developing world bioethics
- Diogenes
- Economics and philosophy
- Educational philosophy & theory
- Environmental ethics
- Erkenntnis: an international journal of analytic philosophy
- Ethics
- Ethics & international affairs
- Ethics & the environment
- Ethics in science and environmental politics : ESEP
- European journal of political theory
- European journal of social theory
- Feminist theory
- Hastings Center report
- Heythrop journal
- History of European ideas
- History of political thought
- History of science
- Hypatia : a journal of feminist philosophy
- Inquiry: an interdisciplinary journal of philosophy
- International journal for philosophy of religion
- Interpretation : a journal of political philosophy
- Isis
- Journal of aesthetic education
- Journal of aesthetics and art criticism
- Journal of agricultural and environmental ethics
- Journal of applied logic
- Journal of applied philosophy
- Journal of Indian philosophy
- Journal of medicine & philosophy
- The Journal of Nietzsche studies
- Journal of philosophical logic
- The Journal of philosophy
- The Journal of philosophy
- Journal of philosophy of education
- Journal of political philosophy
- Journal of social philosophy
- The Journal of speculative philosophy
- The Journal of symbolic logic
- The Journal of symbolic logic
- Journal of the history of ideas
- Journal of the history of philosophy
- The Journal of value inquiry
- Kennedy Institute of Ethics journal
- Linguistics and philosophy
- Medicine, health care, and philosophy
- Merkur : deutsche Zeitschrift für europäisches Denken
- Midwest studies in philosophy
- Mind
- Mind & language
- Modern intellectual history
- The Monist
- Noûs
- Osiris
- Philosophia
- Philosophical books
- Philosophical issues
- Philosophical perspectives
- Philosophical psychology
- Philosophical quarterly
- The Philosophical review
- The Philosophical review
- Philosophical studies
- Philosophy & public affairs
- Philosophy & rhetoric
- Philosophy & social criticism
- Philosophy : the journal of the British Institute of Philosophical Studies
- Philosophy and literature
- Philosophy and phenomenological research
- Philosophy East and West
- Philosophy of science
- Philosophy of the social sciences
- Philosophy today
- Philosophy, psychiatry, & psychology
- Phronesis
- Political theory
- Politics, philosophy & economics
- Public health ethics
- Ratio
- Religious studies: an international journal for the philosophy of religion
- Review of metaphysics
- Social philosophy & policy
- Social theory & practice
- Sophia
- Southern journal of philosophy
- Studia logica
- Studies in history and philosophy of biological and biomedical sciences
- Studies in history and philosophy of modern physics
- Studies in history and philosophy of science. Part A
- Synthese
- Transactions of the Charles S. Peirce Society
- Utilitas
Recommended databases
Indexing and full-text databases are important because they enable you to search across a wide range of academic journals, including those listed on this page, to find relevant articles for essay and research topics. The databases below are recommended for this subject - see also: annotated list of databases for more information and choices. For assistance, email Max Podstolski

What are journal articles?

Journal articles are written by academics and researchers around the world and published in scholarly or peer reviewed journals. Scholarly articles are a valuable source of information for academic essays. You can find articles by using:
- Library databases (see Recommended Databases, above)
- Google Scholar
- Databases Multisearch
Staying current
There are a number of ways to keep up to date with the latest publications in your area:
- Scan the weekly new titles list in the Library
- Scan the recently received journals in the Library
- Create journal alerts - Many databases and journal publishers provide a free alerting service that lets you know by email when a new journal issue is published and/or when articles on a particular topic are added to the database.
- Some useful alerting databases that cover philosophy are:
- Philosopher's index: supports search alerts only. To create an alert for a search you've done, go into Search History and click Create SDI.
- Current Contents: TOC (table of contents) and search alerts.
- Project Muse: TOC alerts only.
- ProQuest: TOC and search alerts.
- Web of Science: search or citation alerts.
- ScienceDirect: TOC, search, and citation alerts.
- Set up alerts for new books in your subject area using Global Books in Print or a publisher alerting service.
- Scan for new web sites:
INFOMINE: This site enables you to search for high quality academic Internet resources.
Searching for journals
Though a journal may not be currently received any more in print format, it may still be currently accessible online via a database, and an article you want may still be available in a back issue on the shelves.
Details of Library holdings for each journal title are on the catalogue record. There are separate records for electronic format journals, with links to full-text articles in databases.
Other journals can be found by searching the Journal indexes in the Library catalogue.
If you need an article that is not directly accessible at UC at all, the remaining option is to put in an Interloan request.
To search for journal articles on a particular topic, use one or more of the databases linked on the left, or go to the general Databases page for all database options.
Licensing, usage and access restrictions may apply to electronic resources. See more ...
Journals by subject
Latest e-journal issues
Alerts were received in the last 2 weeks for these journals (in order of most to least recent).
For more philosophy journals, see: Current journals list
- Social theory and practice
- Political theory
- Hastings Center report
- Studies in history and philosophy of biological and biomedical sciences
- Utilitas
- Journal of aesthetics and art criticism
- Journal of philosophical logic
- Philosophical books
- Philosophy and phenomenological research
- Economics and philosophy
- Developing world bioethics
- European journal of social theory
- Journal of philosophy of education
- Educational philosophy and theory
- History of European ideas
- Mind & language
- Philosophical review
- Philosophy of science
- Proceedings of the Aristotelian Society
- Synthese
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait