Library Catalogue - search for books, journals, theses held by University of canterbury libraries
Recommended Databases - search for journal articles conference papers and more
See the complete list of Engineering databases
The database below are particularly useful for research in Civil Engineering

Databases Multisearch
Google Scholar
You can set preferences within Google Scholar to show full text available from University of Canterbury libraries and also show the links to import references into Endnote. (This can only be done one citation at a time)
(search results open in a new window)
DVD of the Month
- Wa$ted : save your planet, save your cash - Pike, Giles E
Call Number: TD 789 .N5 .W3232
Ten episodes of TV3's environmental series putting families on a green regime to reduce the impact of waste.
Welcome to LibGuides
Welcome to the Civil Engineering Libguide. Take advantage of the large range of useful resources and services we can deliver.
On the left of this page you will find quick links to the library catalogue and some of the particularly useful databases for research in Civil Engineering. Along the top of the page are tabs leading to more guidance in the wide variety of library resources. Take a look around and feel free to leave comments and suggestions. Contact me with any questions you may have.
Cog 'n Blog - Engineering Library News
Full text Engineering Books
Try ENGnetBASE! - full text for a collection of engineering handbooks and reference titles from CRC Press.
Brush up your information skills
Cited Reference Searching
What is cited reference searching?
Cited reference searching enables you to find articles that have cited a particular author, article or book. Cited reference searching is useful to:
- find out how research has been applied or developed.
- find out how many times and where a publication is cited.
- locate current research based on earlier research.
- track your own research.
How can I do a cited reference search?
Use one of the following databases:
Web of Science
Web of Science is one of the most comprehensive citation databases.
- Web of Science is comprised of three databases: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Art & Humanities Citation Index.
- Click on Cited Ref Search to find articles that cite a particular author or paper.
- Use the Citation Report feature to compile citation statistics for search results, including the number of times an article has been cited per year and average number of citations per year.
Scopus
Scopus is a multidisciplinary database covering sciences and social sciences.
- Follow the cited by links in the search results. Results can be sorted by the number of times cited.
- Use the citation tracker feature to find out the number of times an article or author has been cited over a period of time.
- Select an author search to search for papers by a particular author
Google Scholar
Google Scholar search results have a "cited by" link in the search results that can be used to find articles which have referenced a particular paper. Use the Advanced Scholar Search to locate articles by a specific author. Use Google Scholar as a supplement to Web of Science or Scopus.
Additional sources
Cited references are becoming a feature on many databases. PsycINFO, Sociological Abstracts, ScienceDirect and MathSciNet all include cited references.
Citation Alerts
A citation alert notifies you by email when a selected article is cited by another article. Citation Alerts can be set up in Web of Science, Scopus and ScienceDirect.
Information Librarian |
Christine McKeeEngineering Library Ext.7151
Send Email
Subjects:
Civil Engineering: Fire Engineering: Natural Resources Engineering: Transportation Engineering
Rate us!
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait