Skip to main content

Library Subject Guides

EndNote Guide: Formatting your bibliography in Word

Additional Files

The Library provides some modified and additional Filters, Connection, and Styles files which are useful for this University.

 Note that any zipped files need to be 'unzipped' i.e. right-click and choose the extract command.

Download:

EndNote Files

Download Links

EndNote X8 for MAC OS X

EndNote X8 for Windows

The current version is EndNote X8. Once you have installed the download from this page you will get automatic prompts when updates are available. You will be asked for your UC login.

Word

Have Word and EndNote open with the library you wish to use

There are many ways to add the references in EndNote to Word. These are two simple methods

Method 1

  • Select the reference in EndNote that you wish to insert into Word
    • You can insert multiple citations by using the Ctrl key to select and copy a number of references at the same time.You can also use the Shift key to select a block of references or Ctrl-a to select all references
  • Alt+1 to switch to Word and place your cursor where the in-text citation is to go
  • Alt+2 to insert the in-text citation

Note: with Alt, use the 1 and 2 keys in the main keyboard, not the number pad. You can use Alt+1 to switch back to EndNote to select further references

Method 2

  • Select the reference in EndNote that you wish to insert into Word, and copy it (Ctrl-c)
    • You can insert multiple citations by using the Ctrl key to select and copy a number of references at the same time.You can also use the Shift key to select a block of references or Ctrl-a to select all references
  • Switch to Word and paste (Ctrl-v)

You have now inserted a temporary placeholder for the citation in Word that looks like this {Smith, 1987 #28}

  • If “Cite While You Write” (CWYW) is turned on (default setting), the temporary placeholder will be rapidly converted to an in-text citation, and the bibliography entry generated after your text
  • If CWYW is turned off, the temporary placeholder will remain until the bibliography is formatted (see below)

Formatting your bibliography

Even if CWYW is turned on, you may need to change settings for your own requirements

  • In Word’s EndNote ribbon, check in the Bibliography block that the correct style is selected

    If you need a different style, click the drop-down to see a short list of other styles; click Select Another Style... to see all styles currently available to you
  • If you are working with CWYW turned off, click Update Citations and Bibliography to generate the citations and bibliography
  • Bibliography Preferences: You can control some elements of the layout of the bibliography (font, heading, indenting and line spacing) by clicking the small arrow at the corner of the Bibliography block and then the Layout tab

There may be a slight delay, but the bibliography will soon appear at the very end of your document.

More Specific Formatting of the Bibliography

For EndNote version X7 later, you can also edit the Word style for the EndNote Bibliography

  • Move your cursor into one of the bibliography entries
  • Format the paragraph settings as you would like them to appear — for example, alter the indenting of the paragraph
  • Right-click and choose Styles > Update EndNote Bibliography to Match Selection

Creating chapter bibliographies

See this article for details http://endnote.com/kb/82598