Skip to main content

Library Subject Guides

EndNote Guide: Law (NZLSG)

EndNote for Law

EndNote Files

Download Links

EndNote X8 for MAC OS X

EndNote X8 for Windows

The current version is EndNote X8. Once you have installed the download from this page you will get automatic prompts when updates are available. You will be asked for your UC login.

Additional Files

The Library provides some modified and additional Filters, Connection, and Styles files which are useful for this University.

 Note that any zipped files need to be 'unzipped' i.e. right-click and choose the extract command.

Download:

About the NZLSG_2nd_Canterbury Output Style

EndNote can be useful for storing citations and doing much of the necessary punctuation for the style. You will still need to be familiar with the NZLSG style, for example know when ( ) or [ ] are required around a year.

Getting Started

1a. The EndNote Style File

The NZLSG EndNote style file is included on all UC computers as part of the standard installation. For EndNote on your personal computer, you will find the NZLSG style included if you have downloaded the additional ‘EndNote styles' zip file

  • In EndNote, “Select Another Style...” and choose the style called NZLSG_2nd_Canterbury_BibliographyFirstLastName
  • If the style is not listed in EndNote on your personal computer:
    • download the 'EndNote Law styles' compressed (zipped) file from the Additional Files box at left
    • extract the files
    • move the style file called NZLSG_2nd_Canterbury_BibliographyFirstLastName.ens into the EndNote program subfolder called Styles (on Windows computers often located at C:\Program Files (x86)\EndNote X8\Styles )
    • in EndNote you can now select the NZSLG style

1b. Create a Separate EndNote Library for NZLSG References

Right-click NZLSG_2nd_Canterbury-QuickReferenceGuideExemplars.enlx > click Save Target As... > place in a convenient folder, such as the one in which your Word documents are filed

  • In EndNote, click File > Open > Open Library... > find and click NZLSG_2nd_Canterbury-QuickReferenceGuideExemplars.enlx > Open button.
    This will give you an EndNote Library with all the reference examples from the School of Law Style Guide. It also has a Terms List table for Labels, which are used to sort the Bibliography, and a list references used to insert headings in bibliographies.
  • To create an EndNote library with your chosen name: click File > Save a Copy...> overtype “NZLSG_2nd_Canterbury-QuickReferenceGuideExemplars Copy” with the library name of your choosing.
    • (warning) Note that the special requirements of NZLSG means that some unusual data entry is required, which will not be compatible with other output styles. Do not use any other output style with this Library, only the NZLSG_2nd_Canterbury output style.
  • To select the correct output style, in EndNote click the drop-down at the top left of the screen > Select Another Style... > Choose NZLSG_2nd_Canterbury from the list.

Entering Data into the NZLSG Library

2a. All Reference Types

To ensure correct output, make sure you do the following:

Author Names

  • Enter inverted, ie surname followed by a comma, eg Robertson, Geoffrey
  • If there are initials only, enter initials without spaces, eg Burrows, JF
  • If there are more than three authors, and there is no wish to keep a record of all authors' names, to save time enter the first name and the word "others" on the next line, eg
    Beck, Andrew
    others,
  • For organisations, add a comma at the end, eg
    University of Canterbury,

    If there is a main and subordinate part, put two commas between the parts, eg

    University of Canterbury,, School of Law

Capitalisation of Titles

Enter titles with the capitalisation required by the New Zealand Law Style Guide (“capital letters”).

Special Characters

Use the following Alt codes to enter special characters in EndNote (Alt+# means: hold down the Alt key while typing the number on the number keypad):

  • en dash –  Alt+0150 (in Word there are keyboard shortcuts, see NZLSG 1.2.3(g))
  • pilcrow sign ¶  Alt+20
  • section sign §  Alt+21
  • open and closing curly quotation marks “ ”  Alt+0147 and Alt+0148
  • curly apostrophe ’  Alt+0146

URLs

URLs should be entered into the URL field without brackets.

2b. Entering Specific Types of References

It may save time to Copy (Ctrl+c) and Paste (Ctrl+p) an existing reference in the QuickReferenceGuideExemplars Library. Edit the new reference, using the old details as a guide.

Cases

Reference Type drop-down: choose Case

Year Decided: enter the year of the citation. (This is not used by EndNote to create the reference, but can be helpful when looking at cases in EndNote)

Case Name: enter the case name. There is no need to italicise, as EndNote will italicise for you.

(warning)  If the case name begins “A v ” put a non-breaking space after “A” (Alt+0160), otherwise EndNote will sort the case name incorrectly under “v”.

Reporter: enter the rest of the citation.

Label: enter the label matching the citation (1a, 1au, 1c, 1u, 1us for New Zealand, Australia, Canada, UK and US). The label field is the first field used to sort the Bibliography. If you require other jurisdictions, create a new label (for example, 1b. Bermuda).

Legislation (Statutes, Bills, Regulations, Court Rules)

Reference Type drop-down: choose Statute or Bill or Legal Rule or Regulation as appropriate

Year: enter the year of the citation. (This is not used by EndNote to create the reference, but can be helpful when looking at legislation in EndNote)

Name of Act: enter the short title, including the year.

Label: enter the label matching the citation (2a, 2au, 2c, 2u, 2us for New Zealand, Australia, Canada, UK and US). The label field is the first field used to sort the Bibliography. If you require other jurisdictions, create a new label (for example, 2g. Germany).

Treaties

Reference Type drop-down: choose Statute

Year: enter the year the treaty came into force. (This is not used by EndNote to create the reference, but can be helpful when looking at treaties in EndNote)

Name of Act: enter all details of the treaty.

Label: enter the label “3. Treaties year” in which year is the year the treaty came into force.

Legal Encyclopedias (Online editions)

Reference Type drop-down: choose Encyclopedia

Edition: enter online. Do not enter "ed" as EndNote will add that automatically.

Label: enter the label 4. Books.

Books (Texts)

Reference Type drop-down: choose Book or Edited Book

Author: enter the authors, each author on a separate line.
Editor: enter the editors, each editor on a separate line.

Year: enter the year of publication.

Title: enter the title. There is no need to italicise.

City: enter the city of publication.

Publisher: enter the publisher’s name.

Edition: enter the edition if required. Do not enter "ed" as EndNote will add that automatically.

Label: enter the label 4. Books.

Essays in Books

Reference Type drop-down: choose Book Section

Author: enter the authors of the essay, each author on a separate line.

Year: enter the year of publication.

Title: enter the title of the essay. Do not enclose in “ ” as EndNote will add the punctuation automatically.

Editor: enter the editors of the book, each editor on a separate line.

Book Title: enter the title of the book. There is no need to italicise.

City: enter the city of publication.

Publisher: enter the publisher's name.

Pages: enter the page number on which the essay begins.

Edition: enter the edition if required. Do not enter “ed” as EndNote will add that automatically.

Label: enter the label 4. Books.

Looseleaf Texts

Reference Type drop-down: choose Edited Book (if there are editors) or Book (if there are authors).

Editor/Author: enter the editors/authors, each editor/author on a separate line.

Year: normally leave blank. Enter the year of the service update if you choose that option (NZLSG 6.3.7).

Title: enter the title. There is no need to italicise.

City: leave empty.

Publisher: enter the publisher’s name.

Edition: enter looseleaf if the print edition was consulted or online looseleaf if the electronic version was consulted. Do not enter "ed" as EndNote will add that automatically.

Date: enter the date (excluding the year) of the service update if you choose that option (NZLSG 6.3.7).

Label: enter the label 4. Books.

Access Date: enter the date and year accessed if you choose the option to include date of access (NZLSG 6.3.7).

Legal Encyclopedias (Online editions)

Reference Type drop-down: choose Encyclopedia

Edition: enter online. Do not enter "ed" as EndNote will add that automatically.

Label: enter the label 4. Books.

NoteLaws of New Zealand (online ed): In footnotes in Word, insert the Topic using Edit & Manage Citation(s); put the Topic in the Pages field; pinpoint references are typed after the EndNote citation.

Journal Articles

Reference Type drop-down: choose Journal Article

Author: enter the authors of the article, each author on a separate line.

Year: enter the year of publication. Enclose in ( ) or [ ] as required by the referencing style.

Title: enter the title of the article. Do not enclose in "" as EndNote will add the punctuation automatically.

Journal: enter the correct abbreviation for the title of the journal (NZLSG 6.4.6).

Volume: enter the volume number if there is one.

Start Page: enter the page on which the article starts.

Label: enter the label 5. Journal articles.

Law Commission Reports

Reference Type drop-down: choose Reprt

Author: enter Law Commission, (note the trailing comma)

Year: enter the year of publication.

Title: enter the title.

Institution:  enter the abbreviations for the official citation, eg NZLC PP12

Label: enter the label 6. Reports.

Parliamentary Debates (Hansard)

Reference Type drop-down: choose Generic

Title: enter NZPD

Label: enter 7. Parliamentary materials

Note: In footnotes in Word, type the the date and volume details before inserting the EndNote citation, and type the pinpoint reference after the EndNote citation.

Internet materials 

Reference Type drop-down: choose Web Page.

Author: enter the authors, each author on a separate line.

Year: enter the year of publication.

Title: enter the title of the document.

Place Published: enter the Web site name.

Label: enter the label 8. Other sources.

URL: enter the Web address, Do not type the < > as EndNote will add them automatically. For addresses starting “www” omit the leading “http://” (NZLSG 7.1.6).

Other Reference Types

For guidance on using EndNote for other types of references or complex citations:

  • Open this PDF document, which has almost all the examples in the NZLSG manual.
    • Paragraph numbers in the NZLSG manual are entered in the “Research Notes” field.
    • Any special instructions are included in the Notes field.
  • Alternatively, if you want to see the examples in EndNote itself, you can download and open this EndNote Library that has almost all the NZLSG citation examples (“NZLSG_2nd_Canterbury-FullGuideExemplars”)
    • To display “Research Notes” in the EndNote library window, click Edit > Preferences > Display Fields > in Column 7 select “Research Notes” > click OK. You can then click “Research Notes” at the top of the column to sort the library by the Research Notes field.
    • Any special instructions are included in the Notes field. Open a reference to view the details.
  • Open this Word document with all the examples in the PDF document (and the EndNote library “NZLSG_2nd_Canterbury-FullGuideExemplars”), along with notes about workarounds and limitations.

References in Word

Choose the Correct Style

Check that the correct style is selected: In Word, in the EndNote ribbon NZLSG_2nd_Canterbury_BibliographyFirstLastName should be selected in the Style drop-down (in the Bibliography group in the ribbon).

If another style is currently selectedclick the drop-down > Select Another Style... > click NZLSG_2nd_Canterbury_BibliographyFirstLastName on the list > OK.

Instant Formatting 

For shorter documents, it is probably easier to keep EndNote's instant formatting (“Cite While You Write”) turned on, as it is easier to edit citations to add pinpoint references. For longer documents, instant formatting may slow down Word too much, and if this occurs, turn instant formatting off.

Field Highlighting 

You may find it easier to work with citations in Word if the EndNote fields are highlighted. To enable this, click File (the Office Button in Word 2007) > Word Options > Advanced > Show Document Content area: choose “Always” in the Field shading drop-down > OK.

Insert Footnotes

Insert references by first inserting a footnote in Word (shortcut Ctrl+Alt+f). Then insert the reference into the footnote using the Insert Citation icon in Word's Endnote Toolbar. You should type the full stop at the end of the citation.

Subsequent References

You can use EndNote to insert subsequent references. In most cases, EndNote will insert “At ” for an immediately subsequent citation and the beginning of the footnote for later citations. It is best to use Word’s cross-reference function to keep track of footnote numbers: Instructions on Word's cross-reference function are provided on the Law Subject Guide.

(warning)  If you come to add a footnote that is placed between existing footnotes, be aware that EndNote may automatically change an “At ” footnote to an "above n x"-type footnote. Likewise, if you remove an intervening footnote, EndNote will automatically change the citation to “At ”, but there will still be a trailing number from the old cross reference.

For some reference types in which the cross-referencing can be more complex, you will occasionally get the first part of the citation followed by the note "previously cited: remove this citation and make cross-reference instead". If you wish, you can copy-and-paste the first part of the citation, and then complete the citation manually. Delete the EndNote citation by moving the cursor within the citation, click the Edit & Manage Citation(s) button in the EndNote ribbon in Word, click the Edit Reference drop-down (at the top right), choose Remove Citation, and click OK.

Statutes in the Body of your Assignment

Statutes can be inserted either into the body of the Word document or into footnotes. In the body of the Word document, simply insert the citation as normal and type the required pinpoint references.

Pinpoint References

In most cases pinpoint references can simply be typed after inserting the EndNote citation in a footnote.

In a few cases, pinpoints must be added before the final element of the reference. In these cases, insert the pinpoint using Edit & Manage Citation(s); put the pinpoint in the Pages field.

Bibliography

References in the Bibliography are sorted by Label, Author, then Title.

The layout conforms to the Style Guide of the UC School of Law (rather than the layout suggested in Appendix 7 of the NZLSG manual); for example, authors names in the Bibliography are inverted (family name first).

Section Headings in the Bibliography

In the library created in section 1b above, there is a group called Bibliography Headings. Once you know what types of references you have used in your document, insert the relevant headings’ references into the text of your document (ie not as a footnote). In EndNote click the Bibliography Headings group on the left-hand pane, and select references by holding down the Ctrl button and clicking on the references needed. Then in Word, move your cursor to the chosen place in the document and Insert Citations.

(info)  The references will not appear in text of your document, but only as headings in the bibliography; for this reason, it is best to put them at a place easy to find again (such as right at the end of your text but before the bibliography).

For example, if you have New Zealand and UK cases, New Zealand Statutes, Books and Journal Articles, you would select (as identified from the Year and Journal/Secondary Title fields): Cases-Cases, New Zealand-Cases, United Kingdom-Cases, Statutes-Statutes, New Zealand-Statutes, Books, Journal Articles.

Word Document Example

Right-click the link to this exemplar Word document > click Save Target As... > place in a folder of your choice. The document has footnotes and pinpoint references for almost all examples in the NZLSG manual, using the EndNote library “NZLSG_2nd_Canterbury-FullGuideExemplars.

The Final Draft of the Assignment

As a final step, when you have finished editing your document, click Convert Citations and Bibliography > Convert to Plain Text in Word's EndNote ribbon to create a “clean” copy of your document. Save it with a different filename from the original EndNote-embedded document.

EndNote will sometimes add unwanted double spaces in footnotes. Use Word’s Replace function to replace every double space with a single space.

(info)  Note that if you change any citations or bibliography entries in the EndNote-embedded Word document, EndNote will wipe out any changes as soon as another citation is added. Converting to Plain Text allows you to make any adjustments to references that EndNote might not have handled perfectly.

Compatibility

  • The NZLSG_2nd_Canterbury output style can be used with EndNote versions X4 or later. It was created using EndNote X5.
  • Any EndNote libraries created for the 1st edition of the NZLSG using the NZLSG_X4-lite output style will be largely compatible with this style.
    • To ensure correct layout of bibliographies, it will be necessary to copy across the Bibliography Headings records from the “NZLSG_2nd_Canterbury-QuickReferenceGuideExemplars” library (see sections 1b and 3 “Bibliography”) and update the labels in existing records of the old EndNote library.
  • The NZLSG_2nd_Canterbury output style is not compatible, however, with libraries created with the previous “NZLSG” output style (also named "NZLSG_X4-needs_own_Ref_Type_Table").

Contact Sara Roberts (Central Library) for assistance in using EndNote for law citation.