Skip to main content

Library Subject Guides

English as a Second Language (ESOL): Home

This guide is to assist international students who are studying English language at UC

Library Catalogue

Key Databases

Useful books at UC Library

News about ESOL in the Library

In addition to the readers in the Central Library, the Education Library holds a good collection of ESOL material. You can go to the Education Library and browse their collection or search the catalogue.  You can request items to be sent to another library for you to collect.

Internet resources

ESL News New Zealand
The latest in ESL news from New Zealand

Internet Grammar of English
Contains free English grammar practice exercises. Compiled by the University College, London. 

Churchill House School of English
A well designed site that provides English learning resources from beginning to advanced learners.
Includes some fun interactive quizzes.

English Online (E.L. Eleaston)
Includes materials for language learning in many languages, with a very comprehensive section on English.
Includes quizzes and information on English language tests.

Online English Grammar
Includes alphabetical links to English grammar topics

Linguistlist
A site for teachers and learners of all languages.
Useful ESL sites can be found under the Teaching & Learning links.

Guide to Grammar and Writing
A comprehensive guide to English grammar and academic writing from Capital Community College, USA.

CyberGrammar
Another comprehensive grammar site with online tests.

List of Quizzes
From the Online TESL magazine.

TOEFL
Official web site of the Test of English as a Foreign Language.
Includes practice questions, sample topics and general information about the test.

University of Cambridge ESOL Examinations
Official Website of Cambridge ESOL examination.

Education Liaison Librarians

Kim Allan
Contact:
Education Library - Te Puna Ako
(03) 3458 205
Website / Blog Page
Subjects:Education

University Library
University of Canterbury
Private Bag 4800
Christchurch 8140

Phone: +64 3 364 2198
Internal phone: ext 6198
Email
library@canterbury.ac.nz

Follow us
Facebook Twitter Youtube