Library Subject Guides

Mātauranga Māori | Māori Education: Home

Nau mai, haere mai, tauti mai!

This guide is here to assist in your research, teaching, learning, and cultural development process. It provides explanations on various sources of information and resources, how to search for information in both te reo Māori and the English language, how to determine its value, and how to use in your course work.

Additionally, it provides links to a myriad of online resources to support your inquiries and investigations into ako and mātauranga Māori.

I hope you find what you are searching for, if not I can be reached via phone, email, in person, or through the AskLive chat box.

He Rauemi Rangahau - Kaupapa Māori Research

Mai Review A forum for research and information on capability and capacity building for Māori and Indigenous people.

Tirohanga Maori (Maori Perspectives) link on the University of Auckland website

Rangahau This website aims to assist Māori researchers through the kaupapa Māori research process.

What are Information Sources?

An information source is anything from which information emerges, materializes, or is retrieved. For example it can be a person, a place, and even an object.

Primary Sources of Information
Material that contains original information that has been the basis of other research, such as:

  • diaries, letters, official records (births, deaths, marriage certificates etc), surveys, interviews, fieldwork notes; and
  • research that has been peer reviewed and published in scholarly and academic journals.

Secondary Sources of Information
Material that describes or anaylzes a primary resource, such as:

  • reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopedias, textbooks, biographies or documentaries about historical events)
  • books, articles, documentaries that review, interpret, and/or integrate original information in to their own research.

How to find the Māori Education Collections

Māori Classroom (located level 4, James Hight)

Included are monolingual reo Māori journals (He Kohikohinga, Te Tautoko, Te Wharekura, Ngā Kōrero), chapter books (Whakawhiti) magazines (Tāiki E!, Toi Te Kupu), comic books (Eke Panuku), early readers (Pīpī Pānui, Pīpī Pāngarau, He Purapura)

For curriculum specific areas:
Curriculum (call range LA 2121 or 375.000993)
Māori education (call range: LC 3501)
Te Whāriki (call range: LB 1139 or 372.190993NEW)
Pāngarau (call range: QA 14 .N5 or 613.07093HAU)
Hangarau (call range: T 168 or 607.93NEW)
Pūtaiao (call range: Q 183 or 507.0935NEW)
Ngā Toi (call range: PL 6465 or 7000.7093TOI)
Tikanga ā-iwi (call range: LB 1584 or 300.7093TIK)

Māori Language Classroom Collection

Picture Books  

Picture books are usually the first books that parents share with their children. The library holds a number of picture books filed by the name of the author. There is also a collection of English language picture books that have been translated into te reo Māori.

Search the catalogue using the keywords:  "Childrens stories Maori" or “Māori language stories” and the subject, e.g. “childrens stories Maori” identity

Whakawhiti Chapter Books

The Whakawhiti chapter books contain a single theme but cover a range of subjects that are both fiction, and non-fiction stories. They are intended as independent recreational resources written specifically for students in Years 7-9 who have highly developed Māori language skills. They can also be read by adults who are highly proficient in te reo Māori. The books are filed by the name of the author.

Search the catalogue using the keywords: “Maori language readers” or “Māori language chapter books” and the subject, e.g., Maori language readers emotions

He Kohikohinga Readers

He Kohikohinga is a miscellany of stories aimed at Years 3-5, from middle to senior primary school students. It is written specifically but not exclusively for students who are in Māori total immersion schools. The stories highlight different writing techniques to assist in improving and enhancing literacy skills including poetic writing, narratives, articles, and plays. 499.44286 KOH

Te Tautoko Readers

Te Tautoko is a miscellany of stories aimed at Years 7-8. It is written specifically but not exclusively for students who are in Māori total immersion schools.899.44208 TAU

Search the catalogue using the keywords: “Maori language readers” and the subject, e.g., Maori language readers emotions

Te Wharekura Readers

Te Wharekura is a miscellany of stories aimed at Years 11-13 with a high proficiency in te reo Māori.
899.44208 WHA

Eke Panuku Graphic Novels

Eke Panuku has been created to appeal to reluctant readers and is a reading resources designed in a contemporary comic-book style. Full of amusing topics and serial stories designed to capture the imaginations people of all ages. 899.44208 EKE

Toi Te Kupu

Toi Te Kupu is a Māori language newspaper specifically designed for but not exclusively for students who attend Māori total immersion schools. For students and adults with a medium to high level of Māori language proficiency, covering a range of topics within te ao Māori. 059.994 TOI

Contact me for assistance

Waitangi Teepa's picture
Waitangi Teepa
Contact:
Te Puna Rakahau o Macmillan Brown
Te Ao Marama Building
8:30am - 4:30pm Monday to Friday
Phone: 03 369 4533 (internal ext 94533)

Understanding Māori classroom readers

The Māori classroom collection for early childhood, kōhanga reo, and early primary schooling years (Year 0-2) have all been levelled using the Ngā Kete Kōrero Framework.

Ngā Kete Kōrero Framework Teacher Handbook

The levels were especially developed to assist children learning to read in Māori, to also help develop Māori language literacy.

Pīpī Readers

Pīpī Ara Pūreta: Teaching single letters or syllables to form words. Some have simple songs at the end. 499.44281 PIP ...  and 499.442813 PIP ...

Pīpī PānuiBased on individual letters or digraphs (wh, ng). Used to form words, and simple phrases. Some have simple songs at the end. 499.44286 PIP ...

Pīpī PāngarauBased on individual numbers, they have examples to reaffirm the learning of each number. Encourages the use of numbers, shapes, couting, and pictures. 499.44286 PIP ...

Tōku Kōhanga SeriesThis series varies from picture only, single words, and simple sentences. Find them by browsing the shelves looking for their distinctive shape- most are at 499.44286TE or  499.44286 TOK

He Kete Kōrero Series: This series also varies from single words to simple sentences. 499.44286 KET SMI

Big BooksThe big books are based on the following series: Pīpī Ara Pūreta; Pīpī Pānui; Pīpī Pāngarau; Tōku Kōhanga; He Kete Kōrero. 499.44286 PIP CRA