Subject Guides: Music: Journal Articles and Databases

Music Databases

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967 to Present only) This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest, continuously updated bibliography of music literature. Search journals and edited books for articles on any aspect of music or music history.
Journal titles indexed by RILM
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
A frequently updated online music encyclopedia that offers comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making and music scholarship. Written and edited by more than 9,000 subject experts, its 57,000 articles offer overviews of topics from a scholarly perspective and include extensive bibliographies to guide users through existing scholarship. 40,000 biographical articles provide life information and detailed works lists for composers, performers and other important musical figures.
APA references and in-text citations how-to
Tools and Resources
RISM This link opens in a new window
Répertoire International des Sources Musicales (RISM) series A/II: "Music manuscripts after 1600" is the most comprehensive annotated index and guide to music manuscripts produced after 1600. Includes three other databases providing additional information on specific content: Composer, Library Sigla and Bibliographic Citations.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive collection of classical music available online, including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. Also includes notes on the works as well as biographical information on composers or artists
Please LOGOUT after use

MultiSearch

Academic Journal Articles

Search across a range of Library resources, including

the Library Catalogue
most Library databases
some digital collections

Interloan

If you cannot find it at UC Library or online, request an Interloan and we will get it for you from another library. There is no charge for this service

Finding Journal Articles

If you already have a reference to a journal article

Search the Library catalogue
- Select the using the “Browse Alphabetically: By Title” option and enter the journal title.
- Check for print and electronic holdings (separate catalogue records).

Or instead, use Electronic Journal Search

Full Text Finder quick search – When you already have an article‘s citation details (electronic articles only)

Search MultiSearch
- Use keywords from the article title and (possibly as well) the author’s surname.

To find articles on a specific topic or by a particular author

Search in one or more specialised Music Databases
see column at left
OR
Search in MultiSearch
- Use the filters to focus your search, for example
  "egmont overture" and click the filter buttons Peer reviewed and Source type = “Academic Journal”

Music Electronic Journals

Browse lists of:

Music journal titles available electronically via the Library – you can limit by subject if you click the arrow next to “Music and books on music’ in the left-hand column under SUBJECTS.
Open-access music journals identified by the Open Music Library project

Multidisciplinary Databases

These databases cover many other subjects as well as music and are useful for cross-disciplinary topics.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
All the journals on JSTOR are searchable full text. It does not usually contain articles from the most recent 3–5 years. You can specify Music as the discipline by choosing Advanced Search and scrolling down to the Journal Filter – this avoids irrelevant results for common search words

JSTOR Text Analyzer
A beta tool built by JSTOR Labs. With it you can search for related content on JSTOR just by uploading a document
Project Muse
Full-text scholarly journals across a range of subjects, including literature. 1993 onwards.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for nearly 13,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 8,750 journals.
Date range: 1887-; Updated daily
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes a worthwhile selection of music journals.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education database - use it to find articles on all aspects of music teaching and learning.
Index New Zealand This link opens in a new window
Best source for information published in New Zealand journals and magazines.

Google Scholar – Tips and Tricks

Provides a simple way to search broadly for scholarly literature

Use Scholar Preferences

to import references into EndNote, BibTeX, etc: amend Bibliography manager details in the Search results section
- Import one citation at a time using the “Import into . . .” link
- Log in to import several citations at once (instructions on the EndNote Guide )
to show Full-Text @ UC Library, choose ”University of Canterbury“ in the Library Links section

Use Google Scholar Library to organise your references

Newspaper Databases

Factiva
World newspapers, current and back to last 20 years
Library PressDisplay
New Zealand and world newspapers current and last 60 days. Fully illustrated.

New York Times This link opens in a new window
1851–2007

Times Digital Archive
The Times (London), 1785–1985

See also New Zealand Newspapers

Library Subject Guides

Music: Journal Articles and Databases