Access to Special Collections

• UC Library members can place requests via the Library catalogue
• Visitors wishing to use items from this collection should email Macmillan Brown Library, Attention: Special Collections Librarian
• Non-borrowable items must be consulted in the Macmillan Brown Library

UC Research Repository

Eighteenth-century Printed Music

The only known holdings of 18th-century printed music in Christchurch are held at the University of Canterbury Library

• The earliest work which contains examples using engraved lines of music is Grassineau's A Musical Dictionary (London : J. Wilcox, 1740)

Other volumes of pre-1801 engraved music at the University of Canterbury include

• The piano part only of three trios by Muzio Clementi, Op. XXI, Op. XXII (both 1788) and Op. XXXII (1793)
• Two groups of sonatas with violin obligato by Valentino Nicolai, Op. VII
• Three Sonatas and Three Duets for the Harpsichord or Piano Forte and Op. XI Six Sonatas for the Piano Forte or Harpsichord (both 179?)
• One sonata by Johann Schobert, from Op. II Two Sonatas for Harpsichord or Piano Forte with an Accompaniment for Violin;
• A piano vocal score of The Beggar's Opera for voice, harpsichord and violin (London: Harrison & Co. 1785?)
• Grounds of Vocal Music by John Wesley (London: J. Mason , [n.d.]).

From the first two decades of the 19th century there are 20 volumes of sacred music and a similar number of volumes of piano music. Also of interest is the three-volume set of Specimens of various styles of music referred to in a course of lectures ... by William Crotch, published in 1808 by Robert Birchall

List of Music in the Rare Books Collection

• Early printed music and books about music as well as rare facsimile editions that are held in the Rare Books Collection

Brian Douglas Collection

Donated to the Library by pianist Brian Douglas in 1989, the collection focuses on piano music of the late 19th and early 20th century.

The works of a number of English composers are featured, including Arnold, Bax, Delius, Elgar, Ferguson, Finzi, Holst, Ireland, Moeran, Quilter, Rawsthorne, Richardson and Stanford. It is also strong in Russian composers such as Nicolai Medtner, and contains a range of other works. The sheet music contains many first editions.

Scores in this Collection have catalogue records, so search the Library catalogue to find them. Music may not generally be used outside the Library, but scanned copies are available on request.

19th-Century Printed Music Collection

Holds many examples of fine music printing in a variety of genres from the 19th century

• Items are not available for loan, but copying is available.