New books
Encyclopedia of philosophers on religion - Bernard J. Verkamp
ISBN/ISSN: 0786432861
Presents the religious affiliations and beliefs of 152 prominent philosophers, in A-Z entries. Biographical information is given about each with a special focus on his or her religious upbringing, practice, and beliefs (or lack thereof). Each entry also contains a brief summary of the points each philosopher has made concerning God and religion, typically gathered from a study of the philosopher's writings. An examination of several complex issues, including the existence and nature of God, human immortality, and the nature of religious language and symbolism, is thus aided via numerous points of view.
Asian philosophies. 5th ed. - John M. Koller
ISBN/ISSN: 0131951831
Introduces readers to the rich philosophical and religious ideas of East and South Asia. The collection of primary texts allows readers to think along with the great minds of the Asian traditions, and Koller, an expert in the field, explains the basic ideas and arguments behind these influential texts.
The Cambridge companion to Spinoza's Ethics - Olli Koistinen (ed.)
ISBN/ISSN: 0521618606
Since its publication in 1677, Spinoza's Ethics has fascinated philosophers, novelists, and scientists alike. It is undoubtedly one of the most exciting and contested works of Western philosophy. This Companion volume provides a detailed, accessible exposition of the Ethics. Written by an internationally known team of scholars, it is the first anthology to treat the whole of the Ethics and is written in an accessible style.
Mencius and masculinities : dynamics of power, morality, and maternal thinking - Joanne D. Birdwhistell
ISBN/ISSN: 0791470296
presents the first gender analysis of the Mencius, a central text in the Chinese philosophical tradition. Mencian philosophy, particularly its ideas about the processes by which a man could develop into a cultivated gentleman, was important to the political thought of China's long imperial order. Through close textual readings, Birdwhistell offers a new interpretation of core Mencian ideas about the heart and the self-cultivation of the great man. Birdwhistell argues that the concept of masculinity advocated by the Mencius is derived, although without acknowledgment, from maternal practices and thinking--through processes of appropriation, inversion, and transformation. She illustrates that even though maternal practices and thinking are an invisible dimension of Mencian thought, they are constantly present in the text through their transcoding with agricultural practices and thinking.
Guide overview
This guide is a pathfinder to the wide range of high quality Library and online resources available for Philosophy. To browse the latest new titles, scroll down. To navigate the guide to find other resources, use the tabs above. To find journal articles, search in the recommended databases. For help with assignment research or a subject query, contact Max Podstolski, Information Librarian: send email
Featured title
The legend of the Middle Ages : philosophical explorations of medieval Christianity, Judaism, and Islam - Rémi Brague ; translated by Lydia G. Cochrane
ISBN/ISSN: 0226070808
Featuring a penetrating interview and sixteen essays—only three of which have previously appeared in English—this volume explores key intersections of medieval religion and philosophy. With characteristic erudition and insight, Rémi Brague focuses less on individual Christian, Jewish, and Muslim thinkers than on their relationships with one another. Their disparate philosophical worlds, Brague shows, were grounded in different models of revelation that engendered divergent interpretations of the ancient Greek sources they held in common. So, despite striking similarities in their solutions for the philosophical problems they all faced, intellectuals in each theological tradition often viewed the others’ ideas with skepticism, if not disdain.
Such divisions, Brague contends, debunk notions that the medieval Mediterranean world was a European or Islamic cultural center in which different groups of people harmoniously mingled. His clear-eyed and revelatory portrayal of this misunderstood age brings to life not only its philosophical and theological nuances, but also its true lessons for our own time.
New titles this week
- Asian philosophies / John M. Koller
- Beyond personal identity : Dōgen, Nishida, and a phenomenology of no-self / Gereon Kopf
- The Cambridge companion to Spinoza's Ethics / edited by Olli Koistinen
- Case studies in business ethics / edited by Al Gini, Alexei M. Marcoux
- The economics of ethics and the ethics of economics : values, markets and the state / edited by Geoffrey Brennan, Giuseppe Eusepi
- Encyclopedia of philosophers on religion / Bernard J. Verkamp
- The legend of the Middle Ages : philosophical explorations of medieval Christianity, Judaism, and Islam / Rémi Brague ; translated by Lydia G. Cochrane
- Medical law and ethics / by Shaun D. Pattinson
- Mencius masculinities : dynamics of power, morality, and maternal thinking / Joanne D. Birdwhistell
- Newton's physics and the conceptual structure of the scientific revolution / Zev Bechler
- Pensamiento y poesía en la vida española / María Zambrano
- Tragedy is not enough / by Karl Jaspers ; translated by Harald A.T. Reiche, Harry T. Moore and Karl W. Deutsch (1953)
- Understanding business ethics / Peter A. Stanwick, Sarah D. Stanwick
Recently added titles
For more recently added titles (past 90 days), click here
- Animal lessons : how they teach us to be human / Kelly Oliver
- Animals, ethics, and trade : the challenge of animal sentience / edited by Jacky Turner and Joyce D'Silva
- Charles S. Peirce's philosophy of signs : essays in comparative semiotics / Gérard Deledalle
- The Chomsky effect : a radical works beyond the ivory tower / Robert F. Barsky
- Confucian wisdom for the 21st Century : a selected rendition / by Shiu L. Kong
- Dualisms : the agons of the modern world / Ricardo J. Quinones
- The earth's blanket : traditional teachings for sustainable living / Nancy J. Turner
- Exploring ethics : an introductory anthology / edited by Steven M. Cahn
- A general introduction to the semeiotic of Charles Sanders Peirce / James Jakób Liszka
- Handbook for academic authors / Beth Luey
- Indian philosophy / by S. Radhakrishnan ; with a new introduction by J.N. Mohanty
- Logical semiotics and mereology / Richard M. Martin
- Peirce, signs, and meaning / Floyd Merrell
- Pensées / Pascal ; translated with an introduction by A.J. Krailsheimer
- Personal identity / Harold W. Noonan
- Perspectives in business ethics / Laura P. Hartman
- Philosophy and neuroscience : a ruthlessly reductive account / by John Bickle
- Political correctness : a history of semantics and culture / Geoffrey Hughes
- Political theory : an encyclopedia of contemporary and classic terms / Scott John Hammond
- Primordiality, science, and value / R. M. Martin
- Prince of networks : Bruno Latour and metaphysics / Graham Harman
- Secular sermons : essays on science and philosophy / Alan Musgrave
- Signs grow : semiosis and life processes / Floyd Merrell
- Sour grapes : studies in the subversion of rationality / Jon Elster
- Studies in the logic of Charles Sanders Peirce / Nathan Houser, Don D. Roberts, and James Van Evra, editors
- The way of the world : readings in Chinese philosophy / translated and edited by Thomas Cleary
- When souls had wings : pre-mortal existence in Western thought / Terryl L. Givens
- Who owns antiquity? : museums and the battle over our ancient heritage / James Cuno
Recently added books
The Chomsky effect : a radical works beyond the ivory tower - Robert F. Barsky
ISBN/ISSN: 0262513161
Animal lessons : how they teach us to be human - Kelly Oliver
ISBN/ISSN: 0231147279
Political theory : an encyclopedia of contemporary and classic terms - Scott John Hammond
ISBN/ISSN: 0313339201
The history of western philosophy of religion - Graham Oppy, Nick Trakakis (eds.)
ISBN/ISSN: 0195394283
Being given : toward a phenomenology of givenness - Jean-Luc Marion ; translated by Jeffrey L. Kosky
ISBN/ISSN: 0804734100
Exploring ethics : an introductory anthology - Steven M. Cahn (ed.)
ISBN/ISSN: 0195342003
Prince of networks : Bruno Latour and metaphysics - Graham Harman
ISBN/ISSN: 0980544068
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait