Subject Guides: Media Communication Journalism: Home

Recommended databases

These academic databases are recommended for Media and Communication at UC.

Google Scholar Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Links to UC Library resources are available. To see UC links, use Scholar Preferences and choose University of Canterbury in the Library Links section.

Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window Provides full text and indexing and abstracts of journal articles on politics, including political communication.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Provides bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 and full text journal articles in all disciplines of business. Full text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Factiva This link opens in a new window A global news and business information service that combines the content sets of Dow Jones Interactive and Reuters Business Briefing. Factiva delivers articles from Reuters and Dow Jones journalists worldwide. Good coverage of New Zealand newspapers included.
- This link opens in a new window
Date range: 1979- daily updates
Help: Some newspapers do not allow academic institutions to access the full text. See Blocked titles.
eTV This link opens in a new window Broadcast television programmes from a range of channels (not comprehensive).
PressReader This link opens in a new window News from NZ and from international news services

MultiSearch

Search across a range of Library resources, including:

the Library Catalogue
most Library databases
some digital collections

Featured Resource

The Press (on campus only)
Kanopy streaming video

Public datasets

Locating open datasets for your research can be difficult, particularly for New Zealand data.

Some key sites and sources:
Google's datasearch (use filters to locate freely available data).
Harvard Dataverse
Figshare. Less user friendly to search than Google or Harvard.

Data.govt.nz. Over 30 000 NZ datasets.

Research methods - SAGE

Sage Research Methods provides access to high quality books, book chapters and articles on research design and methods covering qualitative, quantitative and mixed method design.

Subject Librarian

Dave Clemens

Email Me

Contact:

Central library
Level 5
(Monday - Friday 9 - 3:30)

3693902 ext. 93902

Subjects: Arts, Research, Social Science

Library Subject Guides