New books
Adam's ancestors : race, religion, and the politics of human origins - David N. Livingstone
ISBN/ISSN: 0801888131
Traces the history of the idea of non-Adamic humanity, and the debates surrounding it, from the Middle Ages to the present day. From a multidisciplinary perspective, Livingstone examines how this alternative idea has been used for cultural, religious, and political purposes. He reveals how what began as biblical criticism became a theological apologetic to reconcile religion with science -- evolution in particular -- and was later used to support arguments for white supremacy and segregation. From heresy to orthodoxy, from radicalism to conservatism, from humanitarianism to racism, Adam's Ancestors tells an intriguing tale of twists and turns in the cultural politics surrounding the age-old question, "Where did we come from?"
The SAGE handbook of the sociology of religion - James A. Beckford, N.J. Demerath III (eds.)
ISBN/ISSN: 1412911958
At a time when religions are increasingly affecting, and affected by, life beyond the narrowly sacred sphere, religion everywhere seems to be caught up in change and conflict. In the midst of this contention and confusion, the sociology of religion provides a rich source of understanding and explanation. This Handbook presents an unprecedentedly comprehensive assessment of the field, both where it has been and where it is headed. Like its many distinguished contributors, its topics and their coverage are truly global in their reach.
South Asians and the dowry problem - Werner Menski (ed.)
ISBN/ISSN: 1858561418
Every year, thousands of young brides on the subcontinent are murdered, most often by burning, or are driven to suicide over dowry disputes. In some provinces it is virtually unknown; in others it is endemic. Among communities in the west, the affluent groups now spend vast sums on the daughters' dowries and on grand weddings, in efforts to enhance their social status. And cases of dowry deaths are being reported. Drawing on papers from three international conferences, this book reviews the law of dowry and the problems of its enforcement in India, its impact on Pakistan, Bangladesh and the UK. It also reports on dowry and hypergamy among Gujeratis and the excesses of dowry giving among Sikhs in Britain. Solutions to the problem are being sought, but in the meantime young women die every day.
Guide overview
This guide is a pathfinder to the wide range of high quality Library and online resources available for Religious Studies. To browse new titles, scroll down. To navigate the guide to find other resources, use the tabs above. To find journal articles, search in the recommended databases. For help with assignment research or a subject query, contact Max Podstolski, Information Librarian: send email
Featured title
Witchcraft and magic : contemporary North America - Helen A. Berger (ed.)
ISBN/ISSN: 0812219716
Magic, always part of the occult underground in North America, has experienced a resurgence since the 1960s. Although most contemporary magical religions have come from abroad, they have found fertile ground in which to develop in North America. Who are today's believers in Witchcraft and how do they worship? Alternative spiritual paths have increased the ranks of followers dramatically, particularly among well-educated middle-class individuals. Witchcraft and Magic conveys the richness of magical religious experiences found in today's culture, covering the continent of North America and the Caribbean.
These original essays survey current and historical issues pertinent to religions that incorporate magical or occult beliefs and practices, and they examine contemporary responses to these religions. The relationship between Witchcraft and Neopaganism is explored, as is their intersection with established groups practicing goddess worship. Recent years have seen the growth in New Age magic and Afro-Caribbean religions, and these developments are also addressed in this volume.
All the religions covered offer adherents an alternative worldview and rituals that are aimed at helping individuals redefine themselves and make their interactions with the environment more empowered. Many modern occult religions share an absence of dogma or central authority to determine orthodoxy, and have become a contemporary experience embracing modern concerns like feminism, environmentalism, civil rights, and gay rights. Afro-Caribbean religions such as Santería, Palo, and Curanderismo, which do have a more developed dogma and authority structure, offer their followers a religion steeped in African and Hispanic traditions. Responses to the growth of magical religions have varied, from acceptance to an unfounded concern about the growth of a satanic underground. And, as magical religions have flourished, increased interest has resulted in a growing commercialization, with its threat of trivialization.
New titles this week
- Adam's ancestors : race, religion, and the politics of human origins / David N. Livingstone
- Appropriation and invention of tradition : the East India Company and Hindu law in early colonial Bengal / Nandini Bhattacharyya-Panda
- Encyclopedia of philosophers on religion / Bernard J. Verkamp
- From fascism to democracy : culture and politics in the Italian election of 1948 / Robert A. Ventresca
- Human development in South Asia in 21st century / [editors], S.K. Chaturvedi, Sanjeev Kumar Sharma, Madhurendra Kumar
- The legend of the Middle Ages : philosophical explorations of medieval Christianity, Judaism, and Islam / Rémi Brague ; translated by Lydia G. Cochrane
- The SAGE handbook of the sociology of religion / edited by James A. Beckford and N.J. Demerath III
- South Asians and the dowry problem / edited by Werner Menski ; with a preface by Himendra Thakur
- Tolerance and intolerance : social conflict in the age of the Crusades / edited by Michael Gervers and James M. Powell
- The view from below : indigenous society, temples and the early colonial state in Tamilnadu, 1700-1835 / Kanakalatha Mukund
- Witchcraft and magic : contemporary North America / edited by Helen A. Berger
Recently added titles
For more recently added titles (past 90 days), click here
- Apocalypse : from antiquity to the empire of modernity / John R. Hall
- Christianity and Western civilization : being the Raymond Fred West memorial lectures at Stanford University, April 5-7, 1954 / by Carlton J.H. Hayes
- Everyday nationalism : women of the Hindu right in India / Kalyani Devaki Menon
- Exemplary Bodies : constructing the Jew in Russian culture, since the 1880s / by Henrietta Mondry
- Ghosts of Kanungu : fertility, secrecy & exchange in the Great Lakes of East Africa / Richard Vokes
- God and the founders : Madison, Washington, and Jefferson / Vincent Phillip Muñoz
- God the invisible King / by H.G. Wells
- Handbook for academic authors / Beth Luey
- How to be a good atheist / Nick Harding
- Indian philosophy / by S. Radhakrishnan ; with a new introduction by J.N. Mohanty
- Islam dot com : contemporary Islamic discourses in cyberspace / Mohammed el-Nawawy and Sahar Khamis
- Medicine, religion, and the body / [edited] by Elizabeth Burns Coleman, Kevin White
- Protestants, revolution, and the Cuba-U.S. bond / Theron Corse
- Religion and the domestication of dissent, or, How to live in a less than perfect nation / Russell T. McCutcheon
- Secularism confronts Islam / Olivier Roy ; translated by George Holoch
Recently added books
Secularism confronts Islam - Olivier Roy ; translated by George Holoch
ISBN/ISSN: 0231141033
Apocalypse : from antiquity to the empire of modernity - John R. Hall
ISBN/ISSN: 0745645097
God and the founders : Madison, Washington, and Jefferson - Vincent Phillip Muñoz
ISBN/ISSN: 0521515157
How to be a good atheist - Nick Harding
ISBN/ISSN: 1842432370
Religion and the domestication of dissent, or, How to live in a less than perfect nation - Russell T. McCutcheon
ISBN/ISSN: 1845530012
The monstrosity of Christ : paradox or dialectic? - Slavoj Žižek, John Milbank ; edited by Creston Davis
ISBN/ISSN: 0262012715
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait