Subject Guides: Māori and Indigenous Studies: Databases

Māori Research

Fletcher's Index to Maori Names
This index is from an unpublished manuscript compiled about 1925 by the missionary Rev. Henry James Fletcher (1868-1933). In its original form it was 987 pages long, a vast index of Māori names referred to in books and journals, including the names of bo

Iwidex This link opens in a new window
Iwidex is an index to information on tribal history, tikanga-a-iwi, and whakapapa held in the heritage and research collections of Auckland City Libraries. It is an easy way to find information about Māori waka, traditions, waiata, haka, tribal whenua, maunga, marae, carving, weaving, stories and whakapapa.

Knowledge Basket
Niupepa Maori - Maori Newspapers
A collection of historic newspapers published primarily for a Māori audience between 1842 and 1932.
Tapuhi
TAPUHI provides access to descriptions of the unpublished Manuscripts and Pictures Collections of New Zealand and Pacific material in the Alexander Turnbull Library

Te Ao Hou This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Provides access to all 76 issues of the magazine Te Ao Hou The New World, published from 1952 to 1976 by the Māori Affairs Department. Te Ao Hou features bilingual content, with articles in both English and te reo Māori.
Date range: 1952-19
Te Puna This link opens in a new window
ndex New Zealand describes over half a million articles published in New Zealand over the past 20 years. The titles indexed range from popular magazines such as North and South and Consumer to more specialised journals such as New Zealand Law Review and A

Ngā Taonga Sound & Vision
Search this archive of radio, television and film for online content. Includes many recordings of early kapa haka and waiata performances, interviews in te reo Māori etc.

Email Me

Subjects: Aotearoa and the Pacific