Chapman, Guy. 'The Treaty of Waitangi - fertile ground for judicial (and academic) myth-making' New Zealand law journal, Jul. 1991, pp.228-236. [Central Library, level 8, K 1 .N532]
Kawharu, Hugh. 'The Treaty of Waitangi : a Māori point of view' British Review of New Zealand studies, v.5, Nov. 1992, pp.23-36. [Central Library, Macmillan Brown Library DU 400 .B862]
Mikaere, A.L. 'Māori issues'. New Zealand law review. 1996. Vol. 2, pp.162-186. Reviews the Tribunal, recent settlements including the Fisheries claims and decisions under the Resource Management Act. [Central Library, level 8, K 1 .R294]
Ngata, Apirana. The Treaty of Waitangi, an explanation : Te Tiriti o Waitangi, he whakamarama. 1963. [Central Library; Macmillan Brown Library, DU 418.2 .N576 1963]
Walker, Ranginui. 'The genesis and transformation of the Waitangi Tribunal' Man and a half : essays in Pacific anthropology. 1991. [Central Library, Macmillan Brown Library GN 662 .M266]
Ward, Alan. 'Historical claims under the Treaty of Waitangi: avenue of reconciliation or source of new divisions' Journal of Pacific history, v.28, no.2, Dec. 1993, pp.181-203. [Macmillan Brown Library DU 1 .J855]
Māori law review Monthly. The Review covers decisions of
the Māori Land Court and general courts, reports of the Waitangi
Tribunal and publications of government and law schools. Indexed by LINXplus
[Law Library KH 342. M296]. Also available online at: http://www.bennion.co.nz/mlr/index.html
This site contains the full text of all issues except the latest two months.
Te Manutukutuku 1989- Newsletter of the Waitangi Tribunal. Includes lists of new claims and progress on earlier claims. [Macmillan Brown Library HD 1120.5 .A1 .M294]
This guide is designed to help students find material about the Waitangi Tribunal that is available in the University of Canterbury Library.
The principles have been referred to in numerous Acts but their development has been left to case law. See the following sources:
He tirohanga o kawa ti te Tiriti o Waitangi: a guide to the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi as expressed by the Court and the Waitangi Tribunal. 2001. Prepared as a resource for policy analysts called upon to formulate policy and advise on the application of Treaty principles. Provides a comprehensive selection of jurisprudence from the Courts and Waitangi Tribunal to 2001. [Macmillan Brown Library, Waitangi lending collection, DU 418.2 .H432 2001; Central Library, level 7, KM 78 .Z7 .H432 2001; Central Library, level 10, DU 418.2 .H432 2001]
The Crown & the Treaty of Waitangi : a short statement of the principles on which the Crown proposes to act. 1989. [Macmillan Brown Library, Waitangi reference collection, DU 418.2 .N5315]
New Zealand. Department of Justice. Principles for Crown action on the Treaty of Waitangi. 1989. [Macmillan Brown Library DU 418.2 .N5315 p; Central Library, level 7, KM 78 .Z7 .N532 p]
New Zealand. Court of Appeal. The Treaty of Waitangi in the Court of Appeal: the full judgments of the Court in the New Zealand Māori Council's case. 1987. [Macmillan Brown Library, Waitangi lending collection, DU 418.2 .N532; Central Library, level 10, DU 418.2 .N532; Central Library, level 7 KN 62 .Z2 .N532]
Oliver, W. H.
Claims to the Waitangi Tribunal
Wellington, N.Z. : Waitangi Tribunal Division, Dept. of Justice, 1991.
Sharp, Andrew
Justice and the Maori : the philosophy and practice of Maori claims in New Zealand since the 1970s
Auckland, [N.Z.] : Oxford University Press, 1997.
Moon, Paul.
The Sealord deal
Palmerston North, N.Z. : Campus Press, 1999.
Renwick, W. L.
The Treaty now
[Wellington, N.Z.] : GP Books, c1990.
Evison, Harry
The Treaty of Waitangi and the Waitangi Tribunal
Christchurch, N.Z. : Ngai Tahu Maori Trust Board, 1990.
Temm, Paul.
The Waitangi Tribunal : the conscience of the nation
Auckland, N.Z. : Random Century, 1990.
